The UAE is entering a significant new wave of healthcare for women

The UAE is entering a significant new wave of healthcare for women 

By: Abu Dhabi SME Hub
News

The UAE is well-positioned to achieve exponential growth within the FemTech industry, considering the array of existing startups providing feminine hygiene products and educational tools such as Pectiv, Orgabliss, MyLily and LiZZOM, and the several more expected to arise over the coming few years.

The UAE appears to be entering a significant new wave of healthcare for women, driven by greater awareness and openness about female health topics, changing perceptions about women’s health issues, market accessibility for female founders, increasing demand for reproductive health products and services, growing interest from VCs and angel investors in FemTech, facilitative government efforts and a number of FemTech projects set to launch in 2022 and beyond, according to the latest 2021 Global FemTech Industry report published by FemTech Analytics, a subsidiary of UK-based consortium Deep Knowledge Group

According to the report, the US continues to dominate the FemTech market with over 50% of FemTech companies globally, followed by Europe (25%) and Asia (9%). The UK and Israel boast the highest number of FemTech companies in their respective regions with 10% and 6% of the total number of businesses, while Asia's undisputed market leader is India with 4% of FemTech companies.

The US remains the leader of FemTech investments with over $10 billion invested in US-based companies, followed by Israel with $1.25 billion, the UK with $611 million and Switzerland with $398 million. Moreover, 65% of investors in FemTech are based in the US, 7% in the UK and 3% in Canada and Switzerland. The USA also hosts the highest number of FemTech networks and accelerator programs with 32% of the global share, followed by the UK and Switzerland with 23% and 14% respectively.

“Over the past few years, we have witnessed a steep rise in FemTech solutions due to the adoption of new technologies and new business models, transforming the way women access healthcare”, said Kate Batz, Director of FemTech Analytics. “Several countries have been advancing their FemTech agendas in line with their women empowerment policies. The FemTech market is expected to grow significantly in the next few years and our study provides valuable insights into this market to all stakeholders”. 

The UAE is well-positioned to achieve exponential growth within the FemTech industry, considering the array of existing startups providing feminine hygiene products and educational tools such as Pectiv, Orgabliss, MyLily and LiZZOM, and the several more expected to arise over the coming few years. 

E-commerce platforms focused on women’s healthcare represent a key driver of the UAE’s FemTech sector. Digital platforms in the Pregnancy & Nursing sub-sector offering consumer products for mums-to-be, new mums and kids to enjoy motherhood journey include Mama's Box, Mumzworld and BabySouk.com

“One-third of MENA’s FemTech companies are based in the UAE, where innovation, women empowerment and gender equality are matters of national priority. Countries like the UAE are leading the way and gradually breaking down taboos surrounding female health thanks to a culture of openness, high levels of health awareness and the tech-savviness of the government, the private sector and civil society. As a result, society at large is becoming more and more receptive to engage in conversations about such topics and embrace positive change in support of the FemTech sector,” Kate added.

Based on the analysis of over 1,300 FemTech companies, 1,290 investors, 14 R&D centres and 22 community organisations worldwide, the 2021 Global FemTech report showcases market trends, innovations, growth opportunities and investment prospects of a rapidly growing industry. It also includes interviews with FemTech leaders, a list of the top 150 FemTech influencers and case studies featuring prominent FemTech companies.

According to the report, the total market capitalization of 28 global publicly-traded FemTech companies accounted for almost $70 billion as of December 2021, with pregnancy and nursing as the largest sub-sectors taking 68% of the total market.

Nonetheless, the level of investments in FemTech remains low as highlighted by FemTech Analytics’ 2021 Global FemTech Survey published in October 2021.

  

Additional findings:

  • 85% of all FemTech companies generate annual revenues of less than $10 million each
  • The FemTech companies that raised the highest amount of funds are Evofem ($444.2 million in Post-IPO Equity), Progenity ($248.5 million in Post-IPO Equity), Agile Therapeutics ($204.5 million in Post-IPO Equity), Elvie ($151.9 million in Series C round) and The Mom Project ($115 million in Series C round)
  • More than 50% of FemTech companies operate in the areas of pregnancy and nursing, reproductive health and contraception and general healthcare. Companies providing pregnancy and nursing solutions such as Baymatob and Expectful make 21% of the market, the ones operating in reproductive health and contraception like Carrot and Phexxi, and general healthcare like Syantra and Tia account for 17% and 14% respectively
  • Other FemTech sub sectors include Women's Wellness, Menstrual Health, Longevity, Mental Health, Pelvic and Uterine Healthcare
  • Menstrual health products are among the most popular - these include reusable absorbent sanitary items, reusable cups and flushable pads providing safe, convenient, affordable and environmentally friendly options
  • FemTech diagnostic solutions are dominant in general healthcare (31%), apps and software are popular in the FemTech mental health sector (33%)
  • In the FemTech longevity sector dedicated to developing technologies to improve women’s lifespan, 58% of FemTech companies are based in North America and 26% in Europe where Switzerland leads with the highest number of businesses.

