Trukkin is helping bring the stubbornly traditional logistics sector into the 21st century

Trukkin is helping bring the stubbornly traditional logistics sector into the 21st century 

By: Mark Anthony Karam
Interviews

The regional logistics sector is finally having its Industry 4.0 moment, and Middle Eastern startup Trukkin is helping the regional market make this transition possible.

While the pandemic brought the world to a standstill, a few sectors kept trucking along to keep the global economy afloat. Premier among these has been the logistics sector. 

While we were all hunkered down inside our homes with most businesses and industries completely halted, the logistics sector was ensuring that our supermarket shelves were fully stocked and that our power plants were topped up to keep our cities powered and running. 

“What the pandemic really proved globally was the importance of logistics as an industry. Even though passenger traffic was down to zero, the goods were still moving,” Janardan Dalmia, Founder and CEO of transportation-as-a-service startup Trukkin, told the Abu Dhabi SME Hub.

Trukkin, an MEP-based venture serving over 12 countries in the region, acts as the Uber of the logistics sector, offering an aggregator platform where companies can connect with truck drivers to have goods shipped and delivered. 

Dalmia noted that the sector has historically been heavily fragmented. For example, individual truckers didn’t have easy access to the larger market, nor did they have easy access to corporate clients who would usually prefer to deal with larger freight companies as opposed to individual drivers.

What Trukkin offers, in turn, is an equal opportunity for truck drivers to acquire delivery jobs and maximize their time and load, while offering corporate clients in need of delivery a much wider range of options in terms of price, delivery time and more under a holistic professional service. 

For example, a truck driver completing a delivery might spend the return journey empty-handed with no backload (i.e. goods transported on the return journey of a delivery truck), which results in inefficient asset utilisation. With a service like Trukkin, they can optimise their time and storage space to guarantee maximum returns. 

As for companies, utilising a service like Trukkin means that they expect a certain level of quality assurance and service that they would not be guaranteed had they opted for a freelancer trucker or a smaller delivery company. 

“Trukkin steps in and provides that full gamut of services to the corporate customers on one hand, and transporters on the other hand,” Dalmia said. 

Trukkin founder Janardan DalmiaThe origin of Trukkin

Originally an investment banker, Janardan Dalmia spent a large portion of his career travelling to different countries and markets in the MENA region. During one of his trips around 2015, a meeting with the CEO of a public company turned his attention to the glaring inefficiencies plaguing the logistics sector, after said CEO had shared his company’s own supply chain woes with Dalmia. 

Identifying a business opportunity, and observing the Industry 4.0 wave of digitalisation that was sweeping the global logistics industry, Dalmia dove headfirst into creating a tech solution after rigorous research and time in the field. 

“I was pretty confident that there [had] to be a change in this industry, and it was a great time to enter and do something,” Dalmia noted. “The opportunity was too big to be missed.”

And so by 2017, Trukkin had launched.

Breaking old habits

Having navigated the logistics industry for five years now, even enduring a global pandemic, Dalmia had gained some valuable insights.

“The [main] pain point, in general, has been technology adoption,” he noted. “The shifting of behaviour takes time. This industry has [operated in a traditional manner] for many decades, and it’s a complex industry in many ways. So to instil that change both internally and externally takes time.”

Dalmia also shed light on the highly unique geographical landscape of the Middle East, which is also impacting overall change in the sector.

“We [in the UAE] are working in parallel in some way or another with many countries,” he explained. “All of the GCC countries have their own governments, currencies, laws and regulations. And yet, they’re almost kind of bound together [in] their trade and commerce in many ways.”

Dalmia described how Arab countries have had to operate in a “United States of the Middle East” kind of way, trying to bring together unique and disparate countries with their own governing bodies and trade environments to coalesce in a productive manner that supports business and efficiency across the regional supply chain.  

Trukkin’s growth spurt

Since its launch, Trukkin has seen significant growth, servicing over hundreds of corporate clients and having supported in the delivery of all manner of goods. During May 2019, the company raised $3.5 million. It followed this successful round with a significant $7 million Series A in June of 2021, after reporting notable growth during the height of the pandemic, going as far as expanding operations to Pakistan in August of 2020. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Trukkin (@trukkinhq)

“Trukkin navigated [through the pandemic] with a human practical approach. We didn’t have any cost-cutting or reduction in employees,” Dalmia said. 

Commenting on the 2020 expansion to Pakistan, he said, “It proved our execution capability. It proved our ability to scale to various geographies. 

