N.Thing, Seoul-Based Agritech, to develop functional crops in the UAE and open R&D unit in Abu Dhabi

N.Thing, Seoul-Based Agritech, to develop functional crops in the UAE and open R&D unit in Abu Dhabi 

By: Abu Dhabi SME Hub
News

N.Thing formally launched operations in the UAE in 2020 after successfully completing its PoC in Abu Dhabi in partnership with Smart Acres, with the mission to improve food security, develop the country’s farming capabilities, and provide a solution to potential socioeconomic threats such as the pandemic and climate limitations that the Middle East may experience.

In a bid to consistently innovative smart farming solutions in the region, N.THING, the multi-award-winning Seoul-based agritech company with operations in the UAE, together with Smart Acres, the UAE's latest vertical farm, have officially announced their latest addition, a Research and Development (R&D) project with ten 40ft containers in Abu Dhabi, dedicated to launching nutritionally-enhanced functional crops to the UAE.

By introducing functional crops, N.Thing’s latest R&D unit, will not only provide additional health benefits to residents across the UAE, but they also hold an ability to control the nutrients of crops in the growing process to become enriched and improved with antioxidant properties. The unit, located in the PoC farm site Abu Dhabi, will enable an extensive product portfolio and achieve crop improvement by producing higher yields and enhancing nutritional quality. At present, four of N.THING’s research experts are working to develop an optimized solution for each crop utilizing dedicated OS software and hardware settings. The unit is fully equipped with specific lighting and ventilation, for optimal crop growth, aiming not only for specialities and texture but taste and weight. Achieving a highly automated farm solution and localized crop, the CUBES OS can be controlled either by mobile or touchpad. 

Through the use of biotechnology, N.THING is committed to reinvesting and focusing its efforts in implementing R&D technology to build a long-term and sustainable partnership within the UAE to enhance the overall food security and introduce nutritionally-enhanced crops. In collaboration with Smart Acres, the R&D unit will focus on developing crops with enhanced nutritional qualities, particularly for patients with severe diabetes, heart conditions, and kidney disease. 

Since its inception, Smart Acres has successfully produced a line of fresh, most nutrient-dense greens for UAE residents and businesses alike, and in recent months it has successfully dominated its system of cultivating and harvesting mature species of lettuce, exceeding industry-targeted weights for vertical farming, a rare achievement amongst all vertical farms in the GCC region. Additionally, the new R&D function aims to develop recipes for various types of crops such as low-potassium, low nitrate lettuce, and is being developed through cultivation tests. Due to changes in color or texture in the growing process, coupled with halted growth, plant death, or dark spot appearances, red lettuce would generally prove as a challenge to produce, however, to counter this, N.Thing has swiftly adopted controlled environment chambers with robust LED light technology to successfully grow healthy and nutritious lettuce.

The MENA Regional Manager of N.THING, Harin Song, shared, “We are delighted to be the first agritech company to develop functional crops in the UAE. Our advanced technology will enable the highest flavour and nutritional content of crops, while reducing the transportation miles, time, and extended shelf life. We are happy to launch our first R&D with Smart Acres to continue our mission to improve food security in the UAE.”

N.THING formally launched operations in the UAE in 2020 after successfully completing its PoC (proof of concept) in Abu Dhabi in partnership with Smart Acres, with the mission to improve food security, develop the country’s farming capabilities, and provide a solution to potential socioeconomic threats such as the pandemic and climate limitations that the Middle East may experience. Founded with a purpose, N.THING aims to innovate and adapt the agricultural industry consistently and strives to feed the world using IoT technology.

Not only will the region now have access to a wide range of nutritionally-advanced crops, but N.THING’s R&D unit is expected to contribute to the long-term goal of achieving food security across the region. 

You might also like

شركة N.THING للتقنيات الزراعية تعمل على تطوير المحاصيل الوظيفية في الإمارات، وافتتاح وحدة للبحث والتطوير في أبوظبي

شركة N.THING للتقنيات الزراعية تعمل على تطوير المحاصيل الوظيفية في الإمارات، وافتتاح وحدة للبحث والتطوير في أبوظبي 

منصة أبو ظبي للأعمال
أخبار

تلتزم N.THING بإعادة الاستثمار وتركيز جهودها على تطبيق تقنيات البحث والابتكار لبناء شراكات مستدامة في دولة الإمارات وتعزيز الأمن الغذائي وتوفير المحاصيل المحسنة غذائيًا.

في خطوة تهدف لمواصلة ابتكار حلول الزراعة الذكية في المنطقة، أعلنت كل من N.THING، وهي شركة للتقنيات الزراعية مقرها سيؤول وتعمل في دولة الإمارات، وسمارت إيكرز – أحدث مزرعة عمودية في الإمارات، عن مشروعهما الجديد وهو مشروع للبحث والتطوير الذي خصصت له عشر حاويات سعة 40 قدمًا في أبوظبي لإطلاق المحاصيل الوظيفية ذات القيمة الغذائية المحسنة في الإمارات.

