Aster, an ADGM-based startup, has launched the first digital wealth management platform designed for MENA

Aster, an ADGM-based startup, has launched the first digital wealth management platform designed for MENA 

By: Mark Anthony Karam
Interviews

Despite a significant number of high-net-worth individuals in the MENA region, the wealth management sector today remains quite traditional, and there is a need for modern, digital solutions to make managing wealth easier and more intuitive. 

The MENA region, and especially the GCC, is known for hosting and attracting a significantly large amount of high-net-worth individuals (HNWIs). In Dubai alone, 1,300 millionaires HNWIs made the emirate their home last year, according to a New World Wealth Report published last year. 

By June 2020, the UAE was home to 79,000 millionaires, 3,400 multimillionaires with wealth of over $10 million and 12 billionaires. Their total wealth stood at $825 billion (AED 3.02 trillion).

Despite this high concentration of HNWIs, the wealth management sector in the region today remains quite traditional, and there is a need for modern, digital solutions to make managing wealth easier and more intuitive. 

Aster, an ADGM-based startup, has launched the first digital wealth management platform designed for the MENA market. The platform has been developed to meet the rapidly expanding needs of the Middle East's digital native wealth owners, marking a first for investors. Aster is user-centric and delivers pricing and reporting simplicity, reducing the average time of an individual’s wealth reporting to minutes instead of days or weeks.

Aster is a mobile-first personal wealth management platform that provides an actionable, holistic view of users’ bankable and non-bankable assets any time, anywhere. Designed with banking-grade security & privacy in mind, the platform helps investors manage their assets through timely price-, position- and portfolio composition updates, enabling data-driven investment decision making and a proactive approach to managing wealth.

Talal AlAjeel, Founder & CEO of Aster, spoke with the Abu Dhabi SME Hub to discuss his company’s recent launch, as well as the overall philosophy behind their platform.

How would you describe the wealth management market in the MENA region? What are some of the biggest challenges and opportunities here?

Overall, we believe that the wealth management market is poised for incredible growth in MENA over the next few years coupled with changes in investor behaviour and expectations. This shift in behaviour is due to the growing segment of young wealth accumulators who by nature are digitally savvy and have an enlightened approach to investing where aligning investments with their views on the world is a core pillar in their decision and allocation process. 

The challenge and opportunity in our view are namely bridging the gap between today’s offerings and today’s digital expectations when managing one’s wealth in a manner that is mobile accessible, timely and enables data-driven investment decisions resonating with the digital wealth owner whilst complementing existing advisor relationships. The market is ripe for such an offering and we aim to deliver on that demand.

What led you to create Aster to address these issues with wealth management, given your previous career experiences?

Aster spurred out of a problem I and other investors in the region face, which is the time-consuming nature of having to manually consolidate investments across various asset classes and personal holdings. As such, the process of knowing what you own and where, how you are performing, calculating risk and as a result making informed decisions that limit risk and increase returns was a static and reactive process. 

During the research phase, we were looking for tools that can automate and enable dynamic personal investment management but found none in the region compared to global offerings, and those globally did not support regional markets and customs.

Aster conducted a survey last year of 95 ultra high net worth individuals (UNHWIs) across the MENA region. The results showed that only 20% of respondents had access to consolidated asset management reports. Despite the majority of the respondents being interested in receiving consolidated reports of accounts and investments, most were not receiving any.

Furthermore, 100% of respondents indicated that they would like to get their holdings updated at market closing or in real-time, highlighting the need for a digital solution such as Aster’s. 

What are some of the unique solutions Aster has developed?

Aster’s key business USP is that it has been developed in its target market, with an approach that is MENA first, based on our research findings. People weren’t being addressed in this market and Aster is stepping in to bridge that gap. 

From a technology perspective, security is one of the key USPs of the Aster offering. 

It’s been developed with banking-grade security in mind, including: 2-factor authentication for login and password reset, field-level encryption, TLS encryption in transit, inactivity unlock passcodes and biometric identification, security alerts, AES-256 encryption of selected files and data at rest, and more.

You can find more info here.

How did ADGM support you in setting up your business in Abu Dhabi?

ADGM as a jurisdiction with legal independence and a super progressive financial regulatory body where tech startup enablement and support is a core pillar was an absolute no brainer for us. 

Another reason we decided to set up in ADGM is its unrivalled data protection and privacy regulations that gave us the confidence that the regulators recognize and promote the importance of personal data and fundamental protection of data subjects' rights, a core value at Aster and a basic expectation of our users. 

As for company formation and setting up, the process was a breeze wherein we were handheld throughout the process which was entirely digital during the pandemic’s peak lockdown period.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by ASTER (@joinaster)

What challenges do you foresee a company like Aster facing, and how do you hope to solve them?

The main challenge which is more a must, is earning the trust of the market and our valued users which includes protecting their data and privacy at any and all cost. We have that reflected in our core values, product and strict adherence to a robust data protection and privacy policy that is compliant with both GDPR and ADGM’s latest Data Protection Regulations 2021. Supporting an individual’s financial well being is a sensitive matter and we at Aster uphold the highest standards of data privacy and an unwavering commitment to our users’ best interests.

