Programs and initiatives supporting energy and sustainability SMEs in the UAE

Programs and initiatives supporting energy and sustainability SMEs in the UAE 

By: Abu Dhabi SME Hub
Opportunities

Given the UAE's drive towards clean energy and sustainability, many resources are available today for startups and SMEs in these sectors to benefit from, including accelerators, events, free zones, and more.

Despite it being one of the top hydrocarbon-producing countries in the world, the UAE has made its focus on renewable and clean energy abundantly clear. 

The overarching plan guiding this direction has been the UAE Energy Strategy 2050, which aims to increase the contribution of clean energy in the total energy mix from 25 per cent to 50 per cent by 2050 and reduce the carbon footprint of power generation by 70 per cent, thus saving AED 700 billion by 2050. It also seeks to increase the consumption efficiency of individuals and corporates by 40 per cent.

Sustainability is also part of the big picture for the UAE, with the local government having set out a series of Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) that will help it steer the country towards a more environment-friendly future.  

Earlier this month, we explored some interesting energy and sustainability startups operating in the UAE, and how they were doing their part to support the shift to a green future. Multiple projects, initiatives, and programs from both the public and private sectors have been created to support this growing industry, and there are many opportunities for startups and SMEs to benefit from them. 

The Catalyst

the catalyst accelerator uae masdar city free zone abu dhabi

The Catalyst is the region’s first clean technology startup accelerator based in Masdar City, Abu Dhabi’s pioneering sustainable urban development and innovation hub. Supported by Masdar and energy giant BP, The Catalyst helps startups accelerate their business through funding, training and mentorship. Based in Masdar City Free Zone, The Catalyst targets eco-friendly business ideas that are 1-3 years away from commercialization, and accelerates them through a holistic program, which provides entrepreneurs with a range of services and support needed to run a business.

For more information on the services and support provided by The Catalyst, visit: http://www.catalyst.ae/

Masdar City Free Zone

Another component of Masdar City, the eponymous Free Zone is a thriving business community home to a diverse, innovative and ambitious collection of companies, from multinationals to SMEs and startups, like solar energy tech company Volts and cleantech venture FortyGuard.

Business set-up benefits include:

You can find more information here

Plug and Play Abu Dhabi’s Industry 4.0 Open Innovation Platform

Announced last year, Plug and Play Abu Dhabi, in partnership with the Abu Dhabi Investment Office, launched a first-of-its-kind Industry 4.0 open innovation platform in the emirate.

As part of the platform, key industry stakeholders and thought leaders from across Plug and Play Abu Dhabi's ecosystem will define tech challenges and innovation bottlenecks to be solved by startups as part of accelerator programmes and bespoke challenges. Plug and Play Abu Dhabi will also help to accelerate deployment of innovative pilots, tech integrations and new products.

While the platform is quite diverse in the sectors it covers, energy is a major focus. 

You can find more information here.

Middle East Energy 

Middle East Energy enjoys a 45+ year legacy as one of the most reputable and long-established events in the energy industry. 

Middle East Energy connects the global energy community, allowing you to discover products and network with exhibitors from all around the world.

The event allows you to discover the latest in energy innovations and attend keynote sessions to gain valuable knowledge on the future of the energy sector. It also offers great networking opportunities for entrepreneurs. 

The event often hosts the Energy Startup Hub pitch competition, where energy startups get a chance to showcase their innovations to a panel of industry experts, and an audience of potential investors.

You can find more information about Middle East Energy here.

Abu Dhabi Sustainability Week and World Future Energy Summit

To accelerate global collaboration and sustainability around the world, Abu Dhabi created Abu Dhabi Sustainability Week (ADSW), hosted by Masdar. ADSW is a global platform for accelerating the world’s sustainable development, which is held annually at Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre (ADNEC).

ADSW takes a proactive approach at a grassroots level, encouraging social inclusion by hosting a series of platforms and events aimed at engaging and empowering young people, females and members of the community to play an active role in delivering a sustainable future.

