Valeo wants to support individuals through their wellness journeys, from the cubicle-confined employee looking to get more active, to the triathlon runner

Valeo wants to support individuals through their wellness journeys, from the cubicle-confined employee looking to get more active, to the triathlon runner 

By: Mark Anthony Karam
Interviews

"Wellness tech is much more than just wearables that track your steps and sleep. A big part of our journey is about bringing awareness to wellness in the region and how you can use testing to improve your overall lifestyle."

Amidst the regionwide push of startup innovations and solutions in the health field, one particular segment remains quite novel, at least in the regional sphere: wellness. 

In recent years, we’ve seen the GCC slowly catch up to the wellness craze that has swept the Western world, as more people are taking the time to improve their wellbeing, be it via self-education or a change in lifestyle. 

Targetting this segment of the health industry is Valeo, an up-and-coming UAE startup that within less than a year since launch, has already secured $3 million in seed funding from notable investors like GFC, Nuwa Capital and Global Ventures.

How it works

The intensity of modern-day life has significantly impacted health and wellbeing with an increased number of people reporting feeling tired, fatigued, or burnt out. Wellness, as Valeo defines it, is about improving a person’s overall living experience through an understanding of the body and its needs.

“The right advice at the right time, based on your own personalized data, can change your life,” Nadine Karadag, co-founder and COO of Valeo, told the Abu Dhabi SME Hub. “With Valeo, we facilitate this process for the customer by making testing and receiving credible advice convenient.”

In essence, the startup offers users packages that they can order through its app, combining ‘at-home’ wellness tests and personalized advice from certified coaches covering a variety of areas such as lifestyle, nutrition, and movement guidance. 

A user orders a package, and a nurse is dispatched to their home at a time of their choosing to conduct a blood test. This blood sample is then taken to partner labs and the results are analyzed and shared back with the user, who receives corresponding feedback and advice from Valeo’s certified coaches, which are also available for consulting by the client. Results include biodata such as a client’s vitamin levels, iron levels, zinc levels, and more, allowing the coach to help and prepare catered advice that is tailored to the user’s body needs.

“Testing is one of the most powerful ways to understand what is going on inside of your body. It’s really about taking control of your data and your body and understanding it,” Nadine noted.

From ailment to awareness

When both co-founders Nadine Karadag and Sundeep Sahni found themselves suffering from difficult health symptoms and medical conditions, they were at a loss when it came to getting the right medical and lifestyle intervention advice.  

Things changed when Nadine met Jamie Richards, a UK-based nutritionist and clinical psycho-neuro-immunologist (now Valeo’s Chief Wellbeing Officer), who helped Nadine identify the cause of her conditions: stress. Working with Jamie on her diet, her breathing, an exercise regime, and a supplement course, Nadine was able to regain control of her health. 

“I worked for a couple of years with Jamie,” Nadine recalled. “I went from being highly medicated to climbing mountains in Kyrgyzstan.”

After an introduction by Nadine, Sundeep found similar results with the UK-based specialist. Eventually, both Nadine and Sundeep came to the realization that there was a “gap in the market” when it came to wellness. 

“When you’re sick, you go to a doctor, he diagnoses you and gives you some medication, but there are no convenient or credible options out there when it comes to wellness,” Nadine stated.

The two reinvigorated co-founders went to work on creating what would become Valeo, eventually launching the company during the pandemic. The duo succeeded in building an MVP and raised a $3 million Seed round. 

“We really wanted to launch something that not only were we confident in as a business idea, but also something we were truly passionate about,” Nadine said.

Sundeep Sahni (left) and Nadine Karadag (right)

Wellness as a non-luxury

Traditionally, wellness has been restricted primarily to the elite, offered at luxurious resorts and retreats for a hefty price tag. 

“This is the conversation that we as Valeo want to change,” Nadine explained. “Wellness shouldn’t be a luxury. Wellness is something that should be accessible to anyone looking to take care of their health.”

In addition to Valeo’s efforts, we have seen some change in this industry as of late, with influencers taking the stage to try and raise awareness about the topic. This often comes with a caveat, however, as it can be difficult to confirm the medical credentials of an internet personality or their truthfulness when it comes to a certain product given the subtleties of influencer marketing. On the other hand, we have seen hospitals try and enter this space, but given the distress that often accompanies a hospital or clinic visit, clients might not always be inclined to refer to them for wellness support.

