RemotePass is streamlining the teleworking process for companies and talent, wants to "create a world where anyone can work from anywhere"

RemotePass is streamlining the teleworking process for companies and talent, wants to "create a world where anyone can work from anywhere" 

By: Mark Anthony Karam
Interviews

To meet a shifting work paradigm, companies are having to contend with new challenges that come with onboarding remote staff and teams. RemotePass is stepping in to help.

The reality of work has forever changed. A commute and a 9-5 job confined in a cubicle is no longer the norm, but just an option. Pushed by the pandemic to allow their employees to work remotely, companies have seen a major shift in employee expectations. Time and time again, recruiters are noting that many candidates have come to refuse positions that do not permit remote (or hybrid) working. 

To meet this shifting work paradigm, companies, and particularly their HR departments, are having to contend with new challenges that come with onboarding remote staff and teams. 

RemotePass, an Abu Dhabi-based tech startup, is helping to alleviate these issues for both companies and remote working professionals. 

“At RemotePass, we're working to create a world where anyone can work from anywhere while having access to a choice of benefits, perks and financial services,” Kamal Reggad, Co-Founder of RemotePass, tells the Abu Dhabi SME Hub.

Based in Hub71, RemotePass currently services 80+ global & regional companies, including notable names like swvl, Unifonic, Nas Daily, and Eyewa, assisting them in managing their growing global workforce in 120+ countries. 

In December of 2021, the startup raised funds in a Pre-Series A round, which was led by BECO Capital with participation from Wamda Capital, Khawarizmi VC, Flat6Labs, Wealth Well and a syndicate of Saudi investors. This year, it partnered with ​​co-working platform Hotdesk to offer an end-to-end solution for modern startups and agile ventures - from hiring to providing convenient workspaces.

We had a chance to speak with Reggad to learn more about his exciting startup and its distinct services.

remotepass co-founders

Co-founders of RemotePass, Kamal Reggad (left), Karim Nadi (right)

Can you tell us about your company's core offerings, and why there is a need for them in the region?

At RemotePass, we're working to create a world where anyone can work from anywhere while having access to a choice of benefits, perks and financial services. 

Companies of different sizes use our platform to build & manage global remote teams, in a few clicks. They rely on our solution to establish employment/contractor agreements, manage day-to-day HR operations and process mass cross-border payroll in 120+ countries and 80+ currencies. 

The rise of a solution like RemotePass in the region is due to two main factors: the battle to attract talent globally, and the power shift toward flexible and hybrid remote work. The second factor is the willingness these companies have to stay competitive and retain the best talent. swvl, a leading mobility startup in the region, uses RemotePass to onboard and scale its global teams, for example. No need for entities and months spent in paperwork or compliance - it’s hassle-free and convenient. 

How did RemotePass come to be? Walk us through your journey as an entrepreneur from ideation to launch.

RemotePass is in reality a pivot we executed during the pandemic. My entrepreneurial journey in the UAE started by founding Safarpass, a business travel management software. With travel collapsing in 2020, we were confronted with a hard decision. Shutting down our travel operations and starting from zero was a tough choice we had to make. With the help of our investors and the outstanding work of our tech team, we turned things around and launched RemotePass as a successful MVP. 

As an entrepreneur, this reminds you that any situation you face is not intrinsically bad or good. It’s the way your teams handle them, act on them, adapt to them that influences the final outcome. Perseverance and grit are in the DNA of our founding team.

You raised a Pre-Series A funding round late last year, onboarding notable investors like BECO Capital, Wamda Capital and Flat6Labs, among others. How would you describe your fundraising journey so far? Are there any lessons or tips you can share with other entrepreneurs looking to raise funding? 

We are grateful for the trust our investors demonstrate toward us, even in the most difficult times. All of our Seed investors followed on in our Pre-Series A round. One of the important things to take into consideration during the funding process is the degree of compatibility, long-term vision and value-add beyond funding.

What would you say are the greatest challenges you've faced so far as an entrepreneur in setting up and running RemotePass, and looking back, would you have done anything differently?

I think understanding the global HR industry was and is still one of the toughest challenges, as labour laws and processes differ from country to country. Certain technical aspects require a lot of research, external trusted advisory partners and documentation (payroll, taxation, legislation, etc.) 

There is also the complexity in building a flexible and compliant platform with global standards and finding the right resources. Add to that the difficulty in convincing global providers to dedicate time and resources at the beginning of our journey, when we registered only a few transactions. 

Why did you decide to set up in Hub71, and what support have you received from the local Abu Dhabi ecosystem so far?

We were one of the first companies at Hub71 and after two years I can say that It’s one of the best ecosystems in the region for any tech company, at any stage. The Hub71 team has always been supportive with the goal to see your team and your company succeed. 

What would you say are RemotePass's overall objectives for the next three years?

We have three objectives we would like to achieve. 

  1. To become the leading solution in the GCC region to enable remote work and build international teams seamlessly. 

  2. To expand our activity across new regions of the world and scale our operations globally.

  3. We want to build the next generation HR technology platform where employers and employees get to find all they need to start a collaboration. From employment contracts to workspaces, from payroll management to financial & benefit services e.g health insurance, pension plans, etc. 