Working with its public and private partners, ADSW hosts a series of events that welcome heads of state, policy makers, business leaders and technology pioneers, providing them with a global platform to share knowledge, showcase innovation and outline strategies for delivering climate action.

You can find more information on the Abu Dhabi Sustainability Week here.

A notable part of ADSW is World Future Energy Summit, a major international event accelerating sustainability and the global transition to clean energy.

Part exhibition, technology showcase, investment incubator and business forum all rolled into one event, the summit convenes leaders, innovators and global thinkers to share ideas that are creating the blueprints for a sustainable future.

You can find more information here.

Ma’an Social Incubator

While the Ma’an Social Incubator (MSI) primarily is devoted to encouraging innovation and entrepreneurship to develop solutions to social and cultural challenges, it also supports entrepreneurs and SMEs helping address environmental challenges. Twice a year, MSI will host the most promising teams and provide them with the resources and support they need in order to grow and thrive.

The selected teams will be offered learning and development, mentorship and coaching, as well as networking and funding opportunities. It is a unique chance for entrepreneurs to develop their innovative ideas for social impact into a sustainable social enterprise.

Again, this program is more focused on social causes, but you might be able to secure their support if your venture has a strong sustainability focus, especially on communities. 

You can find more info, as well as enquire and apply, here.

You might also like

البرامج والمبادرات الداعمة للشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة في مجال الطاقة والاستدامة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

البرامج والمبادرات الداعمة للشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة في مجال الطاقة والاستدامة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة 

منصة أبو ظبي للأعمال
فرص

بالنظر إلى توجه دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة نحو الطاقة النظيفة والاستدامة، تتوفر اليوم العديد من الموارد للشركات الناشئة والشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة العاملة في تلك القطاعات للاستفادة منها، بما في ذلك المسرعات والفعاليات والمناطق الحرة وغيرها.

على الرغم من كونها واحدة من أكبر الدول المنتجة للهيدروكربونات في العالم، إلا أن دولة الإمارات قد أعربت بوضوح عن رغبتها في التركيز على مجال الطاقة المتجددة والنظيفة.

وقد كانت الخطة الشاملة التي وجهت الدفة إلى هذا الاتجاه هي استراتيجية الإمارات للطاقة 2050، والتي تهدف إلى زيادة مساهمة الطاقة النظيفة في مزيج الطاقة الإجمالي من 25% إلى 50% بحلول عام 2050 وتقليل الكربون النائج عن توليد الطاقة بنسبة 70%، وبالتالي توفير 700 مليار درهم بحلول عام 2050. كما تسعى تلك الاستراتيجية إلى زيادة كفاءة استهلاك الأفراد والشركات بنسبة 40%.

وتعد الاستدامة أيضًا جزءًا من الصورة الكبيرة لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، حيث وضعت حكومتها سلسلة من أهداف التنمية المستدامة (SDGs) التي ستساعدها في توجيه الدولة نحو مستقبل أكثر صداقة للبيئة.

وفي وقت سابق من هذا الشهر، قمنا بتفقد بعض الشركات الناشئة المثيرة للاهتمام والعاملة بدولة الامارات العربية في مجال الطاقة والاستدامة، للتعرف على الكيفية التي تؤدي بها دورها في دعم التحول إلى مستقبل أخضر. وقد تم إنشاء العديد من المشاريع والمبادرات والبرامج من قبل كل من القطاعين العام والخاص لدعم هذه الصناعة المتنامية، كما أن هناك العديد من الفرص للشركات الناشئة والشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة للاستفادة منها.

