Has TikTok solved influencer marketing's biggest problem?

Has TikTok solved influencer marketing's biggest problem? 

By: Mark Anthony Karam
Interviews

Authenticity has always been influencer marketing's biggest challenge. Spark Ads, TikTok's newly announced feature, brings an ingenious solution to the problem.

In the digital age of advertising, brands are familiar with the tools they usually have to reach users on online social media platforms.

In most cases, new content is designed in-house, based on primary or secondary audience data. In some cases, brands turn to influencers for collab deals and sponsorships to help reach audiences in a more organic manner, but these posts still come off as an advertisement at the end of the day, no different from a Cristiano Ronaldo brand deal in concept.  

How can brands maximize the organic appeal of sponsored posts, then, attaining that highly sought after authenticity factor which eludes most advertisers?

Today, influencers on most social media platforms are required to disclose when a certain piece of content is sponsored, for full disclosure and transparency purposes. This happened as a result of many brands making under-the-table deals with content creators to try and pass sponsored content as organic, making it seem like an influencer is genuinely a fan of a certain product or service. This mostly occurred during the early days of influencer marketing. Users did not appreciate being manipulated this way, and social media platforms quickly cracked down on this behaviour. 

Last month, TikTok announced a new feature that might have finally cracked the sponsored post conundrum: Spark Ads. 

Basically, advertisers could now browse TikTok, identifying trending videos on the platform that align with their brand objectives and cater to their target audience, and effectively sponsor those posts without a prior deal between the influencer and brand having taken place. This means that with Spark Ads, brands can coast on the clout of existing influencers, while not needing to spend any capital or time creating their own content and then wondering if it’ll stick or not. This also means that a post's authenticity is not jeopardized with a deal having been struck between the influencer and brand, like it would with a regular sponsored post.

TikTok’s new feature essentially takes the two contrasting concepts of organic and sponsored posts and hybridizes them in a new way that could lead to shockwaves in the industry. 

Hoping to learn more about Spark Ads and TikTok’s overall presence in the region, the Abu Dhabi SME Hub spoke with Shant Oknayan, General Manager, Global Business Solutions, Middle East Africa Turkey, and Pakistan, TikTok.

You recently introduced Spark Ads, a unique new way for advertisers to push community content that aligns with their brand objectives. The concept of pushing existing community content as opposed to only creating and pushing in-house brand content is quite unique. Can you explain some of the logistics of this new feature for both advertisers and creators?

With Spark Ads, we wanted to expand the ways in which brands can build long-lasting connections with their audience in an authentic way that is rooted in the community. We believe that the new format provides multi-faceted content opportunities for ad managers, whilst also delivering sustainable and impactful business value.  

Standing in between organic content and advertising, Spark Ads make up a hybrid format that delivers unique value to both businesses and users. For brands looking to build a robust content strategy, they can amplify original creative videos seamlessly through Spark Ads.

What has the response to Spark Ads been like from advertisers?

The response from advertisers has been incredible. Not only does Spark Ads provide them with opportunities to drive deeper engagement and connection for brands, it also allows them to foster stronger relationships with creators by supporting their content. 

As Spark Ads provide more avenues for audiences to click-through to the creators' pages, brands are able to put their weight behind the discovery of content and talent, meaning that the entire community benefits from the native format. 

tiktok mena spark ads interview shant oknayan

As one of the newest media giants to enter the MENA region, what are your most notable takeaways about the digital advertising landscape here, especially in regard to the role of content platforms like yours?

It is fair to say that we are a region that loves being online - whether that is consuming content or creating it, online consumption and digital media adoption in MENA is at an all-time high. More specifically, short-form video platforms such as TikTok have very quickly won the hearts of audiences, making up 15% of total time spent by users on media platforms across the region, according to a recent report from RedSeer, with users spending an average 90 minutes daily.

This in turn has meant that short-form video platforms have become one of the preferred channels for advertisers to invest in. According to RedSeer, digital media platforms account for a whopping 70% of advertising spend in MENA today, with social media tipped to bag 32% of the $7.5bn projected ad spend in 2021.

Part of the success and draw for digital advertisers is the content. Nowhere else will you see such a convergence of diverse, feel-good, and creative native content, meaning advertisers can connect with their audiences in new and meaningful ways. 

That being said, it is extremely important for brands and businesses to think creatively and carve content that speaks to their audience in their language to truly drive engagement. 

At TikTok, our focus has always been to stay true to our mission of inspiring creativity and joy by guiding and nurturing brands to maximize the business tools available to them such as Spark Ads and our new e-commerce function, Shopify. 