What would you say are your immediate goals within the next 3 years?

It would be a single goal: to continuously deliver a high-quality product with an experience that guarantees user satisfaction. Fine-tuning our ears to the voice of our users is paramount in providing a product with features that wealth owners want and need in enabling their wealth accumulation.

You might also like

أطلقت Aster، شركة ناشئة مقرّها سوق أبوظبي العالمي، أول منصة رقمية لإدارة الثروات مُصمّمة لمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

أطلقت Aster، شركة ناشئة مقرّها سوق أبوظبي العالمي، أول منصة رقمية لإدارة الثروات مُصمّمة لمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا 

Mark Anthony Karam
مقابلات

على الرغم من وجود عدد كبير من أصحاب الثروات المالية العالية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، لا يزال اليوم قطاع إدارة الثروات تقليديًا جدًا، وهناك حاجة إلى حلول رقمية حديثة لجعل إدارة الثروات أسهل وأكثر بديهية.

تشتهر منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، وخاصة دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، باستضافة وجذب عدد كبير جدًا من أصحاب الثروات المالية العالية (HNWIs). في دبي وحدها، جعل 1300 مليونيرًا من دولة الإمارات موطن لهم العام الماضي، وفقًا لتقرير New World Wealth الذي نُشرالعام الماضي.

بحلول يونيو 2020، كانت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة موطنًا لـ 79000 مليونيرًا، و 3400 مليونيرًا بثروة تزيد عن 10 ملايين دولارًا و 12 مليارديرًا. وبلغ إجمالي ثروتهم 825 مليار دولارٍ (أي 3.02 تريليون درهم).

على الرغم من هذه نسبة العالية من أصحاب الثروات، لا يزال قطاع إدارة الثروات في المنطقة اليوم تقليديًا جدًا، و هناك حاجة إلى حلول رقمية حديثة لجعل إدارة الثروات أسهل وأكثر بديهية.

أطلقت شركة  Aster، و هي شركة ناشئة مقرّها سوق أبو ظبي العالمي، أول منصة لإدارة الثروات الرقمية مصممة لسوق الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. تم تطوير المنصة لتلبية التوسع السريع في احتياجات أصحاب الثروات المتأقلمين مع التكنولوجيا في الشرق الأوسط، مما يجعل هذه المنصة الأولى من نوعها للمستثمرين. تركّز Aster على المستخدم وتوفر التسعير والبساطة في إعداد التقارير، مما يقلل من متوسط وقت إعداد تقرير ثروة الفرد إلى دقائق بدلاً من أيامٍ وأسابيع.

Aster توفر رؤية شاملة وعمليّة لممتلكات المستخدمين القابلة للتمويل وغيرالقابلة للتمويل في أي وقت وفي أي مكان. مُصمّمة مع مراعاة الأمن والخصوصية على مستوى الخدمات المصرفية، تُساعد المنصة المستثمرين على إدارة ممتلكاتهم من خلال تحديثات السعر، الموقع، و تكوين الملف في الوقت المناسب، بتمكين اتخاذ قرارات الاستثمار القائمة على البيانات والنهج الاستباقي لإدارة الثروة.

تحدث طلال العجيل، المؤسس والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Aster، مع منصة أبو ظبي للأعمال، لمناقشة إطلاق شركته، بالإضافة إلى الفلسفة العامة وراء منصتهم.

كيف تصف سوق إدارة الثروات في منطقة الشرق الأوسط و شمال أفريقيا؟ ما هي بعض أكبر التحديات والفرص هنا؟

بشكل عام، نعتقد أن سوق إدارة الثروات على استعداد لنمو مذهل في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا على مدى السنوات القليلة المقبلة إلى جانب التغييرات في سلوك المستثمرين وتوقعاتهم. يعود هذا التحول في السلوك إلى الشريحة المتزايدة من مجمعي الثروات الشباب الذين يتمتعون بطبيعتهم بالذكاء الرقمي ولديهم نهج مستنير للاستثمار حيث تُعتبر مُحاذاة الاستثمارات مع وجهات نظرهم حول العالم ركيزة أساسية في عملية اتخاذ القرار والتخصيص.

تكمن التحديات والفرص بالنسبة لنا في سد الفجوة بين الحلول المتواجدة في السوق و توقعات العملاء الرقمية اليوم عند إدارة ثروة الفرد بطريقة سهلة المنال من خلال الهاتف المحمول وفي الوقت المناسب وتُمكّن من اتخاذ قرارات استثمارية قائمة على البيانات يتردد صداها مع مالك الثروة الرقمية مع استكمال علاقات المستشارين الحالية. السوق جاهز لمثل هذا الحل ونهدف إلى تلبية هذا الطلب.

