93% of IT businesses in the UAE to forge ahead with expansions to new markets

93% of IT businesses in the UAE to forge ahead with expansions to new markets 

By: Abu Dhabi SME Hub
News

Growth underpinned by significant investment in digital; nearly half of businesses expanding into new markets virtually via the cloud.

Businesses worldwide are planning major investments in digital technologies to support ambitious expansion plans following lessons learned from the pandemic. New findings from an annual survey of technology decision-makers, by Equinix, Inc. suggest a movement toward a less connected world could not be further from the plans of digital leaders across industries and geographies. Despite concerns of a potential looming recession and talk at the World Economic Forum in Davos about the end of globalisation, businesses appear to remain bullish about their plans for further global expansion. 

Of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) IT decision-makers surveyed in the Equinix 2022 Global Tech Trends Survey, 93% of respondents indicated their organisation is planning to expand in the next 12 months, into either a new region entirely (66%), a new country (47%), or a new city (43%). 

Cloud’s potential has long been recognised but now its capabilities are becoming grounded in reality.  48% of those IT decision-makers across the UAE planning an expansion are most likely to deploy virtually in the short-term and then building permanent physical infrastructure in the new market, while 44% said they will support an expansion using existing teams. 

A number of potentially limiting factors were identified by businesses when it came to global growth, with supply chain challenges highlighted as a particular area of concern. 59% of the IT decision-makers surveyed globally said their business was plagued by global supply chain issues and shortages, while 58% specified the global microchip shortage as a threat to their business. 

These continued supply chain issues appear to be driving a need for more virtualisation, with growth aspirations underpinned by significant planned investment in digital infrastructure. Two-fifth (40%) of respondents from the UAE said they plan to facilitate global expansion plans by deploying virtually via the cloud, with (37%) doing so using a bare metal solution.

The pandemic also continues to have a significant impact on businesses’ digital strategies. More than half of UAE IT leaders (53%) say they are accelerating their company’s digital evolution because of the COVID-19 crisis. Indeed, over half (57%) confirm their IT budgets have increased as a direct outcome of its legacy—an insight into the now broadly acknowledged necessity for robust digital infrastructure to pivot to evolving business needs in an instant. Furthermore, the majority of respondents (55%) believe the technology changes and investments implemented during the pandemic are here to stay.

According to Kamel Al-Tawil, Managing Director, Equinix Middle East and North Africa: “It is evident that a post-pandemic economy is currently taking shape, with organisations overcoming the lingering COVID-19 challenges and accelerating their business recovery. Organisations are adopting a digital-first strategy and are looking to technology to be as dynamic a force to transform business processes. The Global Tech Trends Survey reveals that IT decision-makers in the UAE are regarding the speeding up of innovation, digitization of business, and moving IT infrastructure to the digital edge as the highest priority in their organization’s technology strategy. Digital leaders today are capitalizing on these enticing opportunities in the aim to enable and shape their business’s aspirations for growth”.

There remain, however, significant concerns around cybersecurity. Ensuring expansions are supported by resilient digital models is business-critical, particularly at a time of increasing volatility and emerging global threats. As part of their digital-first strategies, 85% of global respondents confirmed a key priority is improving cybersecurity. 84% said complying with local market data regulations is critical, while 83% highlighted the need to future-proof their businesses. According to IT specialists, the most feared threats were cyberattacks, security breaches and data leaks (all 70%).

In addition, the survey revealed that in the United Arab Emirates:

  • Technology at the forefront of the business: 86% of the IT decision-makers in the UAE, regard accelerating the pace of innovation, digitising their business, and moving IT infrastructure to the digital edge as the highest priority in their organisation’s technology strategy.
  • Cloud migration continues: 59% of  IT leaders said they plan to move more business functions to the cloud. Of those respondents, 64% plan to move there databases to the cloud, and equally so intend to move security functions to the cloud.
  • Private cloud dominates: Private cloud models were the preferred approach for 42% of respondents, and 31% of UAE digital leaders deploy hybrid clouds. A continued need for interconnection, with 39% of respondents believing it improves distributed security, and 39% reporting they use it to enable edge computing deployment.
  • Investing in innovation: Many IT leaders are looking to future-proof their businesses and take full advantage of evolving technologies, such as 5G, the internet of things (IoT), and Web3. 85% of respondents said they are moving to an everything as a service (XaaS) model, citing the simplification of IT infrastructure (61%), flexibility (53%) and improved user experience (48%) as the key reasons for doing so.
  • Focusing on sustainability: While innovating, digital leaders are keeping a close eye on the sustainability of their IT infrastructure. 85% say they are measuring and actively trying to limit the environmental impact of their IT equipment. Indeed, 82% report sustainability is now one of their organization’s most important drivers with commitments made to science-based targets.

