Healthtech Takalam is helping break the Arab taboo around mental health, at a fraction of market price

Healthtech Takalam is helping break the Arab taboo around mental health, at a fraction of market price 

By: Mark Anthony Karam
Interviews

Launched in 2020 at a time when mental health had become a global focus, Takalam is supporting the digital transformation of this sector, while improving ease of access to professional help.

While the UAE is known for its innovations in fields like transportation, financial technology and real estate, local entrepreneurs have left no stone unturned when it comes to exploring fields in need of a 21st-century makeover. 

The mental health sector in the UAE and overall MENA region remains mostly uncatered to, and topics like anxiety and depression remain controversial at many dinner tables and HR meetings. It doesn’t help that in addition to the social stigma, costs for therapy in the UAE are among the highest in the world; A recent study found that the UAE was the second most expensive country in the world to seek help in, at an average of $163 for a one-hour therapy session, behind Switzerland, where counsellors charge $206 per session on average. 

The recent pandemic did the world no favours, either, as the extended isolation of repeat lockdowns only served to amplify loneliness and other mental health challenges.

In light of all this, Takalam (which means ‘speak’ in Arabic), an Abu Dhabi-based healthtech startup offering mental health consultations via an intuitive app, is helping normalise the act of seeking help for people of all ages, at an affordable price. Launched in 2020 and based at Hub71, Takalam provides sessions for individuals, couples, and organisations seeking to support their employees’ mental wellbeing.

Takalam's digital transformation of the mental health sector falls in line with the efforts of the Ministry of Health and Prevention (MOHAP), which in 2019 announced the launch of a number of digital solutions technologies in the mental and psychological field, which are intended “to lead to a quantum leap in the clinical practices field,” as per the UAE government.

The Abu Dhabi SME Hub spoke with Khawla Hammad, Founder and CEO of Takalam, which is a Plug and Play Abu Dhabi-backed venture, to learn more about her exciting platform, and the need for such a service in a region that is still hesitant about discussing mental health. 

Can you share with us the story behind Takalam - what led you to create your company? 

A few years ago, while experiencing postpartum depression, I was looking for an easy and private solution to connect with a psychologist to seek support. It was nearly impossible to find such a service. I knew I was not the only one [facing this problem], so I decided to create a solution. Takalam was born. In the MENA region, 1 out of 4 individuals suffer from depression and anxiety and stigma becomes a big obstacle in seeking help. With Takalam, we solve many issues [faced when seeking help], including easy access and privacy, as well as offering a solution that is more affordable compared to the traditional channels of receiving therapy.  

Mental health and therapy remain somewhat taboo in the MENA region. How does Takalam overcome the stigma that is associated with seeking help, while making it easy for people to secure the help they need?

The social stigma has been an issue for a long time, mostly due to the culturally reinforced negative perception associated with those who may need mental health support. A platform like Takalam mitigates this concern by providing a private and confidential solution people would be more inclined to use. 

Moreover, as a result of the pandemic, mental health has been the focus of many governments and communities around the world that realised its importance. According to various studies by the UN and WHO, 1 of 3 individuals that have recovered from COVID-19 experience mental health challenges post-recovery. The need to create awareness and embrace the topic of mental health became essential to mitigate and control a mental health crisis which could potentially result from the pandemic. 

Takalam healthtech startup mental health app

What would you identify as the defining moments of Takalam so far?

It has been incredibly gratifying to see the meaningful impact we created through offering our services. There is not a day that goes by without us receiving user feedback noting how our support has led to a life-changing impact in how they shifted their perspective on their personal challenges and embraced seeking help via a technology solution. 

Furthermore, the accelerated journey Takalam has experienced since our inception has allowed us to touch users from over 25 counties around the world, onboard over 60 licensed mental health experts who speak in excess of 20 languages, launch a mobile application with over 10,000 downloads in a 2-month time span, conduct over 100,000 counselling minutes, and raise a successful financing round of $1 million to grow Takalam and its services. 

Takalam was also awarded several accolades including the Wellness Platform of the Year 2020 Agility Award by Entrepreneur Magazine ME and has been recognized as one of the six healthtech startups to look out for in the UAE as per CIO Magazine. 