ما الذي دفعك إلى إنشاء Aster لمعالجة هذه المشاكل التي يواجهها قطاع إدارة الثروات، نظرًا لخبراتك المهنية السابقة؟

ما حفّز خروج Aster إلى الضوء هي مشكلة أواجهها أنا ومستثمرون آخرون في المنطقة، وهي عملية مستهلكة للوقت، عملية دمج الاستثمارات يدويًا عبر فئات الأصول المختلفة والممتلكات الشخصية. لذلك، فكانت عملية معرفة ما تمتلكه وأين، الإستطلاع عن أدائك، وتقييم المخاطر، عملية ثابتة وتفاعلية تعرقل اتخاذ قرارات مستنيرة تحد من المخاطر وتزيد من العائدات عملية.

خلال مرحلة البحث، كنا نبحث عن الأدوات التي يمكنها أتمتة وتمكين الإدارة الديناميكية للاستثمار الشخصي ولكن لم نجد أيًا منها في المنطقة مقارنة بالحلول الموجودة عالمياً، وهذه حلول لم تدعم الأسواق الإقليمية.

أجرت Aster استطلاع العام الماضي على 95 فردًا من أصحاب الثروات الفائقة في جميع أنحاء منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. وأظهرت النتائج أن 20٪ فقط من المستجيبين لديهم إمكانية الوصول إلى تقارير إدارة الأصول الموحدة. على الرغم من اهتمام أغلب المستجيبين بتلقي تقارير موحدة للحسابات والاستثمارات، لم يجدوا طريقةً مسهلة لذلك.

علاوة على ذلك، أشار 100٪ من المستجيبين إلى رغبتهم في تحديث مقتنياتهم عند إغلاق السوق أو في الوقت الفعلي، مما يبرز الحاجة إلى حل رقمي مثل تطبيق Aster.

ما هي بعض الحلول الفريدة التي طورتها Aster؟

ما يميّز نقطة البيع الفريدة لتطبيق Aster هو أنه تم تطويره في سوقه المستهدف، اي الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، بناءً على نتائج أبحاثنا. لا يتم تلبية احتياجات أصحاب الثروات فتتدخل شركة Aster لسد هذه الفجوة.

من ناحية التكنولوجيا، فالأمن السيبراني أحد نقاط البيع الفريدة لشركتنا.

تم تطويره مع أخذ الأمان المصرفي في عين الاعتبار، بما في ذلك: مصادقة ثنائية العوامل لتسجيل الدخول وإعادة تعيين كلمة السر، والتشفير على مستوى المجال،  و تشفير TLS أثناء النقل، فتح رموز المرور غير الفعالة، وتحديد القياسات الحيوية، وتنبيهات الأمان، والمزيد.

للمزيد من المعلومات إضغط هنا.

كيف ساعدك سوق أبو ظبي العالمي في إنشاء عملك في أبوظبي؟

باعتبار سوق أبو ظبي العالمي سلطة قضائية تتمتع باستقلال قانوني وهيئة تنظيمية مالية تقدمية حيث يُعتبر تمكين ودعم الشركات الناشئة في مجال التكنولوجيا ركيزة أساسية، لم يكن علينا التفكير بل موضوع بتاتاً. 

سبب آخر دفعنا إلى التأسيس في سوق أبو ظبي العالمي هو لوائح حماية البيانات والخصوصية التي لا مثيل لها والتي منحتنا الثقة في أن المنظمين يدركون ويعززون أهمية البيانات الشخصية والحماية الأساسية لحقوق أصحاب البيانات، وهي قيمة أساسية في Aster والتوقع الأساسي لمستخدمينا.

أما بالنسبة لتكوين الشركة وتأسيسها، فقد كانت العملية سهلة حيث تم العمل من خلال الأجهزة المحمولة طوال العملية و التي كانت رقمية بالكامل خلال ذروة فترة الإغلاق بسبب الوباء.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by ASTER (@joinaster)

ما هي التحديات التي تتوقع أن تواجهها شركة مثل Aster، وكيف تأمل في حلّها؟

التحدي الرئيسي هو كسب ثقة السوق ومستخدمينا الكرام الذي يشمل حماية بياناتهم وخصوصيتهم بأي ثمن. ينعكس ذلك في قيمنا الأساسية، منتجاتنا، والالتزام الصارم بحماية قوية للبيانات وسياسة الخصوصية التي تتوافق مع  أنظمة حماية البيانات لعام 2021 التي اصدرها سوق أبو ظبي العالمي و النظام الأوروبي العام لحماية البيانات ADGM. يُعتبر دعم الرفاه المالي للفرد أمر حساس ونحن في Aster نتمسك بأعلى معايير خصوصية البيانات وبإلتزامٍ لا يتزعزع بمصالح مستخدمينا الفضلى.

ما هي برأيك أهدافك الفورية خلال الثلاث سنوات القادمة؟

سيكون هدفًا واحدًا: تقديم منتج عالي الجودة باستمرار مع تجربة تضمن إرضاء المستخدم. يُعد الإستماع لآراء مستخدمينا أمرًا بالغ الأهمية في توفير منتج بميزات يريدها أصحاب الثروات ويحتاجونها لتمكينهم من زيادة ثرواتهم.

 

قد يعجبك ايضا