Volts is growing a thriving renewable energy business from the heart of Masdar City

Volts is growing a thriving renewable energy business from the heart of Masdar City 

By: Mark Anthony Karam
Interviews

Volts is a technology startup that is developing compact and easy-to-use battery units for residential and commercial use. Clients can install solar panels or wind turbines, which produce energy for consumption during the day, with the excess stored within Volts’ batteries for use at night. 

While the Middle East, and particularly the GCC, has traditionally been known for its abundance of fossil fuel stores, we are beginning to see the inklings of a renewable energy wave. 

According to Mordor Intelligence, the Middle East renewable energy market is forecast to reach an installed capacity (maximum amount of electricity that can be produced) of 59,656 MW by 2027, at a CAGR of around 13.43% from 2022 to 2027. The UAE market, in particular, is expected to witness significant growth, owing to upcoming projects and government initiatives.

Across the country, current and in-development projects like Masdar City, Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum Solar Park, and the Hatta Wind Power Project are advancing the renewables sector, under the overall scope of UAE Energy Strategy 2050, which is a nation-wide plan aimed at increasing the contribution of clean energy to the country's overall power output.

In Abu Dhabi, the aforementioned Masdar City, a prominent sustainable urban development, is among the projects spearheading this drive on multiple levels, including supporting innovative energy and sustainability startups. 

Among these is Volts, a technology startup that is developing compact and easy-to-use battery units for residential and commercial use. Clients can install solar panels or wind turbines, which produce energy for consumption during the day, with the excess stored within Volts’ batteries for use at night. 

Aleksandr Kiianitsa, co-founder of Volts, said that this allows individuals and companies to be “fully independent from the grid,” while reducing their CO2 emissions to zero. However, for individuals that want to retain a connection to the national electrical grid, perhaps as a backup option for their own peace of mind, they are able to. 

Volts was founded in 2019 and is headquartered at Masdar City. It is supported by The Catalyst, the region’s first clean technology startup accelerator program, which was created by Masdar City in partnership with energy giant BP to help startups accelerate their business through funding, training and mentorship. Via The Catalyst, Volts has had the chance to work with Masdar and BP on renewable energy projects Kiianitsa’s company might not have had easy access to had they not been part of this accelerator, allowing him to grow Volts’ portfolio and network.

An altruistic push for sustainability

Speaking about their clients, who span the B2C and B2B spectrum, Kiianitsa said that both categories are united by their shared outlook for the future, and the pursuit to become “green.” This is noteworthy because fossil fuel-derived energy remains significantly cheaper than clean energy, especially in the GCC. Essentially, this means that these individuals and businesses are taking up the additional financial burden of their own volition, for the sake of the planet. 

According to Kiianista, this sentiment has been growing regionally and worldwide, as awareness surrounding climate change improves. 

“During the last 10-15 years, we have seen a huge [shift] towards renewable energy,” Kiianitsa said. “It’s a global trend. In the Middle East. In Europe. In America. In many countries.” 

Backed by governmental efforts, adoption rates are bound to increase. 

The good news is that renewable energy tech is becoming more affordable by the year, as we’ve seen with the prices of electric vehicles over the past decade, for instance.

“In our Volts energy storage units, we use lithium-ion batteries,” Kiianitsa explained. “The price of these batteries has been reduced to a fifth of what it was eight years ago.

“Solar panels are getting cheaper - battery tech is also cheaper.”

Kiianitsa highlights a cycle, where the more investment and adoption the sector sees, the cheaper the price of the tech will become, which will then feed into further adoption. 

Future plans 

While the UAE and Middle East represent Volts’ primary markets, the startup’s main focus is to position itself as a global company with various export destinations, from within Abu Dhabi. 

“We already have some pilots in Europe, in [countries like] Sweden, Switzerland, and Luxembourg,” Kiianitsa said. “Europe is one of the leaders in renewable energy, so [that] market is really huge.” 