You might also like

93% من شركات التكنولوجيا في الإمارات العربية المتحدة تعتزم مواصلة التوسّع في أسواق جديدة

93% من شركات التكنولوجيا في الإمارات العربية المتحدة تعتزم مواصلة التوسّع في أسواق جديدة 

منصة أبو ظبي للأعمال
أخبار

النموّ يترافق واستثمارات كبيرة في المجال الرقمي مع توسّع قرابة نصف الشركات في أسواق جديدة افتراضياً عبر السحابة.

تعتزم الشركات حول العالم إجراء استثمارات كبيرة في التقنيات الرقمية لدعم خطط التوسع الطموحة بعد مرحلة الوباء. فقد كشفت نتائج جديدة للاستبيان السنوي الذي تجريه شركة إكوينيكس (المدرجة في بورصة ناسداك تحت اسم EQIX) ويستهدف صنّاع القرار في مجال التكنولوجيا، أنّ التوجّه نحو عالم أقل ترابطاً لا يزال بعيداً عن مخططات قادة المجال الرقمي في مختلف القطاعات والمناطق الجغرافية. فعلى الرغم من المخاوف المتعلقة بركود محتمل قادم والحديث في المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي في دافوس عن نهاية العولمة، يبدو أنّ الشركات لا تزال ملتزمة بخطط توسّعها الدولي.

وقد وجد 93% من صنّاع القرار في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات في الإمارات العربية المتحدة ممّن شملهم استبيان توجهات التكنولوجيا العالمية 2022 الذي أجرته إكوينيكس أنّ شركاتهم تعتزم التوسّع خلال الأشهر الـ12 المقبلة إما في منطقة جديدة كلياً (66%) أو في دولة جديدة (47%) أو في مدينة جديدة (43%).

وبرزت إمكانيات السحابة منذ فترة طويلة إلا أنّ قدراتها باتت حالياً ملموسة فعلياً. ويرجّح أن يبدأ 48% من صنّاع القرار في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات في الإمارات الذين يخطّطون للتوسع بتبنّي الخدمات السحابية افتراضياً على المدى القصير ومن ثم إنشاء بنية تحتية فعلية دائمة في السوق الجديد، وقال 44% منهم إنّهم سيدعمون التوسع باستخدام الفرق الحالية.

وحدّدت الشركات عدداً من العوامل التي قد تشكّل عائقاً أمام النمو الدولي، ولا سيما التحديات المرتبطة بسلسلة التوريد. فقد قال 59% من صنّاع القرار الذين شملهم الاستطلاع عالمياً إنّ شركاتهم تعاني من مشاكل سلاسل التوريد العالمية والنقص، في حين رأى 58% أنّ نقص الرقائق الإلكترونية العالمي يهدّد أعمالهم.

ويبدو أنّ هذه المشاكل المستمرة في سلسلة التوريد تعزّز الحاجة إلى مزيد من الحوسبة الافتراضية، حيث تترافق تطلعات النموّ واستثمارات كبيرة مخطط لها في البنية التحتية الرقمية. فقد قال (40%) من المشاركين في الاستبيان في الإمارات إنهم يعتزمون تسهيل خطط التوسّع العالمي من خلال النشر الافتراضي عبر السحابة، وسيقوم (37%) منهم بذلك باستخدام حلّ الحواسيب بدون نظام تشغيل.

ولا يزال الوباء يؤثر إلى حدّ كبير على استراتيجيات الشركات الرقمية. فقد قال أكثر من نصف روّاد تكنولوجيا المعلومات في الإمارات (53%) إنهم يسرّعون تحوّل شركاتهم الرقمي بسبب أزمة كوفيد-19. في الواقع، أكّد أكثر من النصف (57%) أنّ ميزانيات تكنولوجيا المعلومات لديهم ازدادت كنتيجة مباشرة لها، مما يعكس الحاجة الحالية إلى البنية التحتية الرقمية المتينة لمواكبة احتياجات الأعمال المتغيّرة. كما رأى أغلب المشاركين (55%) أنّ التغييرات التكنولوجية والاستثمارات التي اعتُمدت خلال الوباء باقية.