Overall, this puts Valeo in an interesting position. Neither a hospital nor an expensive luxurious retreat, Valeo is able to offer a service that for most of the UAE and the Middle East remains novel and out-of-reach.

"Wellness tech is much more than just wearables that track your steps and sleep. A big part of our journey is about bringing awareness to wellness in the region and how you can use testing to improve your overall lifestyle," Nadine noted. "We don’t diagnose, we don’t prescribe any medication - we are complementary to healthcare.

“We are excited to bring this to the Middle East."

Rampant Vitamin D deficiency and other trends

One common trend Valeo noted among its users’ results was a Vitamin D deficiency, which could come as a shock considering the UAE is a sun-drenched desert nation. However, a recent study from 2019 verifies these findings, noting that “the Middle East and North African regions have a very high rate of vitamin D deficiency, which reaches 81 per cent among various age groups.”

Issues like this might seem minor at first, but in fact, could seriously affect a person’s energy levels and mental state. Solving them is at the core of Valeo’s mission, which is done by bringing a holistic solution and approach to improving mental and physical wellbeing.

Supplement misuse was another issue Valeo identified.

“One of the things that we realized is that people are either deficient in a certain mineral or nutrient, or are over-consuming supplements, or using low-quality supplements. A lot of the supplements people are taking are not catered to their bodily needs or are not even required in the first place. 

“The only way you can know if you need a supplement is if you test regularly”

Moving forward, Valeo will continue to raise awareness on issues such as this and others. Additionally, and given its recent cash infusion, the startup is eyeing expansion: first to Saudia Arabia, followed by the rest of the GCC and eventually the Middle East.

You might also like

ترغب شركة فاليو الإماراتية الناشئة في دعم الأفراد خلال رحلاتهم للتعافي، سواء الموظف حبيس مكتبه التواق إلى زيادة نشاطه الرياضي، أو حتى عداء التراياثالون المحترف.

ترغب شركة فاليو الإماراتية الناشئة في دعم الأفراد خلال رحلاتهم للتعافي، سواء الموظف حبيس مكتبه التواق إلى زيادة نشاطه الرياضي، أو حتى عداء التراياثالون المحترف. 

Mark Anthony Karam
مقابلات

"التكنولوجيا التي تدور حول التعافي تشمل أكثر بكثير من مجرد أجهزة يمكن ارتداؤها لمتابعة خطواتك ونومك، بل يتعلق جزء كبير من رحلتنا بنشر الوعي بالصحة في المنطقة وكيف يمكنك استخدام الاختبارات لتحسين نمط حياتك بشكل عام". واستطردت "نحن لا نشخص، ولا نصف أي أدوية، فنحن مجرد مكملون للرعاية الصحية".

في خضم معمعة الابتكارات وحلول الشركات الناشئة في مجال الصحة على مستوى المنطقة، لا يزال هناك قسم معين جديد تمامًا على الساحة، على الأقل في النطاق الإقليمي، ألا وهو: التعافي.

وفي السنوات الأخيرة، رأينا دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي تركب تدريجيًا موجة الاستعفاء التي اجتاحت العالم الغربي، حيث تخصص أعداد متزايدة من الناس الوقت لتحسين عافيتهم، سواء أكان ذلك عن طريق التعليم الذاتي أو تغيير نمط الحياة.

وتقوم شركة فاليو - وهي شركة إماراتية ناشئة صاعدة نجحت بالفعل في غضون أقل من عام من إطلاقها - في الحصول على 3 ملايين دولار من التمويل الأولي من مستثمرين بارزين مثل: GFC وشركة النواة لرأس المال، و Global Ventures - باستهداف هذه الشريحة من الصناعة الصحية.

ماذا تقدم فاليو؟

لقد أثرت زحمة الحياة اليومية الحديثة بشكل كبير على الصحة والرفاهية حيث أن هناك تزايدًا في عدد الأشخاص الذين يشتكون من شعورهم الدائم بالتعب أو الإرهاق أو الانسحاق. والعافية، كما تعرّفها شركة فاليو، تدور حول تحسين التجربة المعيشية الشاملة للشخص من خلال فهم الجسم واحتياجاته.