Additionally, to fuel its forecasted growth trajectory, with new products such as electric vehicle chargers in the pipeline, Volts is in the process of identifying investors for its Series A. 

You might also like

تبني شركة Volts أعمالاً مزدهرة في مجال الطاقة المتجددة من قلب مدينة مصدر

تبني شركة Volts أعمالاً مزدهرة في مجال الطاقة المتجددة من قلب مدينة مصدر 

مارك انتوني كرم
مقابلات

Volts هي عبارة عن شركة تقنية ناشئة تعمل على تطوير وحدات بطاريات مدمجة وسهلة الاستعمال للاستخدام المنزلي والتجاري، حيث يمكن للعملاء تركيب الألواح الشمسية أو توربينات الرياح التي تنتج الطاقة للاستهلاك خلال النهار، مع تخزين الفائض داخل بطاريات Volts لاستخدامها في الليل.

في حين أن منطقة الشرق الأوسط، ولا سيما دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، معروفة تقليديًا بوفرة احتياطيات الوقود الأحفوري لديها، فقد بدأنا نرى بوادر موجة الطاقة المتجددة.

ووفقًا لشركة الاستشارات الخاصة Mordor Intelligence، من المتوقع أن يصل سوق الطاقة المتجددة في الشرق الأوسط إلى سعة مقررة (أي: إلى الحد الأقصى لكمية الكهرباء التي يمكن إنتاجها) مقدارها: 59,656 ميجاوات بحلول عام 2027، بمعدل نمو سنوي مركب يبلغ حوالي 13.43٪ من 2022 إلى 2027. ومن المتوقع أن تشهد السوق الإماراتية على وجه الخصوص نموًا كبيرًا نتيجة المشاريع القادمة والمبادرات الحكومية.

وتعمل المشاريع الحالية وقيد التطوير في كافة أنحاء الدولة، مثل مدينة مصدر، ومجمع محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للطاقة الشمسية، ومشروع حتا لطاقة الرياح، على النهوض بقطاع الطاقة المتجددة، ضمن النطاق العام لاستراتيجية الإمارات للطاقة 2050، والتي تمثل خطة وطنية شاملة، تهدف إلى زيادة مساهمة الطاقة النظيفة في إجمالي الطاقة المنتجة في البلاد.

وفي أبوظبي، تعد مدينة مصدر المذكورة أعلاه، والتي هي أحد أبرز المشاريع التنموية الحضارية المستدامة، من بين المؤسسات التي تقود هذه الحملة على مستويات متعددة، بما في ذلك دعم الشركات الناشئة في مجال الطاقة والاستدامة.

ومن بين تلك الشركات Volts، وهي شركة تقنية ناشئة تعمل على تطوير وحدات بطاريات مدمجة وسهلة الاستعمال للاستخدام المنزلي والتجاري، حيث يمكن للعملاء تركيب الألواح الشمسية أو توربينات الرياح، والتي تنتج الطاقة للاستهلاك خلال النهار، مع تخزين الفائض داخل بطاريات Volts لاستخدامها في الليل.

وقد قال ألكسندر كيانيتسا، الشريك المؤسس لشركة Volts  بــأن هذا يسمح للأفراد والشركات بأن يكونوا "مستقلين تمامًا عن الشبكة"، مع تقليل انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون الخاصة بهم إلى الصفر. وأما بالنسبة للأفراد الذين يرغبون في الاحتفاظ باتصال بشبكة الكهرباء الوطنية - ربما كخيار احتياطي لضمان راحة البال - فإنهم قادرون على ذلك.