You might also like

الإمارات تدخل مرحلة جديدة من الرعاية الصحية للمرأة

الإمارات تدخل مرحلة جديدة من الرعاية الصحية للمرأة 

منصة أبو ظبي للأعمال
أخبار

العوامل المساهمة بدفع عجلة نمو القطاع في الإمارات تشمل تعزيز الوعي والانفتاح حول مواضيع صحة المرأة، وزيادة الطلب على منتجات وخدمات الصحة الإنجابية، والاهتمام المتزايد من المستثمرين باالتكنولوجية الأنثوية.

تدخل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة مرحلة جديدة ومهمة من الرعاية الصحية للمرأة، مدفوعة بتعزيز الوعي والانفتاح حول مواضيع صحة المرأة، وتغيير المفاهيم حول قضايا صحة المرأة، وإمكانية الاستفادة من الفرص المتاحة للشركات في السوق المحلية، وزيادة الطلب على منتجات وخدمات الصحة الإنجابية، والاهتمام المتزايد من المستثمرين في قطاع التكنولوجيا الأنثوية، والجهود الحكومية الداعمة، وعدد مشاريع التكنولوجيا الأنثوية المقرر إطلاقها في عام 2022 وما بعد، وذلك وفقًا لأحدث تقرير حول قطاع التكنولوجيا الأنثوية العالمي لعام 2021 الصادر عن وكالة "تحليلات التكنولوجيا الأنثوية" (FemTech Analytics) التابعة لشركة "مجموعة المعرفة المتعمقة" (Deep Knowledge Group) ومقرها المملكة المتحدة. 

وفقًا للتقرير، تواصل الولايات المتحدة هيمنتها على سوق التكنولوجيا الأنثوية باحتوائها على أكثر من 50٪ من شركات التكنولوجيا الأنثوية على مستوى العالم، تليها أوروبا (25٪) وآسيا (9٪). وتحضى كل من المملكة المتحدة وإسرائيل بأكبر عدد من شركات التكنولوجيا الأنثوية في منطقتهما، بنسبة 10٪ و 6٪ من إجمالي عدد الشركات على التوالي، في حين أن الهند تتخذ مركز الصدارة بلا منازع في السوق الآسيوية.

ولا تزال الولايات المتحدة تتصدر حجم الاستثمارات بالتكنولوجيا الأنثوية مع أكثر من 10 مليارات دولار تم ضخها في شركات مقرها الولايات المتحدة، تليها إسرائيل بحجم استثمارات يبلغ 1.25 مليار دولار، والمملكة المتحدة بحجم استثمارات يبلغ 611 مليون دولار، وسويسرا بحجم استثمارات يبلغ 398 مليون دولار. ويتواجد 65٪ من المستثمرين بالتكنولوجيا الأنثوية في الولايات المتحدة، و 7٪ في المملكة المتحدة، و 3٪ في كندا وسويسرا. وتستضيف الولايات المتحدة أيضًا أكبر عدد من شبكات التكنولوجيا الأنثوية وبرامج تسريع الأعمال بنسبة 32٪ من الحصة العالمية، تليها المملكة المتحدة وسويسرا بنسبة 23٪ و 14٪ على التوالي.

وتعليقًا على نتائج التقرير، قالت كايت باتز، مديرة وكالة "تحليلات التكنولوجيا الأنثوية": "على مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية، شهدنا ارتفاعًا حادًا في حلول التكنولوجيا الأنثوية نتيجة انتشار تقنيات مبتكرة واعتماد نماذج أعمال جديدة، مما أدى إلى تغيير طريقة وصول الإناث إلى مرافق وخدمات الرعاية الصحية. وتعمل العديد من الدول على تطوير استراتيجياتها الخاصة بالتكنولوجيا الأنثوية بما يتماشى مع سياساتها في مجال تمكين المرأة. ومن المتوقع أن ينمو سوق التكنولوجيا الأنثوية بشكل ملحوظ في السنوات القليلة المقبلة، إذ توفر دراستنا رؤى قيمة حول هذا السوق تخدم جميع أصحاب المصلحة".

وتتمتع الإمارات بمكانة بارزة تمكنّها من تحقيق نمو هائل في صناعة التكنولوجيا الأنثوية نظراً لمجموعة الشركات الناشئة مثل  Pectivو  Orgablissو MyLily و LiZZOM التي تقدم حالياً المنتجات النسائية والأدوات التعليمية، فضلاً عن العديد من الشركات الأخرى المتوقع ظهورها خلال السنوات القليلة المقبلة .