Many SMEs still struggle to utilize TikTok to maximum effect, especially given the novelty of the short video format your company has innovated. Are there any do's and don'ts you would advise these companies about?

Every business is unique and in need of a channel where they can let their individuality shine in a way that drives awareness, engagement and ultimately, revenue. This is exactly what TikTok provides them with; a one-stop-shop for discovery, engagement, and interactivity. TikTok gives SMEs a space to let their voices be heard.

It’s no secret that our community is ‘always on’, interactive, and cohort, therefore SMEs can use this to their advantage. We are built on creativity and participation, therefore the TikTok community is hungry for inspiration and to discover new things. Brands that can understand this and provide entertainment that contributes to the TikTok experience, are enjoying huge reach and engagement on the platform, leading to more sales and greater return on investment. 

Our advice to brands would be to not overcomplicate their content; to do their research on the latest trends, what engages their target audience on the platform, and to use our community as a source for inspiration. With cutting-edge ad tools available to you on the TikTok For Business platform, you can rest assured your campaign will reach new heights on the platform. 

Another new partnership you’ve recently introduced is the one with Shopify. What are some ways advertisers can capitalize on this?

This partnership is a milestone for our e-commerce offering and will help connect users with brands in the Middle East, making it easier for Shopify merchants to run campaigns directly geared towards the TikTok community. 

In fact, Shopify merchants are able to benefit from the core functions of the TikTok For Business Ads Manager without leaving the Shopify dashboard. TikTok's suite of ad products empowers businesses to unleash their creativity and tell their stories with spontaneity and authenticity, growing their audiences and ultimately generating higher results with less costs.

You might also like

هل حلت TikTok أكبر مشكلة في التسويق عبر المؤثرين؟

هل حلت TikTok أكبر مشكلة في التسويق عبر المؤثرين؟ 

Mark Anthony Karam
مقابلات

لطالما كانت الأصالة التحدي الأكبر للتسويق عبر المؤثرين. تقدم Spark Ads، وهي ميزة تم الإعلان عنها حديثًا من TikTok، حلاً مبتكرًا لهذه المشكلة.

في العصر الرقمي للإعلان، أصبحت العلامات التجارية أكثر اهتمامًا بالأدوات المتاحة لديها والتي يمكن أن تستخدمها للوصول إلى المستخدمين على منصات التواصل الاجتماعي عبر الإنترنت. 

في معظم الحالات، يتم تصميم المحتوى الجديد داخليًا استنادًا إلى بيانات الجمهور الأساسية أو الثانوية. في بعض الحالات، تلجأ العلامات التجارية إلى المؤثرين لعقد صفقات تعاون ورعاية للمساعدة في الوصول إلى الجماهير بطريقة عضوية أكثر، ولكن هذه المنشورات لا تزال تظهر كإعلان في نهاية اليوم، بدون اختلاف عن صفقة العلامة التجارية كريستيانو رونالدو من حيث المفهوم.

كيف يمكن للعلامات التجارية زيادة الجاذبية العضوية الإعلانات التي ترعاها، وبالتالي، تحقيق عامل الأصالة المطلوب بشدة والذي يستعصي على معظم المعلنين؟

اليوم، يُطلب من المؤثرين على معظم منصات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي الإفصاح عن موعد رعاية جزء معين من المحتوى، لأغراض الإفصاح الكامل والشفافية. حدث هذا نتيجة قيام العديد من العلامات التجارية بعقد صفقات تحت الطاولة مع صانعي المحتويات لمحاولة تمرير المحتوى المدعوم على أنه عضوي، مما يجعل الأمر يبدو وكأن المؤثر معجب حقًا بمنتج أو خدمة معينة. حدث هذا في الغالب خلال الأيام الأولى للتسويق عبر المؤثرين. لم يقدر المستخدمون أن يتم التلاعب بهم بهذه الطريقة، وسرعان ما اتخذت منصات التواصل الاجتماعي إجراءات صارمة ضد هذا السلوك.

في الشهر الماضي، أعلنت TikTok عن ميزة جديدة قد تكون هي الحل أخيرًا   معضلة المنشور الإعلاني الذي  ترعاه: Spark Ads.