وكانت Volts قـد تأسست في عام 2019، حيث يقع مقرها الرئيسي في مدينة مصدر. وهي مدعومة من The Catalyst (ذا كاتاليست أو "المحفز")، والتي تعد أول شركة ناشئة تعمل في مجال تسريع برامج التكنولوجيا النظيفة في المنطقة. وكانت مدينة مصدر قد قامت بالاشتراك مع شركة الطاقة العملاقة بريتيش بيتروليوم BP بإنشاء الشركة المذكورة، وذلك لمساعدة الشركات الناشئة على تسريع أعمالها من خلال التمويل والتدريب والإرشاد. ومن خلال The Catalyst، أتيحت الفرصة لشركة Volts للعمل مع مصدر و BP في مشاريع للطاقة المتجددة، والتي ربما كان سيكون من الصعب على شركة كيانيتسا الولوج إليها لولا مشاركتهم في هذا المسرع، مما سمح له بتنمية محفظة Volts وشبكتها.

دافع أخلاقي للاستدامة

تحدث كيانيتسا عن عملاء شركته (Volts)، الذين يشملون أطياف الB2C و B2B، فقال "إن كلا الفئتين متحدتان من خلال نظرتهما المشتركة للمستقبل، والسعي إلى أن تصبح 'خضراء'، الأمر الذي يعتبر جديرًا بالملاحظة ذلك لأن الطاقة المشتقة من الوقود الأحفوري لا تزال أرخص بكثير من الطاقة النظيفة، خاصة في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، وهو ما يعني أساسًا أن هؤلاء الأفراد والشركات يتحملون عن طيب خاطر أعباء مالية إضافية، من أجل مصلحة الكوكب.

ووفقًا لـكيانيتسا، فإن هذا الشعور يتنامى إقليميًا وعالميًا، حيث يزداد الوعي بالمخاطر المحيطة بتغير المناخ.

كما قال كيانيتسا: "لقد شهدنا [تحولًا] ضخمًا نحو الطاقة المتجددة خلال السنوات العشر إلى الخمس عشرة الماضية". "إنه اتجاه عالمي: في الشرق الأوسط، في أوروبا، في امريكا، و في العديد من البلدان".

وبدعم من الجهود الحكومية، لا بد من زيادة معدلات التبني للطاقة النظيفة.

ويكمن الخبر السار في أن تكنولوجيا الطاقة المتجددة أصبحت ميسورة التكلفة بحلول العام، على نحو ما لاحظنا بالنسبة لأسعار السيارات الكهربائية على مدار العقد الماضي، على سبيل المثال.

وقد أوضح كيانيتسا "نقوم باستخدام بطاريات أيونات الليثيوم في وحدات تخزين الطاقة الخاصة بنا في شركة  Volts". حيث "انخفضت أسعار هذه البطاريات إلى خمس ما كان عليه قبل ثماني سنوات".

"الألواح الشمسية أصبحت أرخص ، كما أصبحت تكنولوجيا البطاريات أرخص أيضًا."

ويسلط كيانيتسا الضوء على الدورة المتمثلة في أنه كلما ازداد الاستثمار والتبني الذي يراه القطاع ، فسيصبح سعر التكنولوجيا أرخص، مما سيؤدي إلى مزيد من التبني بعد ذلك.  

خطط مستقبلية

بينما تمثل الإمارات العربية المتحدة ومنطقة الشرق الأوسط السوق الرئيسية لشركة Volts، فإن التركيز الرئيسي لهذه لشركة الناشئة هو أن تجد لنفسها مكانة كشركة عالمية ذات وجهات تصدير مختلفة، من داخل أبوظبي.

وفي هذا الخصوص قال كيانيتسا: "لدينا بالفعل بعض المحاولات (التجارب) في أوروبا، في دول مثل السويد وسويسرا ولوكسمبورغ". "أوروبا هي واحدة من الرواد القادة في مجال الطاقة المتجددة، لـذا فإن هذا السوق ضخم حقًا."

وبالإضافة إلى ما سبق، فمن أجل تعزيز مسار النمو المتوقع، ومع وجود منتجات جديدة مثل شواحن السيارات الكهربائية قيد الإنشاء، تعمل شركة Volts على تحديد المستثمرين في جولتها الأولى للتمويل.

قد يعجبك ايضا