ذا كاتاليست ("المحفز")

تعد "ذا كاتاليست" أول مسرع للشركات الناشئة في مجال التكنولوجيا النظيفة في المنطقة، ويقع مقرها في مدينة مصدر، التي تعتبر مركز التطوير والابتكار الحضري المستدام الرائد في أبوظبي. وبدعم من شركة مصدر وشركة بريتيش بيتروليوم العملاقة للطاقة، تقوم ذا كاتاليست بمساعدة الشركات الناشئة على تسريع أعمالها من خلال التمويل والتدريب والتوجيه. وباتخاذها للمنطقة الحرة بمدينة مصدر مقرًا لها، تقوم ذا كاتاليست باستهداف أفكار الأعمال الصديقة للبيئة والتي ما تزال بحاجة إلى حوالي 1-3 سنوات للتجسد تجاريًا، حيث تقوم ذا كاتاليست بتسريع تلك الأفكار من خلال برنامج شامل يوفر لرواد الأعمال مجموعة من الخدمات والدعم اللازم لإدارة العمل التجاري.

ولمزيد من المعلومات حول الخدمات والدعم المقدم من كاتاليست، قم بزيارة: www.catalyst.ae/

المنطقة الحرة بمدينة مصدر

كمكون آخر من مكونات مدينة مصدر، فإن المنطقة الحرة للمدينة هي مجتمع أعمال مزدهر يضم مجموعة متنوعة ومبتكرة وطموحة من الشركات، سواء تلك المتعددة الجنسية أو الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة والناشئة، مثل شركة تكنولوجيا الطاقة الشمسية "فولتس"، وشركة "فورتي جارد" للتكنولوجيا النظيفة.

حيث تشمل مزايا تأسيس الأعمال ما يلي:

  • ملكية أجنبية بنسبة 100%: لا حاجة للكفالة المحلية
  • متجر شامل: عملية إنشاء سريعة وسهلة
  • إعفاء كامل من الضرائب:  وتشمل ضرائب الدخل على الشركات والأفراد
  • فعالة من حيث التكلفة: وشمل الترخيص والمساحات المكتبية
  • إعفاء كامل من التعرفة الجمركية على الواردات: لا وجود لرسوم استيراد
  • الموقع الاستراتيجي: بين أبوظبي ودبي
  • حرية الرجوع إلى الوطن: ويشمل ذلك رأس المال والأرباح
  • مركز البحث والتطوير: بالاشتراك مع جامعة خليفة

ويمكنك العثور على مزيد من المعلومات هنا.

Industry 4.0 - منصة الابتكار المفتوح ل"بلاج آند بلاي أبوظبي" 

أعلنت "بلاج آند بلاي أبوظبي"، بالشراكة مع مكتب أبوظبي للاستثمار، العام الماضي، عن إطلاق Industry 4.0 وهي أول منصة ابتكار مفتوح من نوعها في الإمارة.

وكجزء من المنصة، سوف يقوم أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين في الصناعة وقادة الفكر من جميع أرجاء النظام البيئي ل"بلاج آند بلاي أبوظبي" بتوضيح التحديات التقنية ومعوقات الابتكار التي يتعين على الشركات الناشئة حلها كجزء من برامج التسريع والتحديات. كما ستساعد "بلاج آند بلاي أبوظبي" على تسريع تطوير التجارب الإبداعية والتكامل التكنولوجي والمنتجات الجديدة.

وفي حين أن المنصة متنوعة بشكل كبير في القطاعات التي تغطيها، فإن قطاع الطاقة يعتبر محور تركيز رئيسي.

ويمكنك العثور على مزيد من المعلومات هنا.

ميدل إست انرجي

يتمتع معرض "ميدل إست انرجي" بإرث يزيد عن 45 عامًا كواحد من أكثر الفعاليات قدمًا وسمعة طيبة في مجال صناعة الطاقة.

حيث يساهم المعرض في لم شمل مجتمع الطاقة العالمي، مما يسمح لك باكتشاف المنتجات والتواصل مع العارضين من جميع أنحاء العالم.

ويتيح لك هذا الحدث اكتشاف أحدث ابتكارات الطاقة وحضور الجلسات الرئيسية لاكتساب معرفة قيمة حول مستقبل قطاع الطاقة. كما أنه يوفر فرصًا رائعة للتواصل مع رواد الأعمال.