What are the challenges you've faced so far when introducing your novel business model to the region? Also, what are the subsequent lessons you've learned?

As with all new ideas or approaches, there was a fair amount of resistance from individuals, entities, and investors, who strictly stated that this is simply not going to work as it was not important in their eyes. We welcomed the scepticism and turned it into a challenge that helped us finetune our value proposition and offering, and in turn, turned some of those sceptics into believers - and in a few cases, clients.  

We are blessed to have a group of investors who believe in the cause and mission we have and have faith in us as founders. We aim to continue growing and onboarding strategic investors who are aligned with the vision and mission of Takalam, and can help us grow what we have built, both in the UAE and abroad. 

What support have you received so far from ecosystem entities such as Plug and Play Abu Dhabi, ADIO and Emirates Angels, and why was this crucial in the development and success of your company?

We are honoured and privileged to have been one of the startups these various ecosystem entities have helped enabled. In fact, without the support we received from each one of them, we could not have created the traction or had the successes we have seen to date in such a short time span. Each one has been a force multiplier for us in unique ways and we are grateful for the support. 

What's next for Takalam?

Takalam will continue to enhance its services and build new products to ensure the best experience to address our users’ needs. At the same time, we are actively pursuing our growth strategy internationally, in particular looking to address the demand we are seeing in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. 

We aim to directly contribute to the visionary leadership’s Vision 2030 plan which places a tremendous emphasis and focus on increasing the livability index in the kingdom by enhancing the well-being of the community.

You might also like

تقوم شركة "تكلم للتكنولوجيا الصحية" بالمساعدة في كسر التابو العربي بشأن الصحة النفسية، مقابل جزء بسيط من سعر السوق

تقوم شركة "تكلم للتكنولوجيا الصحية" بالمساعدة في كسر التابو العربي بشأن الصحة النفسية، مقابل جزء بسيط من سعر السوق 

Mark Anthony Karam
مقابلات

تم إطلاق "تكلم" خلال عام 2020 في وقت غدت فيه الصحة النفسية محور الاهتمام في العالم، حيث تدعم التحول الرقمي لهـذا القطاع، بينما تقوم أيضًا بتسهيل الوصول إلى المساعدة المهنية.

وفي حين تشتهر دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بابتكاراتها في مجالات مثل النقل والتكنولوجيا المالية والعقارات، فإن رواد الأعمال المحليون لم يدخروا أي جهد عندما كان الأمر يتعلق باستكشاف المجالات التي تحتاج إلى تحول في القرن الحادي والعشرين.

ولا يزال قطاع الصحة النفسية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة ومنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا عمومًا غير مكترث به، حيث لا تزال مواضيع مثل القلق والاكتئاب مثارًا للجدل في العديد من موائد العشاء واجتماعات الموارد البشرية. ومما لا يساعد بالنسبة لهذا الموضوع هو أنه بالإضافة إلى ما ينظر إليه من كونه وصمة عار اجتماعية، فإن تكاليف علاجه في الإمارات العربية المتحدة هي من بين الأعلى في العالم. وقد وجدت دراسة حديثة أن الإمارات العربية المتحدة كانت ثاني أغلى دولة في العالم لقاء طلب المساعدة، بمتوسط ​​163 دولارًا لجلسة علاج مدتها ساعة واحدة، بعد سويسرا، حيث يتقاضى المستشارون 206 دولارات للجلسة في المتوسط.

كما لم يقدم الوباء الأخير للعالم أي خدمة، لأن العزلة المطولة بسبب عمليات الإغلاق المتكررة لم تؤد إلا إلى تضخيم الشعور بالوحدة وتحديات الصحة النفسية الأخرى.

وفي ضوء كل هـذا، فإن Takalam التي تعني بالعربية "تكلم/تحدث"، وهي شركة ناشئة في مجال التكنولوجيا الصحية مقرها أبوظبي وتقدم استشارات في مجال الصحة النفسية عبر تطبيق حدسي، تقوم بالمساعدة في تطبيع طلبات الحصول على المساعدة للأشخاص من جميع الأعمار، وبأسعار معقولة. وقد تم إطلاق "تكلم" خلال عام 2020 ومقرها في المركز 71، وهي تتيح جلسات للأفراد والأزواج والمؤسسات التي تسعى إلى دعم الصحة النفسية لموظفيها.