We want to be the ultimate platform for any company out there, looking to attract the best talent and provide them with the best ecosystem of services to retain them. 

You might also like

تعمل شركة Remote Pass على تبسيط عملية العمل عن بعد للشركات والمهنيين، وتطمح إلى "صناعة عالم يمكن لأي شخص فيه العمل من أي مكان"

تعمل شركة Remote Pass على تبسيط عملية العمل عن بعد للشركات والمهنيين، وتطمح إلى "صناعة عالم يمكن لأي شخص فيه العمل من أي مكان" 

Mark Anthony Karam
مقابلات

لمواكبة التغييرات الطارئة على نموذج العمل بسبب جائحة كوفيد، فإنه يتعين على الشركات مواجهة التحديات المستجدة التي تأتي مع تعيين الموظفين عن بعد. وهنا تدخل شركة Remote Pass في الصورة للمساعدة.

لقد تغير واقع العمل إلى الأبـد. حيث أن اعتبارات المواصلات من وإلى مكان العمل يوميًا والعمل من ال9 صباحًا إلى ال5 مساء قد أصبحت مجرد خيار وليست قاعدة. كما أن الضغوطات التي تسببت بها الجائحة قد دفعت الشركات للسماح لموظفيها بالعمل عن بعد، وبالتالي فقد شهدت الشركات تحولًا كبيرًا في التوقعات لدى موظفيها. حيث يلاحظ القائمون على التوظيف مرارًا وتكرارًا أن العديد من المرشحين قد رفضوا قبول الوظائف التي لا تسمح لهم بنظام العمل عن بعد (أو العمل الهجين).

وبالتالي فلتلبية نموذج العمل المتغير هذا، يتعين على الشركات، ولا سيما أقسام الموارد البشرية لديها، مواجهة التحديات الجديدة التي تأتي مع تعيين الموظفين والفرق عن بعد.

وتساعد Remote Pass، وهي شركة تقنية ناشئة مقرها أبوظبي، في التخفيف من هذه المشكلات لكل من الشركات والمتخصصين في العمل عن بعد.

قال كمال رقاد، الشريك المؤسس في شركة Remote Pass، لمنصة أبوظبي للأعمال:  "نحن نعمل في Remote Pass على إيجاد عالم يمكن لأي شخص فيه العمل من أي مكان مع إمكانية الوصول إلى مجموعة من المزايا والامتيازات والخدمات المالية".

يقع مقر Remote Pass في المنصة 71، حيث تخدم حاليًا أكثر من 80 شركة عالمية وإقليمية، بما فيها أسماء بارزة مثل swvl و Unifonic و Nas Daily و Eyewa، مما يساعد هذه الشركات على إدارة قوة العمل العالمية المتنامية لديها في أكثر من 120 دولة.

وفي ديسمبر من عام 2021، قامت الشركة الناشئة المذكورة بجمع للأموال في الجولة التمهيدية أ، بقيادة BECO Capital وبمشاركة من Wamda Capital و Khawarizmi VC  و Flat6Labs و Wealth Well، ومجموعة من المستثمرين السعوديين. وفي هذا العام، دخلت الشركة في شراكة مع منصة العمل المشترك Hotdesk لتقديم حل شامل للشركات الناشئة الحديثة والمشاريع الرشيقة، من التوظيف إلى توفير مساحات العمل الملائمة.

ولقد أتيحت لنا الفرصة للتحدث مع الرقاد لمعرفة المزيد عن شركته الناشئة المثيرة وخدماتها المتميزة.

مؤسسو شركة Remote Pass

هل يمكنكما إفادتنا عن العروض الأساسية لشركتكما، وعن أسباب وجود الحاجة إليها في المنطقة؟

- نحن في Remote Pass نعمل على إيجاد عالم يمكن لأي شخص فيه العمل من أي مكان مع إمكانية الوصول إلى مجموعة من المزايا والامتيازات والخدمات المالية.

- وتقوم الشركات ذات الأحجام المختلفة، باستخدام منصتنا لبناء وإدارة فرق عمل عالمية عن بعد ببضع نقرات. كما تعتمد (هذه الشركات) على الحلول التي نقدمها في وضع اتفاقيات التوظيف/المقاولة، وإدارة عمليات الموارد البشرية اليومية، ومعالجة كشوف الرواتب بالجملة وعبر الحدود في أكثر من 120 دولة وبأكثر من 80 عملة.

- ويرجع بروز حل مثل Remote Pass في المنطقة إلى عاملين رئيسيين: معركة جذب المواهب على مستوى العالم، والتحول نحو أسلوب العمل عن البعد بشكليه: المرن والهجين. وأما العامل الثاني، فهو استعداد هذه الشركات للبقاء قادرة على المنافسة والاحتفاظ بأفضل المواهب لديها. swvl على سبيل المثال هي شركة رائدة في مجال التنقل في المنطقة، حيث تقوم باستخدام Remote Pass في تعيين فرق عملها العالمية وقياس أدائها. فلا حاجة للوحدات الإدارية والأشهر التي يتم استنفاذها في الأعمال الورقية أو التأكد من الالتزام بالنظم والقوانين، فهي عملية خالية من المتاعب ومريحة.