“It just shows that when the whole world was hunkering down, Trukkin was still ensuring that we continue [our] growth momentum and we ensure that we continue to scale and expand. And as soon as we went into Pakistan, a lot of other companies followed us.”

On securing investors and navigating entrepreneurial challenges

Speaking about his investment experience so far, Dalmia highlighted that he always looks for investors who have informed foresight with knowledge of their investee’s field and know how a business “can survive through tough times and grow, unlike investors who just jump in and jump out - who want to invest for a quick buck.” 

“An investor with a long-term view is always supportive in terms of ensuring that what we do as a company, in the long run, should be sustainable and should be good for the [firm],” he said. 

As for the qualities an entrepreneur must have to be able to withstand the immense pressure of running a business, he singles out grit and perseverance.  

“In any business, there are significant highs and significant lows. You go through more lows than highs and it’s very easy to kind of hang the boot because you’re all alone, so you have to develop the ability to self-motivate yourself. No one else is going to come in and support you through that.” 

“So you have to become mentally stronger. You will need to know that this is not a sprint, but a marathon. It takes a few years to establish a business. You will go through highs. You will go through lows. You will have to approach it in a disciplined manner and continue to do what you need to do.”

He also explained that building the right team is a challenge, yet very critical.

“Unfortunately, in entrepreneurship, there is not a clear path for anything. You have to create your [own] way. It’s almost like driving in the dark with 100-metre visibility with your headlights on. But, you believe that while you’re driving there is a road out there and somehow the path will unfold. And that’s pretty much the approach one needs to take and get on this journey.”

As for what comes next for Trukkin, the startup has three main goals. It intends to grow its reach in existing markets, expand into neighbouring geographies, and introduce more products and services that cater to client needs.

You might also like

تساعد شركة "تراكين" في إدخال قطاع الخدمات اللوجستية المتمسك بالتقاليد إلى القرن الحادي والعشرين

تساعد شركة "تراكين" في إدخال قطاع الخدمات اللوجستية المتمسك بالتقاليد إلى القرن الحادي والعشرين 

Mark Anthony Karam
مقابلات

يشهد قطاع اللوجستيات الإقليمي أخـيرًا لحـظة الجيل الرابع من الصناعة (4.0 Industry) الخاصة به، حيث تقوم شـركة تراكين الناشئة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط بمساعدة السوق الإقليمية على جعل هذا التحول ممكنًا.

وفي حين أن الوباء كان قد أدى إلى توقف العالم  بأسره عن الحركة، فقد استمرت بعض القطاعات في العمل كالمعتاد لإبقاء الاقتصاد العالمي واقفًا على قدميه، سيما قطاع اللوجستيات. 

وبينما كنا جميعًا محصنين داخل منازلنا مع توقف معظم الشركات والصناعات تمامًا، فقد كان قطاع الخدمات اللوجستية يضمن امتلاء أرفف السوبرماركتات بالكامل وأن محطات الطاقة الخاصة بنا قد تم تجهيزها لضمان استمرارية إمداد مدننا بالطاقة وإبقائها تعمل.

"ما أثبته الوباء حقًا على مستوى العالم هو أهمية الخدمات اللوجستية كصناعة. وعلى الرغم من انخفاض حركة الركاب إلى الصفر (أثناء الوباء)، إلا أن البضائع كانت لا تزال تتحرك." هذا ما صرح به جاناردان دالميا، المؤسس والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة تراكين الناشئة لخدمات النقل، لمنصة أبوظبي للأعمال.

وتراكين هو مشروع قائم على الهندسة الكهربائية والميكانيكية يخدم أكثر من 12 دولة في المنطقة، ويعمل بمثابة "أوبر" لقطاع الخدمات اللوجستية، حيث يقدم منصة توصيل تمكن الشركات من التواصل مع سائقي الشاحنات لشحن البضائع وتسليمها.

وقد أشار دالميا إلى أن هذا القطاع تاريخيًا كان متفرقًا بشدة. فعلى سبيل المثال، لم يكن لدى سائقي الشاحنات المستقلين وصول سهل إلى السوق الأكبر، ولم يكن لديهم وصول سهل إلى عملاء الشركات الذين كانوا عادة يفضلون التعامل مع شركات الشحن الكبيرة بدلاً من السائقين الأفراد.

وبدورها، فإن ما تقدمه تراكين، إنما هو فرص متساوية لسائقي الشاحنات للحصول على وظائف في مجال التوصيل والتسليم وزيادة وقتهم وحمولاتهم، مع تقديم مجموعة واسعة من الخيارات للعملاء المحتاجين للتسليم من حيث السعر ووقت التسليم وغير ذلك الكثير في إطار خدمة مهنية شاملة.