ويتماشى التحول الرقمي لقطاع الصحة النفسية في "تكلم" مع جهود وزارة الصحة ووقاية المجتمع (MOHAP)، التي أعلنت في عام 2019 عن إطلاق عدد من تقنيات الحلول الرقمية في المجال العقلي والنفسي، والتي تهدف إلى أن يؤدي ذلك إلى "نقلة نوعية في مجال المعالجات السريرية "، بحسب حكومة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

وقد تحدث منصة أبوظبي للأعمال مع خولة حماد، المؤسس والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة "تكلم"، وهي مشروع تـدعـمه شـركـة Abu Dhabi Plug and Play، لمعرفة المزيد عن منصتها المثيرة للاهتمام، وعن مدى الحاجة إلى مثل هذه الخدمة في منطقة لا تزال تتردد في مناقشة المسائل المتصلة بالصحة النفسية.

هل يمكنك أن تشاركينا حكاية "تكلم"؟ ما الذي دفعك إلى إنشاء شركتك هـذه؟

بينما كنت أعاني من اكتئاب ما بعد الولادة قبل بضع سنوات، كنت أبحث عن حل سهل وخاص للتواصل مع طبيب نفساني لطلب الدعم، حيث كان من المستحيل تقريبًا العثور على مثل هذه الخدمة. ولما كنت أعرف أنني لست الوحيدة التي تواجه هذه المشكلة، لذلك قررت إيجاد الحل، ومن هنا ولـدت شركة "تكلم". ويعاني فرد واحد من بين كل 4 أفراد من الاكتئاب والقلق، في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، حيث يحول عائق اعتبار طلب المساعدة بمثابة وصمة عار دون طلبها. ومع "تكلم"، نقوم بحل العديد من المشكلات التي نواجهها عند طلب المساعدة، بما في ذلك تسهيل الوصول والخصوصية، فضلًا عن تقديم حلول ميسورة التكلفة مقارنة بالقنوات التقليدية لتلقي العلاج.

تظل الصحة النفسية وما يتصل بها من علاج من المحرمات إلى حد ما في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. إذن كيف تتغلب "تكلم" على وصمة العار المرتبطة بطلب المساعدة، وفي نفس الوقت تسهيل تأمين المساعدة  للأشخاص الذين يحتاجونها؟

لطالما كانت وصمة العار الاجتماعية مشكلة لزمن طويل، حيث يرجع ذلك في الغالب إلى التصور السلبي المعزز ثقافيًا والمرتبط بأولئك الذين قـد يحتاجون إلى دعم في مجال الصحة النفسية. وإن منصة مثل "تكلم" تخفف من هذا القلق من خلال توفير حلول خاصة وسرية يميل الناس إلى استخدامها.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فإنه بسبب جائحة كوفيد 19، أصبحت الصحة النفسية محور اهتمام العديد من الحكومات والمجتمعات حول العالم التي أدركت أهميتها. فوفقًا لدراسات مختلفة أجرتها الأمم المتحدة ومنظمة الصحة العالمية، فإن واحدًا من بين كل 3 أشخاص تعافوا من كوفيد 19 واجه تحديات صحة نفسية بعد الشفاء. لـذا أصبحت الحاجة إلى خلق الوعي وتبني موضوع الصحة الع أمرًا ضروريًا للتخفيف من أزمتها والسيطرة عليها كون أن الاعتلال النفسي يمكن أن ينجم أيضًا عن الوباء.

