5 exciting UAE healthtech startups to keep an eye on

5 exciting UAE healthtech startups to keep an eye on 

By: Mark Anthony Karam
Thought Leadership

Keeping up with our healthtech theme for January, we are showcasing 5 UAE-based startups that are leading some exciting innovations in this sphere.

While sectors like fintech tend to attract all the entrepreneurial buzz and excitement regionally, historically nascent sectors like healhtech are finally coming to the forefront. 

Backed by ramping up support from the public (Hub71, ADIO, DOH, and others) and private sectors, the local healthtech space is seeing increased activity, interest, investment and innovation. 

Here are 5 exciting healthtech startups to look out for in the UAE.

1. Okadoc

One of the top-funded healthtech startups in the UAE, raising a $10 million Series A round in February of 2020, Okadoc offers a telemedicine platform that aims to improve the healthcare experience by seamlessly connecting patients with healthcare providers and doctors. 

Okadoc’s platform enables virtual consultations, document sharing, and online chat seamlessly between patients and doctors. The company’s app also allows access to a 24/7 intelligent medical calendar system that helps practitioners, clinics and hospitals optimize their bookings, attract and engage new patients, and build and strengthen their online reputation.

In light of the pandemic, Okadoc has also been providing COVID-19 related services. 

The telemedicine vertical is among the most competitive in the healthcare sector at the moment, and Okadoc is one of the premier names in the running.

2. Sehteq

Launched in 2018, Sehteq has positioned itself as a tech-integrated health insurance startup that aims to make insurance accessible, affordable, and efficient. 

Through its platform, the startup leverages AI to digitize the supply of insurance plans to individuals and families in the UAE, accelerating and fully automating the sale & post-sale processes. Its customers grew from 20,000 in 2018 to more than 700,000 in 2021.

Sehteq was acquired by Boston-based cloud computing and SaaS startup Cloud Klair last September, marking another notable exit for a MENA startup. The deal is expected to be completed this month. 

3. KLAIM

One of the swiftly rising names in the local healthtech space, launched in December of 2020,  KLAIM is a software as a service (SaaS) fintech platform aimed at healthcare providers to help minimize their revenue losses due to delayed and rejected payments from insurance companies and predict cash flows by streamlining the medical billing processes.

Raising $1 million in Seed funding during March of 2021, and $1.6 million in Pre-Series A funding in the following September, KLAIM is on a mission to become the leading one-stop-shop specialized healthcare payment network, or the "Stripe/Paypal" of healthcare, as its founders state.

KLAIM was among Hub71’s Q1 2021 cohort of startups, and was selected as one of the winners of the KPMG Private Enterprise Tech Innovator 2021 Competition.

4. selfologi

While the rest of the entrants on this list have all established operations in the UAE, selfologi is yet to launch. Still, this hasn’t prevented this cosmetics-focused startup from securing $17.5 million in funding.

Set to launch soon, selfologi is an online healthtech platform where users can discover, learn about, and book cosmetic treatments. The company has put together an in-house team of globally successful experts to create a vast content hub of knowledge and understanding for the cosmetic treatments industry. The result will be a one-stop-shop for users while simultaneously driving consumer engagement for clinics across the region.

5. Valeo

Another up-and-coming name in the healthtech sphere, Valeo is a personalized health and wellness marketplace offering users access and insight into their wellness data. 

Consumers can seamlessly purchase packages through the app, combining ‘at-home’ wellness tests and personalized advice from certified coaches covering a variety of areas such as lifestyle, nutrition, and movement guidance.

Launched in 2021, the company completed a $3 million Seed funding round during July of the same year led by Nuwa Capital, with participation from Global Founders Capital, Global Ventures, and FJ Labs. 

Valeo will utilize this early-stage capital infusion to hire talent, scale its platform and complement its offering with new wellness products.

You might also like

خمس شركات ناشئة مثيرة للاهتمام في مجال التكنولوجيا الصحية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة جديرة بالمتابعة:

خمس شركات ناشئة مثيرة للاهتمام في مجال التكنولوجيا الصحية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة جديرة بالمتابعة: 

مارك انتوني كرم
قيادة الفكر

مواكبة لموضوع التكنولوجيا الصحية الذي نتعرض له في شهر يناير الحالي، فسوف نعرض لخمس شركات ناشئة مقرها دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة تقود بعض أكثر الابتكارات إثارة في هذا المجال.

في العادة، نجد أن القطاعات مثل قطاع التكنولوجيا المالية هي من تجذب كل الضجيج والإثارة من قبل رواد الأعمال على المستوى الإقليمي، ولكن مؤخرًا فقد أصبحت القطاعات الناشئة مثل التكنولوجيا الصحية في مقدمة الركب.

حيث أنه بوجود بدعم مكثف ومتزايد من قبل القطاع العام (Hub71، مكتب أبوظبي للاستثمار، دائرة الصحة، وغيرها) والقطاع الخاص، يشهد قطاع التكنولوجيا الصحية المحلية تزايدًا في النشاط والاهتمام والاستثمار والابتكار.

وفيما يلي خمس شركات ناشئة مثيرة للاهتمام في مجال التكنولوجيا الصحية يجدر الانتباه إليها في الإمارات العربية المتحدة:

1) أوكادوك:

أوكادوك واحدة من الشركات الناشئة الأعلى تمويلًا في مجال التكنولوجيا الصحية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، حيث جمعت 10 ملايين دولار من الجولة الأولى في فبراير من عام 2020، وتقوم الشركة المذكورة بتقديم منصة للتطبيب عن بعد تهدف إلى تحسين تجربة الرعاية الصحية من خلال ربط المرضى بسلاسة بمقدمي الرعاية الصحية والأطباء.