فعلى سبيل المثال، قـد يمضي سائق الشاحنة العائد من عملية تسليم رحلة العودة خالي الوفاض بدون حمولة (بضائع للنقل)، مما يؤدي إلى استخدام غير فعال للأصول. ومع وجود خدمة مثل تراكين، يمكن لسائقي الشاحنات تحقيق الاستفادة المثلى من أوقاتهم ومن مساحات التخزين لضمان الحصول على أقصى عوائد.

وأما بالنسبة للشركات، فإن استخدام خدمة مثل تراكين، يعني أنها تتوقع مستوى معينًا من ضمان الجودة والخدمة التي لن تكون مضمونة لو تم اختيار سائق شاحنة حر أو شركة توصيل أصغر.

حيث قال دالميا: "تتدخل تراكين وتوفر سلسلة كاملة من الخدمات لعملاء الشركات من ناحية، ولشركات النقل من ناحية أخرى."

Janardan Dalmia trukkin founder and CEOأصل تراكين Trukkin:

قضى جاناردان دالميا، الذي كان في الأصل مصرفيًا استثماريًا، جزءًا كبيرًا من حياته المهنية في السفر إلى بلـدان وأسواق مختلفة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وخلال إحدى رحلاته حوالي عام 2015، فقد لفت انتباهه اجتماع مع رئيس تنفيذي لشركة عامة إلى أوجه القصور الصارخة التي يعاني منها قطاع الخدمات اللوجستية، بعد أن شارك الرئيس التنفيذي المذكور مشاكل سلسلة التوريد الخاصة بشركته مع دالميا.

فمن خلال تحديد وجود فرصة لعمل تجاري، ومراقبة موجة الجيل الرابع للصناعة (Industry 4.0) للرقمنة التي كانت تجتاح صناعة الخدمات اللوجستية العالمية، دأب السيد/ دالميا، بعـد البحث الدقيق واستنفاذ الوقت اللازم، على إيجاد حلول تقنية في هذا المجال.

"كنت واثقًا تمامًا من أنه كان يجب أن يكون هناك تغيير في هذه الصناعة، وكان وقتًا رائعًا للدخول والقيام بشيء ما"، أشارت دالميا، ثم أضافت "كانت الفرصة أكبر من أن تضيع."

وبحلول عام 2017، تم إطلاق تراكين.

كسر العادات القديمة

بحكم خبرته في عالم صناعة الخدمات اللوجستية لمدة خمس سنوات وحتى الآن (تخللها وباء عالمي)، فقد اكتسب دالميا بعض القناعات والتبصرات القيمة.

حيث أشار دالميا في هذا الصدد إلى أن "نقطة الألم الرئيسية تكمن، بشكل عام، في تبني التكنولوجيا". و"إن تغيير السلوك يستغرق وقتًا. حيث كانت هذه الصناعة تعمل بطريقة تقليدية لعقود عديدة، وهي صناعة معقدة من نواح كثيرة. لـذا فإن غرس هذا التغيير داخليًا وخارجيًا يستغرق وقتًا."

وقـد سلط دالميا الضوء أيضًا على المشهد الجغرافي الفريد للغاية للشرق الأوسط، والـذي يؤثر أيضًا على التغيير العام في القطاع.

وأوضح: "نحن في الإمارات نعمل بالتوازي بطريقة أو بأخرى مع العديد من البلدان". فجميع دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي لديها حكوماتها وعملاتها وقوانينها ولوائحها. ومع ذلك، فهم مرتبطون نوعًا ما ببعضهم البعض في تجارتهم ومبادلاتهم التجارية بعدة طرق."

وقد وصف دالميا كيف كان على الدول العربية أن تعمل بنهج يشبه ما يمكن أن يكون:  "ولايات متحدة في الشرق الأوسط"، وذلك في محاولة للجمع بين البلدان الفريدة والمتباينة مع هيئاتها الإدارية وبيئاتها التجارية للاندماج بطريقة مثمرة ما من شأنه أن يدعم الأعمال ويزيد الكفاءة عبر سلاسل التوريد الإقليمية.

