Key factors that will shape the MENA hospitality sector in 2022

Key factors that will shape the MENA hospitality sector in 2022 

By: Abu Dhabi SME Hub
News

Guest expectations have shifted towards experiences and activities in a new era driven by sustainability and wellness.

CallisonRTKL, a global cultural agency specialising in architecture, planning and design, has published a report forecasting the future of hospitality and the key factors that will shape guest expectations in 2022.   

According to the report, guest expectations have shifted. The most prioritised luxury is personal wellness with an increased linkage to holistic health and the sustainability of places visited. Guests in 2022, more likely to be domestic than international, will mix business with pleasure and favour places that allow them to work when needed during their stay. 

While many had expected business travel to lag behind leisure, business travel expenditure in the Middle East is forecast to rise by 32% in 2022, following a predicted 49% increase during 2021, according to a report by the World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) published in November 2021.

As these lines continue to blur, a different set of hospitality amenities are emerging and bringing with them buildings that will play a more active role in facilitating this new hybrid lifestyle. 

Prodipto Ghosh, Principal at CRTKL commented: “With hotel demand across the majority of Middle East and North Africa (MENA) markets expected to achieve parity with 2019 levels of performance in 2022, hospitality assets and experiences must be refreshed in line with new guest expectations. The demands placed on the sector have changed - guests now have a stronger environmental and ethical conscience, they are making more sustainable travel choices, investing in local tourism and seeking authentic cultural experiences that provide a true sense of place. At CRTKL, we are transforming hotels and resorts with designs that introduce new revenue streams, monetise underutilised space and advance upon Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) criteria.”  

According to the report, three new concepts are driving the hospitality market:

1. Shifting guest expectations

The guest of 2022 will come seeking experiences and activities, not just views. With guests expecting to Work From Anywhere (WFA) and commercial real estate under stress, new demand is being created for hybrid hospitality/workspaces in central locations. Guests now also expect all hospitality services to be accessible via smartphone and to have the option of a completely contactless experience.

2. Opportunities for revenue generation beyond guestrooms 

More than just ‘heads in beds,’ there are many opportunities for revenue generation beyond guestrooms. Hospitality in 2022 is about monetising-underutilised portions of the property with dual purposes for lobbies, food and beverage areas, conference rooms and leisure centres. Introducing flexibility into the rental model will also attract new audiences. Daytime room rates can appeal to those looking for private workspaces, while longer-term leases for serviced and branded apartments will create a more blended residential offer.

3. Food and Beverage (F&B) as a catalyst for hotel recovery 

F&B offerings are recognised as an essential contributor to a hotel’s positioning within the market. While consumers are becoming increasingly discerning, F&B presents hotels with unlimited opportunities for additional revenue sources. While bars often lack underutilised space, kitchens have far more capacity than most would think. There is usually enough space to create other food programs and integrate ghost kitchens into the existing kitchen area. Kitchen takeovers, culinary classes, and pop-up collaborations with local institutions and chefs can also strengthen community ties and create stronger referral business.

To view the full report, click this link.

You might also like

العوامل الثلاثة الرئيسية التي ترسم ملامح سوق الضيافة في الشرق الأوسط

العوامل الثلاثة الرئيسية التي ترسم ملامح سوق الضيافة في الشرق الأوسط 

منصة أبو ظبي للأعمال
أخبار

أنظار الضيوف تتجه إلى التجارب والنشاطات المتمحورة حول الاستدامة والسلامة.

أصدرت كاليسون آر تي كيه إل، شركة الاستشارات العالمية المتخصصة في التخطيط والتصميم المعماري، تقريراً يتضمن توقعات حول مستقبل الضيافة والعوامل الرئيسية التي ستحدد ملامح توقعات الضيوف في عام 2022. 

ويشير التقرير إلى تغير توقعات الضيوف، حيث أصبحت الأولوية اليوم للسلامة الشخصية مع تركيزٍ أكبر على اهتمام الوجهات بمبادئ الصحة العامة والاستدامة، حيث يميل الضيوف في عام 2022، والذين ستكون غالبيتهم من الضيوف المحليين لا العالميين، إلى دمج العمل بالترفيه، لذا يفضلون الأماكن التي تتيح لهم إمكانية العمل أثناء إقامتهم. 