وغالبًا ما يستضيف هذا الحدث مسابقة Energy Startup Hub، حيث تحصل الشركات الناشئة في مجال الطاقة على فرصة لعرض ابتكاراتها أمام لجنة من خبراء الصناعة وجمهور من المستثمرين المحتملين.

ويمكنك العثور على مزيد من المعلومات حول فعالية ميدل إست انرجي هنا.

أسبوع أبوظبي للاستدامة والقمة العالمية لطاقة المستقبل

لتسريع التعاون العالمي والاستدامة في جميع أنحاء العالم، أوجدت امارة أبوظبي أسبوع أبوظبي للاستدامة (ADSW)، الذي تستضيفه مصدر. ADSW هي بمثابة منصة عالمية لتسريع التنمية المستدامة في العالم، وتقام سنويًا في مركز أبوظبي الوطني للمعارض (ADNEC).

ويتخذ أسبوع أبوظبي للاستدامة نهجًا استباقيًا على المستوى الشعبي، حيث يشجع الاندماج الاجتماعي من خلال استضافة سلسلة من المنصات والفعاليات التي تهدف إلى إشراك الشباب والشابات وأفراد المجتمع وتمكينهم من لعب دور فعال في تحقيق مستقبل مستدام. 

ومن خلال العمل مع شركائه من القطاعين العام والخاص، يستضيف أسبوع أبوظبي للاستدامة سلسلة من الفعاليات التي ترحب برؤساء الدول وصناع السياسة وقادة الأعمال ورواد التكنولوجيا، وتزويدهم بمنصة عالمية لتبادل المعرفة وعرض الابتكار ووضع الخطوط العريضة للاستراتيجيات لتقديم المبادرات في مجال المناخ.

ويمكنك العثور على المزيد من المعلومات حول أسبوع أبوظبي للاستدامة هنا.

وأما بخصوص القمة العالمية لطاقة المستقبل، فهي تعتبر جزء بارزًا من أسبوع أبوظبي للاستدامة، كما أنها فعالية دولية كبيرة تعمل على تسريع الاستدامة والتحول العالمي إلى الطاقة النظيفة.

حيث يتم دمج العرض الجزئي وعرض التكنولوجيا وحاضنات الاستثمار ومنتدى الأعمال في حدث واحد، وتجمع القمة القادة والمبتكرين والمفكرين العالميين لمشاركة الأفكار التي تساهم في التخطيط لمستقبل مستدام.

ويمكنك العثور على مزيد من المعلومات هنا.

حاضنة معًا الاجتماعية

على الرغم من أن حاضنة معًا الاجتماعية مكرسة بشكل أساسي لتشجيع الابتكار وريادة الأعمال لتطوير حلول للتحديات الاجتماعية والثقافية، إلا أنها تدعم أيضًا رواد الأعمال والشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة التي تساعد في مواجهة التحديات البيئية. وتقوم الحاضنة المذكورة باستضافة أفضل فرق العمل الواعدة مرتين في العام وتزويدهم بالموارد والدعم الذي يحتاجون إليه من أجل النمو والازدهار.

حيث يتم تزويد الفرق المختارة بالتعليم والتطوير والتوجيه والتدريب، فضلًا عن التواصل وفرص التمويل. وهي مناسبة فريدة لرواد الأعمال لتطوير أفكارهم المبتكرة ذات التأثير الاجتماعي إلى مشروع اجتماعي مستدام.

ومرة أخرى، فإن هذا البرنامج يركز بشكل أكبر على القضايا الاجتماعية، ولكن قد تكون قادرًا على تأمين دعمهم لك إذا كان لمشروعك تركيز قوي على الاستدامة، وبخاصة على المجتمعات.

ويمكنك العثور على مزيد من المعلومات، وكذلك الاستفسار والتقديم هنا.

ويمكنك العثور على مزيد من المعلومات هنا.

قد يعجبك ايضا