ما هي اللحظات التي يمكن أن تصفها بـالحاسمة" لـ"تكلم" حتى الآن؟

لقد كان من دواعي السرور بشكل لا يصدق أن نرى التأثير الجاد الذي أحدثناه من خلال تقديم خدماتنا. حيث لا يكاد يمر يوم دون تلقينا تعليقات المستخدمين التي تشير إلى الكيفية التي أدى بها دعمنا إلى إحداث تأثير في مجريات حياتهم فيما يتصل بكيفية تغيير وجهات نظرهم بشأن تحدياتهم الشخصية وتبنيهم طلب المساعدة عبر حلول تقنية.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن الرحلة المتسارعة التي مرت بها "تكلم" منذ بدايتها سمحت لنا بالتواصل مع المستخدمين من أكثر من 25 بلدًا حول العالم، بواسطة أكثر من 60 خبيرًا مرخصًا في مجال الصحة النفسية يتحدثون ما يزيد عن 20 لغة، وإطلاق تطبيق للجوال بأكثر من 10,000 عملية تنزيل في نطاق مدى زمني يبلغ الشهرين، وإجراء أكثر من 100,000 دقيقة استشارة طبية، وعقد جولة تمويل ناجحة بقيمة مليون دولار لتنمية "تكلم" وخدماتها.

وقد حصلت "تكلم" أيضًا على العديد من الجوائز، بما في ذلك جائزة Wellness Platform لعام 2020، وجائزة Agility المقدمة من قبل مجلة رجال الأعمال في الشرق الأوسط، وتم الاعتراف بها كواحدة من ست شركات ناشئة في مجال التكنولوجيا الصحية يتم البحث عنها في الإمارات العربية المتحدة وفقًا لمجلة CIO.

ما هي التحديات التي واجهتك حتى الآن عند تقديم نموذج عملك الجديد إلى المنطقة؟ أيضًا، ما هي الدروس اللاحقة التي تعلمتيها؟

كما هو الحال مع جميع الأفكار أو المقاربات الجديدة، كان هناك قدر لا بأس به من المقاومة من قبل الأفراد والكيانات والمستثمرين، الذين صرحوا بشكل قاطع أن هـذا لن ينجح ببساطة لأنه لم يكن مهمًا من وجهة نظرهم. ولقد رحبنا بتشكيكهم وقمنا بتحويله إلى تحـد ساعدنا على تحسين قيمتنا الافتراضية وعروضنا، وبالتالي قمنا بتحويل بعض هؤلاء المتشككين إلى مؤمنين، وفي حالات أخرى إلى عملاء.

وإنه ليسعدنا أن يكون لدينا مجموعة من المستثمرين الذين يؤمنون بالقضية والمهمة التي لدينا ويثقون بنا كمؤسسين. ونحن نهدف إلى مواصلة النمو والتواصل مع المستثمرين الاستراتيجيين الذين يتماشون مع رؤية ورسالة "تكلم"، حيث يمكنهم مساعدتنا في تنمية ما بنيناه، في كل من الإمارات العربية المتحدة وخارجها.

ما هو الدعم الذي تلقيته حتى الآن من كيانات نظم بيئية مثل Plug and Play Abu Dhabi, ADIO, Emirates Angels؟ ولماذا كان هذا حاسمًا في تطوير شركتك ونجاحها؟

يشرفنا ويسعدنا أننا كنا واحدة من الشركات الناشئة التي قامت تلك الكيانات المختلفة في النظام البيئي بتمكينها. وفي الواقع، فإنه بدون الدعم الذي تلقيناه من كل واحد من تلك الكيانات، لم نكن لنتمكن من تحقيق الاجتذاب والنجاحات التي شهدناها حتى الآن في مثل هذه الفترة الزمنية القصيرة. فكل واحد من تلك الكيانات كان بمثابة مضاعف للقوة بالنسبة لنا بطرق فريدة ونحن ممتنون للدعم الذي تلقيناه منها.

ماذا بعـد بالنسبة لـ"تكلم"؟

ستواصل "تكلم" تحسين خدماتها وبناء منتجات جديدة لضمان أفضل خبرة لتلبية احتياجات مستخدميها. وفي الوقت نفسه، نقوم بهمة عالية بمتابعة استراتيجية النمو الخاصة بنا على الصعيد الدولي، ولا سيما البحث عن تلبية الطلب الذي نراه في المملكة العربية السعودية.

كما نهدف إلى المساهمة بشكل مباشر في خطة رؤية 2030 للقيادة الحكيمة والتي تركز بشكل كبير على زيادة مؤشر العيش في المملكة من خلال تعزيز رفاهية المجتمع.

قد يعجبك ايضا