Meet Mohammed Shafeek, offering tax and financial advisory

Meet Mohammed Shafeek, offering tax and financial advisory 

By: Abu Dhabi SME Hub
Opportunities

The Access to Experts initiative offers you professional, free-of-charge guidance and support on doing business in Abu Dhabi.

Meet Mohammed Shafeek, Founder & Managing Director, M S Accounting & Tax Consultancy.

A member of the Access to Experts initiative, Mohammed Shafeek answers the Hub's Q&A so you can get to know him better. 

 

Mohammed is a Chartered Accountant and a leading financial advisor. He is the Founder and CEO of M S Accounting & Tax Consultancy (MSATC), a boutique Tax and Accounting Consultancy firm headquartered in Abu Dhabi. 

When founding MSATC in 2017, Shafeek found a growing demand from entrepreneurs who at the start of their careers are often in great need of advice and mentorship to help them solve problems and to set the right course for their ventures.

Over his career, he has executed various financial due diligence engagements that provide critical analysis for clients in the form of risk and issue identification, assessment of the impact on value and development of structuring and mitigating strategies across various industries.

 

 

Can you summarize your role in one sentence?

I am the founder and CEO of a boutique tax and financial advisory firm called M S Accounting & Tax Consultancy.

What are two facts and one myth about your sector?

Fact #1: You don’t need to be a number cruncher to understand your financials. 
Fact #2: Every single Dirham in Accounts Receivable (AR) is a Dirham less in cash.

Myth: You need a lot of money/capital or loans to grow a business. This belief is what kills millions of unique companies. Business is about people. If we’re able to understand people's problems and meaningfully solve them, then a brand will thrive. As the saying goes, “Mend your garden, and the butterflies will come.” Mend your business, and the funds will follow. 

Who would benefit the most from your expertise?

I closely work with founders and SME entrepreneurs as a business partner, so I am sure that I can support entrepreneurs with starting a business and doing it right.

Tell us about your experience working with a startup/entrepreneur, and one successful result following this collaboration.

There are many ways where we add value to our clients, but I will share one recent example. It was a startup and the founder had prepared a budget herself based on her company’s requirements like product development cost, legal cost, marketing expenditure, etc. 

What we were able to do was to validate the scope of requirements from all the vendors and service providers and also negotiate the price on behalf of the founder. We were able to save money for the startup and also helped the company start right. We were able to do this because we know what the standard marketing offerings and pricing are, as we review the books of hundreds of businesses every year across industries. 

What is a common challenge you've noticed entrepreneurs face, and why is it important for entrepreneurs to seek mentorship on this topic?

I have met a lot of passionate entrepreneurs. They are excellent at finding market gaps and identifying a solution or tapping an opportunity. But unfortunately, for some, they do not really know what their financial position is. They have a dream. They have a destination in mind. But they do not know where they stand. Imagine you have a map with a destination in mind. But you do not know where you stand. 

Messy financial records can leave you in the dark about how your business is performing and this would also delay in taking corrective action. 

The solution is simple: Maintain proper financial records, hire a professional accountant, and realize that financial management is key to keeping your business on the right track. Do not view whatever you spend on this as an expense, but rather as a means to save you a lot of money.

What’s the best professional advice you’ve ever received? What about one piece of advice you would share with your younger self?

The best professional advice I have received: Show up every day. Entrepreneurship is a rollercoaster ride. There are good and bad days with lots of ups and downs. No matter what – show up every day. 

My advice to the younger self would be: Trust people, but verify. 

I am really excited about this initiative. Find me on the Abu Dhabi SME Hub, and let's grow your business together.

Mohammed is part of our Access to Experts initiative, providing mentorship and support to prospective and existing entrepreneurs looking to grow in Abu Dhabi. Connect with him and other industry thought leaders here.

You might also like

تعرف على محمد شفيق، الذي يقدم استشارات مالية وضريبية

تعرف على محمد شفيق، الذي يقدم استشارات مالية وضريبية 

منصة أبو ظبي للأعمال
فرص

تقدم لك مبادرة 'الوصول إلى الخبراء" توجيهًا احترافيًا مجانيًا ودعمًا لممارسة الأعمال التجارية في أبوظبي.

تعرف على محمد شفيق، المؤسس والعضو المنتدب لشركة "م س للمحاسبة والاستشارات الضريبية"، العضو في مبادرة "الوصول إلى الخبراء"، والذي يجيب على أسئلة وأجوبة المنصة حتى تتمكن من التعرف عليه بشكل أفضل.

 

محمد شفيق هو محاسب قانوني ومستشار مالي رائد. وهو المؤسس والرئيس التنفيذي، لشركة "أم أس للاستشارات المحاسبية والضريبية"، وهي شركة استشارات محاسبية وضريبية للمتاجر الصغيرة "البوتيكات" يقع مقرها في أبوظبي.

وعند تأسيس الشركة المذكورة في عام 2017، وجد شفيق أن رواد الأعمال الذين هم في بداية مسيرتهم المهنية غالبًا ما يكونون في حاجة ماسة إلى المشورة والتوجيه لمساعدتهم على حل المشاكل وتحديد المسار الصحيح لمشاريعهم، حيث يقومون بطلب تلك المشورة بشكل متزايد. 