في الأساس، يمكن للمعلنين الآن تصفح TikTok، وتحديد مقاطع الفيديو الشائعة على المنصة والتي تتوافق مع أهداف علامتهم التجارية وتلبية احتياجات جمهورهم المستهدف، ورعاية تلك المنشورات بشكل فعال بدون عقد صفقة مسبقة بين المؤثر والعلامة التجارية. هذا يعني أنه مع Spark Ads، يمكن للعلامات التجارية أن تتغلب على نفوذ المؤثرين الحاليين، بينما لا تحتاج إلى إنفاق أي رأس مال أو وقت في إنشاء المحتوى الخاص بهم ثم التساؤل عما إذا كان سيستمر أم لا. هذا يعني أيضًا أن أصالة الإعلان لا تتعرض للخطر من خلال إبرام صفقة بين المؤثر والعلامة التجارية، كما هو الحال مع الإعلان الذي يحظى برعاية بانتظام.

تأخذ ميزة TikTok الجديدة بشكل أساسي المفهومين المتناقضين للمشاركات العضوية والمدعومة وتهجينهما بطريقة جديدة يمكن أن تؤدي إلى موجات صادمة في الصناعة.

على أمل معرفة المزيد عن Spark Ads وحضور TikTok العام في المنطقة، تحدث مركز SME Hub في أبو ظبي مع شانت أوكنيان، مدير عام حلول الأعمال العالمية، منطقة الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا وتركيا، وباكستان، TikTok.

​لقد قدمت مؤخرًا Spark Ads، وهي طريقة جديدة فريدة للمعلنين لدفع محتوى المجتمع الذي يتماشى مع أهداف علامتهم التجارية. يعتبر مفهوم دفع محتوى المجتمع الحالي بدلاً من إنشاء محتوى لعلامة التجارية ودفعه داخليًا فقط أمرًا فريدًا تمامًا. هل يمكنك شرح بعض الخدمات اللوجستية لهذه الميزة الجديدة لكل من المعلنين والمبتكرين؟ 

مع Spark Ads، أردنا توسيع الإمكانات التي يمكن للعلامات التجارية من خلالها إرساء تواصل طويل الأمد مع جمهورها بطريقة أصيلة ومتجذرة في المجتمع. ونعتقد أن الشكل الجديد يوفر فرصًا متعددة الأوجه للمحتوى لمديري الإعلانات، مع تقديم قيمة أعمال مستدامة ومؤثرة. 

بالوقوف بين المحتوى العضوي والإعلان، تشكل Spark Ads تنسيقًا هجينًا يوفر قيمة فريدة لكل من الشركات والمستخدمين. بالنسبة للعلامات التجارية التي تتطلع إلى بناء استراتيجية محتوى قوية، يمكنها تضخيم مقاطع الفيديو الإبداعية الأصلية بسلاسة من خلال Spark Ads. 

كيف كانت الاستجابة لإعلانات Spark من المعلنين؟ 

كانت استجابة المعلنين مذهلة. لا توفر لهم Spark Ads فرصًا لزيادة المشاركة والتواصل مع العلامات التجارية بشكل أعمق فحسب، بل تتيح لهم أيضًا تعزيز علاقات أقوى مع المبدعين من خلال دعم المحتوى الخاص بهم. 

نظرًا لأن Spark Ads توفر المزيد من السبل للجماهير للنقر على صفحات صانعي المحتوى ، فإن العلامات التجارية قادرة على وضع ثقلها وراء اكتشاف المحتوى والموهبة ، مما يعني أن المجتمع بأكمله يستفيد من النسق الأصلي. 

كواحدة من أحدث الشركات الإعلامية العملاقة التي دخلت منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، ما هي أبرز النقاط التي تتناولها حول مشهد الإعلان الرقمي هنا، لا سيما فيما يتعلق بدور منصات المحتوى مثل منصتك؟

من العادل أن نقول أننا منطقة تحب أن تكون متصلة بالإنترنت - سواء أكان ذلك يستهلك المحتوى أو يصنعه، فإن الاستهلاك عبر الإنترنت وتبني الوسائط الرقمية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمالي إفريقيا هو في أعلى مستوياته على الإطلاق. وبدقة أكبر، استحوذت منصات الفيديو القصيرة مثل TikTok على قلوب الجماهير بسرعة كبيرة، حيث شكلت 15٪ من إجمالي الوقت الذي يقضيه المستخدمون على منصات الوسائط في جميع أنحاء المنطقة، وفقًا لتقرير حديث من RedSeer، بحيث يقضي المستخدمون ما معدله 90 دقيقة يوميًا.