من خلال توفير المحاصيل الوظيفية، فإن الوحدة الجديدة للبحث والتطوير لن تقتصر على تعزيز المزايا الصحية المتاحة لكافة سكان دولة الإمارات فحسب، بل ستسمح كذلك بالتحكم بالعناصر الغذائية في المحاصيل أثناء عملية النمو بحيث يتم إغناؤها وتحسينها بمزايا مضادة للأكسدة. تقع الوحدة الجديدة في موقع زراعي بأبوظبي، و ستسمح بتحسين المنتجات والمحاصيل بشكل ملموس عبر زيادة الحصيلة وتحسين الجودة الغذائية فيها. ويعمل حاليًا أربعة من خبراء البحث من شركة N.THING لتطوير حلول محسنة لكل محصول باستخدام برمجيات OS وأجهزة متخصصة، حيث جهزت الوحدة بالكامل بالإضاءة والتهوية المناسبة لتهيئة أفضل الظروف لنمو المحاصيل بحيث تستهدف تحسين القوام والمذاق والوزن. ويمكن التحكم ببرمجيات CUBES OS إما من خلال الأجهزة المحمولة أو بلوحة اللمس للوصول إلى أعلى مستويات الاتمتة في الحلول وإدارة المحاصيل. 

تلتزم N.THING بإعادة الاستثمار وتركيز جهودها على تطبيق تقنيات البحث والابتكار لبناء شراكات مستدامة في دولة الإمارات وتعزيز الأمن الغذائي وتوفير المحاصيل المحسنة غذائيًا.  ستركّز وحدة البحث والتطوير، بالتعاون مع سمارت إيكرز، على تطوير محاصيل ذات مزايا غذائية محسنة – وبخاصة للمرضى الذين يعانون من حالات متقدمة من السكري وأمراض القلب والكلى وغيرها.  

ويذكر أن شركة سمارت إيكرز نجحت منذ انطلاقها في تقديم عدد من المحاصيل الورقية الخضراء التي تمتاز بكونها طازجة وغنية بالعناصر الغذائية، وتقديمها للأفراد والشركات في الإمارات. كما نجحت الشركة في الأشهر الأخيرة في زراعة وحصاد أنواع محسنة من الخس تتجاوز الوزن المستهدف للزراعة العمودية – وهو إنجاز نادر في أوساط المزارع العمودية في دول الخليج العربية ككل. وبالإضافة لما سبق، تهدف وحدة البحث والتطوير الجديدة إلى إعداد وصفات لمختلف أنواع المحاصيل مثل الخس الذي يتميز بانخفاض محتوى البوتاسيوم والنيترات، والذي يتم تطويره من خلال اختبارات الزراعة. ونظرًا لتغير اللون أو القوام أثناء النمو أو توقف النمو أو موت النبتة أو ظهور البقع الداكنة وغيرها، فإن زراعة الخس الأحمر من العمليات الصعبة عادة والتي تنطوي على تحديات كثيرة. إلا أن N.Thing تمكنت من التغلب على هذه الصعوبات عبر حجرات يتم التحكم بظروفها البيئية وتعمل بتقنيات إضاءة LED  لإنجاح زراعة هذا النوع الصحي والمغذي من الخس.

في تعليقه على الأمر قال هارين سونج، المدير الإقليمي لشركة N.Thing في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا: "يسرنا أن نكون أول شركة للتقنيات الزراعة تطوّر المحاصيل الوظيفية في الإمارات، فتقنياتنا المتقدمة ستساعدنا في الحصول على النكهة والمحتوى الغذائي الأفضل في محاصيلنا، بينما نقلل من مسافة وزمن النقل ونزيد من فترة حياة المنتج. ويسعدنا أن نطلق أول وحدة للبحث والتطوير بالتعاون مع سمارت إيكرز لمواصلة تحقيق مهمتنا الرامية إلى تعزيز الأمن الغذائي في دولة الإمارات."  

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن N.Thing أطلقت عملياتها في الإمارات رسميًا عام 2020، وذلك بعد استكمال النموذج التجريبي بنجاح في أبوظبي بالشراكة مع سمارت إيكرز، وذلك بهدف تحسين الأمن الغذائي وتطوير القدرات الزراعية في الدولة وتوفير الحلول في مواجهة التهديدات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية المحتملة – كالجائحة والظروف المناخية التي تشهدها منطقة الشرق الأوسط. وقد تأسست N.Thing لتحقيق غاية الابتكار والتكيف في القطاع الزراعي بشكل مستمر وتوفير الغذاء للعالم باستخدام تقنيات إنترنت الأشياء.

وإلى جانب توفر مجموعة واسعة من المحاصيل المتنوعة ذات القيمة الغذائية المحسنة، فمن المتوقع أن تساهم وحدة البحث والتطوير التي أقامتها N.THING في تحقيق هدف الأمن الغذائي على المدى الطويل في المنطقة.

قد يعجبك ايضا