طفرة النمو في تراكين: 

شهدت تراكين منذ إطلاقها، نموًا كبيرًا، من خلال ما قدمته من خدمات إلى مئات العملاء من الشركات ومن خلال دعم تسليم جميع أنواع البضائع. وخلال شهر مايو 2019، قامت الشركة بجمع 3.5 مليون دولار. وقد أتبعت جولة التمويل الناجحة هذه بجمع 7 مليون دولار أخرى مهمة من سلسلة التمويل أ التي عقدت في يونيو من عام 2021، بعد الإبلاغ عن نمو ملحوظ خلال ذروة الوباء، مما أدى بالشركة الى الذهاب أبعد في نشاطها حيث امتدت عملياتها إلى باكستان في أغسطس من عام 2020.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Trukkin (@trukkinhq)

"لقد سارت تراكين أثناء الوباء على نهج عملي إنساني". هذا ما قاله دالميا والذي أضاف "لم يكن لدينا أي خفض في التكاليف أو تخفيض في الموظفين."

وتعليقًا على توسعة 2020 إلى باكستان، قال "لقد أثبتت هذه التوسعة قدرتنا على التنفيذ، كما أثبتت قدرتنا على الامتداد الى مناطق جغرافية مختلفة".

"إن هذا يظهر فقط أنه عندما كان العالم كله ساكنًا، كانت تراكين لا تزال تضمن لنا مواصلة زخم نمونا واستمرارنا في التوسع والامتداد. وبمجرد أن ذهبنا إلى باكستان، فقد تابعت الكثير من الشركات الأخرى مسيرتنا."

trukkin app

بالنسبة لتأمين المستثمرين وتجاوز تحديات ريادة الأعمال:

في حديثه عن تجربته في الاستثمار حتى الآن، أوضح دالميا أنه يبحث دائمًا عن المستثمرين المثقفين ذوي الحكمة والمعرفة المسبقة عن مجال الشركة التي يستثمرون فيها والذين يعرفون كيف يمكن للأعمال التجارية "البقاء على قيد الحياة والنمو خلال الأوقات الصعبة، على عكس المستثمرين الذين يقفزون داخلًا تارة ويقفزون خارجًا تارة أخرى - ويريدون الاستثمار مقابل الربح السريع."

قال دالميا "المستثمر ذو الرؤية طويلة الأجل داعم دائمًا من حيث ضمان أن ما نقوم به كشركة، على المدى الطويل، يجب أن يكون مستدامًا ويجب أن يكون جيدًا للشركة."

وأما بالنسبة للصفات التي يجب أن يتحلى بها رائد الأعمال ليكون قادرًا على تحمل الضغط الهائل لإدارة الأعمال التجارية، فإنه يتصف بالعزيمة والمثابرة.

"في أي عمل تجاري، هناك ارتفاعات وانخفاضات كبيرة. وقد تمر عبر مستويات منخفضة أكثر من المستويات المرتفعة ومن السهل جدًا الاستسلام لأنك وحدك، لذلك عليك تطوير القدرة على تحفيز نفسك. فلن يأتي أي شخص آخر ويدعمك خلال ذلك."

"لـذا عليك أن تصبح أقوى ذهنيًا. ستحتاج إلى أن تعرف أن هذه ليست رياضة للعدو السريع، ولكنها ماراثون. حيث أن إنشاء العمل التجاري يستغرق بضع سنوات. ولسوف تمر عبر الارتفاعات، ثم تمر بأدنى مستوياتها. وسيتعين عليك التعامل معها بطريقة منضبطة والاستمرار في فعل ما تريد القيام به."

وأوضح دالميا أيضا أن بناء الفريق المناسب يمثل تحديًا ولكنه بالغ الأهمية:

"لسوء الحظ، لا يوجد في ريادة الأعمال مسار واضح لأي شيء. إذ عليك أن تبتكر طريقتك الخاصة، حيث أن الأمر يشبه تقريبًا قيادة السيارة في الظلام مع حدود رؤية لغاية 100 متر والمصابيح الأمامية مضاءة. لكنك تعتقد أثناء القيادة أن هناك ثمة طريق وبطريقة ما سوف يتكشف الطريق ويتضح. وهذا إلى حد كبير هو النهج الذي يحتاج المرء إلى اتباعه والبدء في هذه الرحلة."

وأما بالنسبة لما سيأتي بعد ذلك من أهداف بالنسبة لـتراكين، فإن هذه الشركة الناشئة لديها ثلاثة أهداف رئيسية تتمثل في توسيع انتشارها في الأسواق الحالية، والتوسع في المناطق الجغرافية المجاورة، وتقديم المزيد من المنتجات والخدمات التي تلبي احتياجات العملاء.

قد يعجبك ايضا