وتتيح منصة أوكادوك إجراء الاستشارات الافتراضية ومشاركة المستندات والدردشة عبر الإنترنت بسلاسة بين المرضى والأطباء. ويتيح تطبيق الشركة أيضًا الوصول إلى نظام تقويم طبي ذكي على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع يساعد الأطباء الممارسين والعيادات والمستشفيات على تحسين حجوزاتهم، وجذب مرضى جدد وإشراكهم، وبناء السمعة عبر الإنترنت وتعزيزها.

وفي ضوء الوباء الحالي، تقدم أوكادوك أيضًا خدمات مرتبطة بــ COVID-19 

ويعد مجال العلاج عن بعد من بين أكثر القطاعات تنافسية في قطاع الرعاية الصحية في الوقت الحالي، وأوكادوك هي أحد الأسماء الرائدة في السباق.

2)  صحتك:

تم إطلاق شركة "صحتك" في عام 2018 ، حيث أوجدت لنفسها مكانة كشركة ناشئة للتأمين الصحي المتكامل تقنيًا تهدف إلى جعل التأمين فعال ومتاحًا وبأسعار معقولة.

ومن خلال منصتها، تستفيد الشركة الناشئة المذكورة من الذكاء الاصطناعي لرقمنة خطط التأمين التي تزود بها الأفراد والعائلات في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وكذلك تسريع عمليات البيع وما بعد البيع وأتمتتها بالكامل. وقد نما عدد عملائها من 20 ألقًا في عام 2018 إلى أكثر من 700 ألفًا في عام 2021.

وقد تم الاستحواذ مؤخرًا على شركة "صحتك" من قبل شركة الحوسبة السحابية والخدمات البرمجية الناشئة "كلاود كلير" - ومقرها بوسطن بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية - في سبتمبر الماضي، مما يمثل تخارجًا ملحوظًا آخر لشركة ناشئة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. ومن المتوقع أن تكتمل الصفقة هذا الشهر.

3)كلايم:

تعد "كلايم" أحد الأسماء الصاعدة بسرعة في مجال التكنولوجيا الصحية المحلية، حيث تم إطلاقها في ديسمبر من عام 2020، وهي منصة للخدمات البرمجية بمجال التكنولوجيا المالية والتي تستهدف بخدماتها مزودي الرعاية الصحية لمساعدتهم في تقليل خسائر إيراداتهم بسبب المدفوعات المتأخرة والمرفوضة من شركات التأمين، وكذلك تساعدهم في توقع التدفقات النقدية من خلال تبسيط عمليات الفواتير الطبية.

ومن خلال جمع مليون دولار من التمويل الأولي خلال شهر مارس من عام 2021، و 1.6 مليون دولار أمريكي في تمويل ما قبل السلسلة أ خلال سبتمبر التالي، فإن "كلايم" تعزم تحقيق هدفها بأن تصبح الشبكة الرائدة للدفع من خلال متجر واحد لكافة خدمات الرعاية الصحية المتخصصة، أو أشبه ب"سترايب/ بيبال" للرعاية الصحية، كما يقول مؤسسوها. 

وقد كانت "كلايم" من بين مجموعة الشركات الناشئة فيHub71 للربع الأول من عام 2021، وتم اختيارها كأحد الفائزين في مسابقة شركة KPMG للابتكار في مجال تكنولوجيا المشاريع الخاصة لسنة 2021.

4) سيلفولوجي:

في حين كانت الشركات الأخرى في هذه القائمة قد تركزت عملياتهم جميعًا داخل الإمارات العربية المتحدة، لم تكن شركة "سيلفولوجي" قد بدأت بعد. ومع ذلك، لم يمنع هذا الشركة المذكورة الناشئة التي تركز على التجميل من الحصول على تمويل بقيمة 17.5 مليون دولار.

ومن المقرر إطلاق هذه الشركة قريبًا، وهي عبارة عن منصة عبر الإنترنت للتكنولوجيا الصحية حيث يمكن للمستخدمين اكتشاف العلاجات التجميلية والتعرف عليها وحجزها. ولقد شكلت الشركة فريقًا داخليًا من الخبراء الناجحين عالميًا لإنشاء مركز محتوى واسع للمعرفة والفهم لصناعة علاجات التجميل. وستكون النتيجة متجرًا شاملاً للمستخدمين وبالتزامن مع ذلك زيادة مشاركة المستهلكين في العيادات في جميع أنحاء المنطقة.

5) فاليو:

هو اسم آخر صاعد وقادم في مجال التكنولوجيا الصحية، حيث أن "فاليو" عبارة عن سوق ذي طابع شخصي للصحة والعافية يوفر للمستخدمين إمكانية الوصول إلى بيانات العافية الخاصة بهم والحصول على تحاليل وتبصرات بخصوصها.

ويمكن للمستهلكين شراء العروض بسلاسة من خلال التطبيق، والجمع بين اختبارات العافية "في المنزل" والنصائح الشخصية من المدربين المعتمدين الذين يغطون مجموعة متنوعة من المجالات مثل نمط الحياة والتغذية وتوجيه الحركة.

وقد تم إطلاقها في عام 2021، وأكملت الشركة جولة تمويل أولية بقيمة 3 ملايين دولار خلال شهر يوليو من نفس العام بقيادة Nuwa Capita، وبمشاركة من كل من: Global Founders Capital، و Global Ventures و FJ Labs.

وسوف تستفيد شركة فاليو من هذا الضخ المرحلي المبكر لرأس المال لتوظيف المواهب وتوسيع نطاق منصتها وتعزيز عروضها السوقية واستكمالها بمنتجات صحية جديدة.

قد يعجبك ايضا