في هذا الإطار، قال كامل الطويل، المدير الإداري لشركة إكوينيكس الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا: "من الواضح أنّ اقتصاد ما بعد الوباء يتبلور حالياً حيث تتخطّى الشركات تحديات كوفيد-19 وتسرّع تعافي أعمالها. فهي تتبنّى استراتيجية رقمية وتعتبر التكنولوجيا قوة ديناميكية تحدث تحوّلاً في الأعمال. ويكشف استبيان توجهات التكنولوجيا العالمية أن صنّاع القرار في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات في الإمارات يرون أنّ تسريع الابتكار ورقمنة الأعمال ونقل البنية التحتية لتكنولوجيا المعلومات إلى الحافة الرقمية أبرز الأولويات في استراتيجية شركاتهم التكنولوجية. ويستفيد  روّاد المجال الرقمي حالياً من هذه الفرص اللافتة لتمكين شركاتهم ودعم تطلعات نموّها."

بالمقابل، لا تزال تبرز مخاوف كبيرة بشأن الأمن السيبراني، ويعتبر ترافُق دعم التوسّع مع نماذج رقمية مرنة بالغ الأهمية بالنسبة إلى الأعمال، لا سيما مع عدم الاستقرار وتنامي المخاطر العالمية. فقد أكّد 85% من المشاركين في الاستبيان على مستوى العالم أنّ الأولوية تتمثّل بتعزيز الأمن السيبراني كجزء من الاستراتيجية الرقمية. ورأى 84% أنّ الامتثال للوائح بيانات السوق المحلي بالغ الأهمية ، فيما شدّد 83% على الحاجة إلى تحصين شركاتهم في وجه التحديات المستقبلية. وأكثر ما يتخوّف منه الأخصائيون في تكنولوجيا المعلومات هو الهجمات الإلكترونية والخروقات الأمنية وتسريبات البيانات (70%).

كذلك، أظهر الاستبيان في الإمارات التالي:

  • قيادة التكنولوجيا للأعمال: يعتبر 86% من صناع القرار في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات في الإمارات تسريع وتيرة الابتكار ورقمنة الأعمال ونقل البنية التحتية لتكنولوجيا المعلومات إلى الحافة الرقمية أهمّ أولوية في استراتيجية شركاتهم التكنولوجية.
  • استمرار الترحيل إلى السحابة: قال 59% من روّاد تكنولوجيا المعلومات إنهم يخططون لنقل المزيد من وظائف الأعمال إلى السحابة، ويعتزم 64% منهم نقل قواعد بياناتهم ووظائف الأمن إلى السحابة.
  • هيمنة السحابة الخاصة: شكّلت نماذج السحابة الخاصة النهج المفضّل بالنسبة إلى 42% من المشاركين في الاستبيان، ويعتمد 31% من قادة المجال الرقمي في الإمارات السحابات الهجينة. وتتواصل الحاجة إلى الاتصال البيني حيث يرى 39% من المشاركين أنه يعزّز الأمن الموزّع، مقابل 39% أيضاً يستخدمونه لتمكين تبنّي الحوسبة على الحافة.
  • الاستثمار في الابتكار: يسعى الكثير من قادة تكنولوجيا المعلومات إلى تحصين أعمالهم والاستفادة الكاملة من التقنيات المتطورة مثل شبكة الجيل الخامس 5G وإنترنت الأشياء والويب3. فقد قال 85% من المشاركين في الاستبيان إنهم يتجهون نحو اعتماد نموذج "كل شيء كخدمة،" إما لتبسيط البنية التحتية لتكنولوجيا المعلومات (61%) أو تعزيز المرونة (53%) أو تحسين تجربة المستخدم (48%).
  • التركيز على الاستدامة: بالتزامن مع مواصلة الابتكار، يولي رواد المجال الرقمي أهمية لاستدامة البنية التحتية لتكنولوجيا المعلومات. فقد قال 85% إنهم يقيسون التأثير البيئي لمعدّات تكنولوجيا المعلومات لديهم ويحاولون الحدّ منه. ويعتبر 82% أنّ الاستدامة من أهمّ المحاور بالنسبة إلى شركاتهم ويلتزمون بالأهداف المستندة إلى العلم.

قد يعجبك ايضا