وهذا بدوره يعني أن منصات الفيديو قصيرة الشكل أصبحت واحدة من القنوات المفضلة للمعلنين للاستثمار فيها. وفقًا لـ RedSeer، تمثل منصات الوسائط الرقمية 70 ٪ من الإنفاق الإعلاني في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا اليوم، ومن المتوقع أن تبلغ نسبة وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي إلى 32٪ من الإنفاق الإعلاني المتوقع 7.5 مليار دولار في عام 2021.

وهذا بدوره يعني أن منصات الفيديو القصيرة أصبحت واحدة من القنوات المفضلة للمعلنين للاستثمار فيها. وفقًا لـ RedSeer، وتمثل منصات الوسائط الرقمية 70 ٪ من الإنفاق الإعلاني في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا اليوم، ومن المتوقع أن تبلغ نسبة وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي إلى 32٪ من الإنفاق الإعلاني المتوقع 7.5 مليار دولار في عام 2021.

يعد المحتوى جزءًا من النجاح والجذب للمعلنين الرقميين. لن ترى في أي مكان آخر مثل هذا التقارب بين المحتوى المحلي المتنوع والمريح والابتكاري، مما يعني أنه يمكن للمعلنين التواصل مع جماهيرهم بطرق جديدة وذات مغزى.

وأيضًا، من المهم للغاية أن تفكر العلامات التجارية والشركات بشكل ابتكاري وصناعة المحتوى الذي يجتذب جمهورهم بلغتهم لدفعهم للمشاركة حقًا.

في TikTok، كان تركيزنا دائمًا هو الوفاء لمهمتنا المتمثلة في إلهام الابتكار والفرح من خلال توجيه ورعاية العلامات التجارية وزيادة أدوات العمل المتاحة لها إلى أقصى حد مثل Spark Ads وعملية التجارة الإلكترونية الجديدة لدينا، Shopify.

لا تزال العديد من الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة تكافح من أجل الاستفادة من TikTok إلى أقصى حد، لا سيما بالنظر إلى حداثة نسق الفيديو القصير الذي ابتكرته شركتك. هل هناك من نصائح ترغب أن تشاركها مع الشركات؟ 

كل عمل تجاري هو فريد من نوعه ويحتاج إلى قناة يمكنهم من خلالها السماح لفرديتهم بالتألق بطريقة تؤدي إلى زيادة الوعي والمشاركة وتحقيق الربح في النهاية. هذا هو بالضبط ما توفره لهم TikTok؛ متجر شامل للاكتشاف والمشاركة والتفاعل. يمنح TikTok الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة مساحة للسماح لسماع أصواتهم.

لا يخفى على أحد أن مجتمعنا "متاح دائمًا" ومتفاعل ويحب الروح الجماعية ، لذلك يمكن للشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة استخدام هذا لصالحها. نحن مبنيون على الابتكار والمشاركة، لذلك فإن مجتمع TikTok متعطش للإلهام ولاكتشاف أشياء جديدة. العلامات التجارية التي يمكنها فهم هذا الأمر وتوفير الترفيه الذي يساهم في تجربة TikTok، بمدى وصول ومشاركة هائلين على المنصة ، مما يؤدي إلى المزيد من المبيعات وزيادة الربحية من الاستثمار.

نصيحتنا للعلامات التجارية هي عدم المبالغة في تعقيد محتواها؛ لإجراء أبحاثها حول أحدث الاتجاهات، وما الذي يثير اهتمام جمهورها المستهدف على المنصة، واستخدام مجتمعنا كمصدر للإلهام. مع أحدث أدوات الإعلانات المتاحة لك على منصة TikTok For Business، يمكنك أن تطمئن إلى أن حملتك ستصل إلى آفاق جديدة على المنصة.0

هناك شراكة جديدة أخرى قدمتها مؤخرًا وهي الشراكة مع Shopify. ما هي بعض الطرق التي يمكن للمعلنين الاستفادة منها؟

تعد هذه الشراكة علامة فارقة في عروض التجارة الإلكترونية لدينا وستساعد على ربط المستخدمين بالعلامات التجارية في الشرق الأوسط، مما يسهل على تجار Shopify تفعيل حملات موجهة مباشرة نحو مجتمع TikTok.

في الواقع، يمكن لتجار Shopify الاستفادة من الوظائف الأساسية في TikTok For Business Ads Manager بدون مغادرة إغلاق لوحة Shopify. تشجع مجموعة المنتجات الإعلانية من TikTok الشركات على إطلاق العنان لابتكارها ورواية قصصها بعفوية وأصالة، وتوسيع جمهورها وتحقيق نتائج أعلى في نهاية المطاف وبتكاليف أقل.

قد يعجبك ايضا