كيف نشأت Remote Pass؟ شاركنا في رحلتك كرائد أعمال من مرحلة التصور إلى مرحلة بعث وإطلاق الشركة، مع مراعاة تأثيرات COVID-19.

إن Remote Pass هي في الواقع نقطة محورية قمنا بتنفيذها خلال الوباء. وقد بدأت رحلتي مع ريادة الأعمال في الإمارات من خلال تأسيس Safarpass، وهو برنامج لإدارة رحلات الأعمال. ومع توقف السفر والرحلات في عام 2020، واجهنا قرارًا صعبًا، حيث كان إغلاق عمليات السفر لدينا والبدء من الصفر خيارًا صعبًا يتعين علينا القيام به. وبمساعدة مستثمرينا والعمل المتميز لفريقنا التقني، قمنا بتغيير الأمور وأطلقنا Remote Pass كمنتج دنيوي ناجح.

وكرائد أعمال، يذكرك هذا بأن أي موقف تواجهه لا يعتبر سيئًا أو جيدًا في حد ذاته. بل أن الطريقة التي تتعامل بها فرقك مع هذه المواقف وتتصرف بناء عليها وتتكيف معها هي التي تؤثر على النتيجة النهائية. فالمثابرة والعزيمة يعتبران جزءًا من الحمض النووي للفريق المؤسس لدينا.

لقد قمت بعقد جولة التمويل التمهيدية أ أواخر العام الماضي، واشتركت - مع آخرين - في تدريب مستثمرين بارزين مثل: BECO Capital، و Wamda Capital، و Flat6Labs، فكيف تصف رحلتك لجمع الأموال حتى الآن؟ هل هناك أي دروس أو نصائح يمكنك مشاركتها مع رواد الأعمال الآخرين الذين يتطلعون إلى جمع الأموال؟

نحن ممتنون لمستثمرينا بسبب الثقة التي وضعوها فينا، حتى في أصعب الأوقات. حيث استمر كافة مستثمري مرحلة التأسيس معنا لغاية جولة التمويل التمهيدية أ. ومن الأمور المهمة التي يجب أخذها في الاعتبار أثناء عملية التمويل درجة التوافق والرؤية طويلة المدى والقيمة المضافة التي تتجاوز التمويل.

- هي أعظم التحديات التي واجهتها حتى الآن كرائد أعمال في إعداد وتشغيل Remote Pass، وبالنظر إلى الماضي، هل كنت ستفعل أي شيء بشكل مختلف؟

أعتقد أن فهم صناعة الموارد البشرية العالمية كان ولا يزال أحد أصعب التحديات، حيث تختلف قوانين وإجراءات العمل من بلد إلى آخر. حيث تتطلب بعض الجوانب الفنية الكثير من البحث والشركاء الاستشاريين الخارجيين الموثوق بهم والوثائق (نظم الرواتب والضرائب والتشريعات وما إلى ذلك).

كما كانت هناك أيضًا الصعوبة في بناء منصة مرنة ومتوافقة مع المعايير العالمية وإيجاد الموارد المناسبة لها. أضف إلى ذلك صعوبة إقناع مزودي الخدمات العالميين بتكريس الوقت والموارد في بداية رحلتنا للأعمال، عندما كنا ما نزال نسجل عددًا قليلًا فقط من المعاملات.

- لماذا قررت التأسيس في Hub71، وما هو الدعم الذي تلقيته من النظام البيئي المحلي في أبوظبي حتى الآن؟ 

كنا من أوائل الشركات في المنصة 71، وبعد عامين يمكنني القول إنها واحدة من أفضل النظم البيئية في المنطقة لأي شركة تقنية وفي أي مرحلة. ولطالما كان فريق عمل المركز 71 داعمًا بهدف رؤية فريقك ينجح وشركتك تنجح.

ما هي الأهداف العامة لRemote Pass للسنوات الثلاث المقبلة؟

لدينا ثلاثة أهداف نود تحقيقها.

  • - أن نصبح الحل الرائد في منطقة دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي لتمكين العمل عن بعد وبناء فرق عمل دولية بسلاسة.
  • - توسيع نشاطنا عبر مناطق جديدة من العالم وتوسيع نطاق عملياتنا على مستوى العالم.
  • - نريد بناء منصة الجيل التالي التكنولوجية للموارد البشرية حيث يجد أصحاب العمل والموظفون كل ما يحتاجون إليه لبدء التعاون، من عقود العمل إلى أماكن العمل، ومن إدارة كشوف المرتبات إلى الخدمات المالية والمزايا مثل التأمين الصحي، وخطط التقاعد، وما إلى ذلك.

نريد أن نكون المنصة المفضلة لأي شركة تتطلع إلى جذب أفضل المواهب وتزويدها بأفضل نظام بيئي للخدمات وذلك من أجل الاحتفاظ بتلك المواهب.

قد يعجبك ايضا