وتمثل منصات التجارة الإلكترونية التي تركز على الرعاية الصحية للمرأة محركًا رئيسيًا لقطاع التكنولوجيا الأنثوية في الإمارات. تشمل المنصات الرقمية في القطاع الفرعي "الحمل والتمريض" منتجات استهلاكية للحوامل والأمهات الجدد والأطفال للاستمتاع برحلة الأمومة، بما في ذلك Mama's Box و Mumzworld و .BabySouk.com 

وأضافت كايت: "أكثر من ثلث شركات المنطقة للتكنولوجيا الأنثوية تتواجد في دولة الإمارات، حيث يعتبر الابتكار وتمكين المرأة والمساواة بين الجنسين من الأمور ذات الأولوية الوطنية. وتقوم دول مثل الإمارات بلعب دور ريادي وكسر الحواجز المحيطة بصحة المرأة تدريجياً، وذلك بفضل ثقافة الانفتاح والمستويات العالية من الوعي الصحي والبراعة التقنية للحكومة والقطاع الخاص والمجتمع المدني. ونتيجة لذلك، أصبح المجتمع ككل أكثر فأكثر تقبلاً للانخراط في محادثات حول هذه الموضوعات واحتضان التغيير الإيجابي لدعم قطاع التكنولوجيا الأنثوية." 

استنادًا إلى تحاليل حول أكثر من 1,300 شركة في مجال التكنولوجيا الأنثوية و 1,290 مستثمر و 14 مركز للبحوث والتطوير و 22 منظمة اجتماعية في أرجاء العالم، يعرض تقرير قطاع التكنولوجيا الأنثوية العالمي لعام 2021 اتجاهات السوق والابتكارات وفرص النمو وآفاق الاستثمار بهذا القطاع سريع النمو. ويتضمن التقرير أيضًا مقابلات مع أبرز القادة في مجال التكنولوجيا الإنثوية، وقائمة بأكبر 150 شخصية مؤثرة في هذا المجال، ومجموعة من دراسات الحالة تضم شركات بارزة ضمن القطاع.

وفقًا للتقرير، بلغ إجمالي القيمة السوقية لـ 28 شركة عالمية للتكنولوجيا الأنثوية المدرجة بسوق الأسهم ما يقارب 70 مليار دولار اعتبارًا من ديسمبر 2021، ويعد الحمل والتمريض أكبر القطاعات الفرعية التي استحوذت على 68 ٪ من إجمالي حجم السوق.

ومع ذلك، لا يزال مستوى الاستثمارات بالتكنولوجيا الأنثوية منخفضًا، كما أوضح استطلاع التكنولوجيا الأنثوية العالمي لعام 2021 الصادر عن  وكالة "تحليلات التكنولوجيا الأنثوية" (FemTech Analytics) في أكتوبر 2021.

إحصاءات إضافية من التقرير:

  •  ٪85 من جميع شركات التكنولوجيا الأنثوية تحقق إيرادات سنوية تقل عن 10 مليون دولار لكل منها

  • شركات التكنولوجيا الأنثوية التي جمعت أكبر مبلغ من الأموال هي Evofem ( 444.2مليون دولار في أسهم ما بعد الاكتتاب العام)، Progenity  248.5)مليون دولار في حقوق الملكية بعد الاكتتاب العام(، Agile Therapeutics 204.5)  مليون دولار في أسهم ما بعد الاكتتاب)، Elvie (151.9 مليون دولار في سلسلة تمويل من الفئة (C و The Mom Project ( 115مليون دولار في سلسلة تمويل من الفئةC)

  • تعمل أكثر من 50٪ من شركات التكنولوجيا الأنثوية في مجالات الحمل والتمريض والصحة الإنجابية ومنع الحمل والرعاية الصحية العامة. تشكل الشركات التي تقدم حلول الحمل والتمريض مثل Baymatob و Expectful 21٪ من السوق، بينما تمثل الشركات العاملة في مجال الصحة الإنجابية ومنع الحمل مثل Carrot وPhexxi ، والرعاية الصحية العامة مثل Syantra و Tia 17٪ و 14٪ على التوالي

  • تشمل القطاعات الفرعية الأخرى للتكنولوجيا الأنثوية رفاهية المرأة، وصحة الحيض، والشيخوخة الصحية، والصحة العقلية، والرعاية الصحية للحوض والرحم

  • المنتجات الصحية للحيض هي من بين المنتجات الأكثر شيوعًا. وتشمل الأدوات الصحية الماصّة القابلة لإعادة الاستخدام والأكواب القابلة لإعادة الاستخدام والفوط القابلة للغسل التي توفر خيارات آمنة ومريحة وبأسعار معقولة وصديقة للبيئة

  • تسود حلول التكنولوجيا الأنثوية للتشخيص في مجال الرعاية الصحية العامة (31٪)، بينما تبرز التطبيقات والبرمجيات في القطاع الفرعي للتكنولوجيا الأنثوية المتعلق بالصحة العقلية (33٪) 

  • في القطاع الفرعي للتكنولوجيا الأنثوية المتعلق بالشيخوخة الصحية والذي يهدف لتمديد عمر المرأة، يتواجد 58٪ من شركات التكنولوجيا الأنثوية في أمريكا الشمالية و 26٪ في أوروبا، حيث تتصدر سويسرا أكبر عدد من الشركات.

قد يعجبك ايضا