وخلال مسيرته المهنية، قام شفيق بإجراء العديد من الارتباطات المالية فائقة الدقة التي وفرت تحليلاً حاسما للعملاء في شكل تحديد المخاطر والتحديات، وتقييم تأثير ذلك على قيم وتطور استراتيجيات الهيكلة والتخفيف عبر مختلف الحرف والأعمال.

 

 

هل يمكنك تلخيص دورك في جملة واحدة؟

أنا المؤسس والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة استشارات مالية وضربيبة خاصة بالبوتيكات تسمى: م س للمحاسبة والاستشارات الضريبية.

هل يمكنك أن تشاركنا حقيقتين وخرافة حول قطاعك؟

الحقيقة رقم 1: لست بحاجة لأن تكون خبيرًا في تحليل الأرقام لكي تفهم بياناتك المالية.

الحقيقة رقم 2: كل درهم مقيد في الحسابات المدينة هو درهم بالسالب في حساب النقـد.

أما الخرافة فهي أنك بحاجة إلى الكثير من النقود، ورأس المال أو القروض لتنمية مشروعك التجاري. فهذا الاعتقاد هو ما يقتل ملايين الشركات الفريدة. وحيث أن الأعمال التجارية تدور حول الناس، فإنه إذا تمكنا من فهم مشاكل الناس وحلها بشكل هادف، فستزدهر علامتك التجارية. وكما يقول المثل، "أصلح حديقتك، وستأتي الفراشات."  لـذا نقول: أصلح مشروعك، وسوف تأتي الأموال.

من هو الأكثر قدرة على الاستفادة من خبرتك؟

أعمل عن كثب مع المؤسسين ورجال الأعمال من الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة كشريك تجاري، لذلك أنا متأكد من أنني أستطيع دعم رواد الأعمال في بدء الأعمال التجارية والقيام بذلك بشكل صحيح.

أخبرنا عن تجربتك في العمل مع شركة ناشئة، أو رائد أعمال، ونتيجة ناجحة بعد هذا التعاون.

هناك العديد من الطرق التي نضيف بها القيمة لعملائنا، لكنني سأشارككم مثالًا واحدًا حديثًا وهو شركة ناشئة قامت السيدة المؤسسة لها بإعداد موازنتها بنفسها بناء على متطلبات الشركة مثل تكلفة تطوير المنتج والتكلفة القانونية ونفقات التسويق وما إلى ذلك. وما تمكنا من القيام به هو التحقق من صحة مجال المتطلبات من جميع البائعين ومقدمي الخدمات وكذلك التفاوض على الأسعار نيابة عن المؤسسة. حيث تمكنا من توفير المال على الشركة الناشئة وساعدنا الشركة أيضًا على البدء بشكل صحيح. وقد تمكنا من القيام بذلك لكوننا نعرف ماهية عروض وأسعار التسويق القياسية، علمًا بأننا نقوم بمراجعة كراسات العروض لمئات الشركات كل عام في مختلف الحرف والأعمال.

ما هي بعض التحديات الشائعة التي لاحظت أن رواد الأعمال يواجهونها، ولماذا من المهم بالنسبة لهم طلب الإرشاد حول هذه الموضوعات؟

لقد قابلت الكثير من رواد الأعمال المتحمسين. وهم ممتازون في التعرف على نواقص السوق وتحديد الحلول أو استغلال الفرص. لكن لسوء الحظ، فإن بعضهم لا يعرف وضعه المالي معرفة حقة. إن لديهم أحلام، وفي أذهانهم مآلات محددة، لكنهم لا يعرفون أين يقفون. تخيل لو أن لديك خارطة مع وجهة في ذهنك تريد أن تقصدها، لكنك لا تعرف أين تقف. إن السجلات المالية غير المنتظمة يمكن أن تتركك في حالة من الجهل بأداء مشروعك، وهذا من شأنه أيضًا أن اتخاذ الإجراءات التصحيحية.

الحل بسيط: احتفظ بسجلات مالية واضحة ومنظمة، وقم بتوظيف محاسب محترف، وافهم أن الإدارة المالية هي المفتاح لإبقاء عملك على المسار الصحيح. لا تنظر إلى ما تنفقه في هذه الأمور على أنها أعباء ونفقات، بل على أنها وسيلة لتوفير الكثير من المال.

ما هي أفضل نصيحة مهنية تلقيتها؟ وهل عندك نصيحة واحدة تتمنى لو كنت تستطيع مشاركتها مع نفسك لو كنت أصغر سنًا؟

أفضل نصيحة مهنية تلقيتها: احضر كل يوم. ريادة الأعمال هي رحلة أفعوانية. وهناك أيام جيدة وأخرى سيئة مع الكثير من التقلبات. بغض النظر عما يحدث - احضر كل يوم.  

نصيحتي لنفسي (على افتراض أنني حاليا أصغر سنًا مما أنا عليه الآن) هي: ثق بالناس، لكن في الوقت نفسه تحقق وتأكد وتثبت.

أنا متحمس حقًا لهذه المبادرة. ابحث عني على منصة أبوظبي للأعمال، ودعنا ننمي شركتك معًا.

محمد شفيق هو جزء من مبادرة الوصول إلى الخبراء، حيث يقدم الإرشاد والدعم لرواد الأعمال الحاليين والمحتملين الذين يتطلعون إلى النمو في أبوظبي. تواصل معه ومع قادة الفكر الآخرين في الصناعة هنا.

قد يعجبك ايضا