وعلى الرغم من توقع الكثيرين تراجع السفر بغرض العمل أمام السفر بغرض الترفيه، إلا أنه من المتوقع ازدياد معدل الإنفاق على السفر بغرض العمل في الشرق الأوسط بنسبة 32% في عام 2022، بعد زيادة متوقعة بنسبة 49% في عام 2021، وفقاً للتقرير الذي نشره المجلس العالمي للسفر والسياحة في نوفمبر من عام 2021.

ومع استمرار هذا التوجه، تظهر مجموعة مختلفة من مرافق الضيافة الجديدة لتلعب دوراً أكثر فعالية في اعتماد نمط الحياة الهجين الجديد. 

وتعليقاً على هذا الموضوع، قال بروديبتو غوش، المدير في شركة كاليسون آر تي كيه إل: "من المتوقع أن تحقق أسواق الفنادق في معظم دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا مستوى أداء في عام 2022 مكافئ للمستوى الذي حققته عام 2019، بما يستدعي تجديد أصول قطاع الضيافة وتجاربه تماشياً مع توقعات الضيوف الجديدة. كما شهد القطاع تغيراً في المطالب، إذ أصبح الضيوف الآن يتمتعون بوعيٍ بيئي وأخلاقي أعمق، مما يدفعهم نحو خيارات سفر أكثر استدامة، مع الاستثمار في السياحة المحلية والبحث عن تجارب ثقافية أصيلة توفر إحساساً أعمق بالمكان. ونقوم في شركة كاليسون بتحويل الفنادق والمنتجعات باستخدام تصاميم مميزة تهدف إلى توفير تدفقات جديدة للإيرادات، واستثمار المساحات غير المستغلة بشكل كافٍ، وإجراء تطويرات توافق معايير حوكمة الشركات والمسؤولية الاجتماعية والبيئية". 

ويشير التقرير إلى أن تطور قطاع الضيافة تحدده المفاهيم الجديدة الثلاث التالية:

تغير توقعات الضيوف

يسعى الضيوف في عام 2022 إلى اختبار تجارب ونشاطات جديدة إلى جانب الاستمتاع بالإطلالات الجميلة. وظهرت مطالب جديدة تتمحور حول وجود مساحات هجينة للضيافة والعمل في المواقع المركزية، بسبب توقعات الضيوف بإمكانية العمل من أي مكان، بالإضافة إلى وجود ضغط كبير على سوق العقارات التجارية. كما يتوقع الضيوف الآن إمكانية الوصول إلى جميع خدمات الضيافة عن طريق هواتفهم الذكية، مع خيار الحصول على تجربة غير تلامسية بشكل كامل.

ظهور فرص جديدة لتوليد الإيرادات بعيداً عن غرف الضيوف 

ليس من الضروري أن يقتصر توليد الإيرادات على غرف الضيوف، حيث يتمحور قطاع الضيافة في عام 2022 حول استثمار المساحات غير المستغلة من الأبنية وتحويلها إلى مناطق مزدوجة الأهداف كالصالات والمطاعم وغرف الاجتماعات والمراكز الترفيهية. كما يشكل توفير نموذج إيجار مرن عامل جذب لنمطٍ جديد من الضيوف، حيث تناسب أسعار استئجار الغرف للفترة النهارية فقط الباحثين عن مساحات عمل خاصة، بينما توفر العقود طويلة الأمد للشقق الفندقية عروضاً سكنية أكثر انسجاماً مع متطلبات الضيوف.

المطاعم والمقاهي مصدر أساسي لتعافي قطاع الفنادق 

تلعب عروض المأكولات والمشروبات دوراً أساسياً في تحديد مكانة الفنادق في سوق الضيافة. ومع تزايد متطلبات الضيوف، توفر المطاعم والمقاهي فرصاً لا محدودة لتحقيق إيرادات إضافية للفنادق. وتخلو أركان المشروبات غالباً من المساحات غير المستغلة بشكل كافٍ، إلا أن المطابخ بسعة تفوق التوقعات، إذ تتوفر فيها عادةً مساحات كافية لإنشاء برامج أخرى للمأكولات ودمج مفهوم المطابخ الافتراضية بالمطابخ الحقيقية. كما يساعد استلام المطابخ من قبل خبراء طهو، وتقديم حصص تخصصية، وحملات التعاون المؤقتة مع مؤسسات وطهاة محليين، على تقوية العلاقات المجتمعية وتعزيز الفرص التجارية الناتجة عن التوصية.

لمزيد من المعلومات، يرجى زيارة الموقع الإلكتروني.

قد يعجبك ايضا