حيث صرحت نادين كارداج - المؤسس المشارك ومدير العمليات في شركة فاليو - لمنصة أبوظبي للأعمال بأن "النصيحة الصحيحة في الوقت المناسب، بناء على بياناتك الشخصية، يمكنها أن تغير حياتك". واستطردت قائلة "بأننا نقوم من خلال شركة فاليو، بتسهيل هذه العملية للعميل من خلال تسهيل إمكانية إجراء الاختبارات الصحية اللازمة وكذلك الحصول على نصائح وتوصيات ذات مصداقية."

وكخلاصة، تقدم الشركة المذكورة الناشئة للمستخدمين حزمًا يمكنهم طلبها من خلال التطبيق الإلكتروني، وتجمع من جهة بين الاختبارات الصحية القابلة للإجراء منزليًا، ومن جهة أخرى تقديم النصائح الشخصية من قبل مدربين معتمدين في مجموعة متنوعة من المجالات مثل: نمط الحياة والتغذية وإرشادات الحركة.

حيث يقوم المستخدم بطلب حزمة ما، فيتم إرسال ممرض إلى منزله في الوقت الذي يختاره لإجراء فحص للدم. ثم يتم أخذ عينة الدم هذه إلى معامل التحليل التابعة للشركة، ويتم تحليل النتائج ومشاركتها مرة أخرى مع المستخدم، الذي يقوم بدوره بتلقي ملاحظات ونصائح ذات صلة بالموضوع من مدربي فاليو المعتمدين، والذين يكونون متاحين للاستشارة من قبل العميل. وتتضمن النتائج بيانات حيوية مثل مستويات الفيتامينات في الجسم وكذلك مستويات الحديد ومستويات الزنك وغير ذلك، مما يسمح للمدرب بالمساعدة وإعداد النصائح المخصصة لتلبية احتياجات جسم المستخدم.

وقد أشارت نادين إلى أن "الاختبار هو أحد أقوى الطرق لفهم ما يحدث داخل جسمك، حيث أن الأمر يتعلق في حقيقة الأمر بأخذ زمام السيطرة على بياناتك ومن ثم على جسمك وفهمه جيدًا".

الطريق من المرض إلى الوعي

عندما وجد المؤسسان الشريكان نادين كاراداج وسانديب ساهني نفسيهما يعانيان من أعراض صحية وحالات طبية صعبة، كانا في حيرة من أمرهما عندما تعلق الأمر بالحصول على المشورة الطبية الصحيحة، وتغيير نمط الحياة. 

ولقد تغيرت الأمور جذريًا عندما التقت نادين بجامي ريتشاردز، أخصائي التغذية في المملكة المتحدة وأخصائي المناعة النفسية والعصبية (وهو الآن رئيس قسم التعافي في شركة فاليو) والذي ساعد نادين في تحديد سبب حالتها، ألا وهو: الإجهاد. فمن خلال العمل مع جامي على نظامها الغذائي، وتنفسها، ونظام تمارينها الرياضية، ودورة مغذيات مكملة، تمكنت نادين من استعادة السيطرة على صحتها.

تقول نادين متذكرة هذه التجربة: "عملت لمدة عامين مع جامي". "وقد انتقلت من مرحلة الحاجة لتلقي العلاج المكثف إلى تسلق الجبال في قيرغيزستان".

وبعد أن قامت نادين بتعريف سانديب على جامي، فقد استطاع هو الآخر تحصيل نتائج مماثلة معه. وفي النهاية، أدرك كل من نادين وسانديب أن هناك "فجوة في السوق" عندما يتعلق الأمر بالعافية.

صرحت نادين: "عندما تكون مريضًا، تذهب إلى الطبيب ويشخصك ويعطيك بعض الأدوية، ولكن لا توجد خيارات ملائمة أو موثوقة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالعافية".

ومن ثم فقد توجه الشريكان المؤسسان، بعد أن استعادا عافيتهما، للعمل على إنشاء ما أصبح لاحقًا يدعى بشركة "فاليو"، حيث تم إطلاق الشركة في نهاية المطاف أثناء الوباء. ونجح الثنائي في بناء منتج أولي مبسط، وجمع 3 ملايين دولار في جولة التأسيس.

وقد قالت نادين: "أردنا بالفعل إطلاق شيء نثق به ليس فقط كفكرة عمل، بل كشيء نحن حقًا متحمسان له".

التعافي ليس ترفًا

تقليديًا، كان التعافي مقتصرًا على النخبة في المقام الأول، حيث كان يتم عرض ذلك في المنتجعات والملاذات الفاخرة مقابل أثمان باهظة.

وقد أوضحت نادين"هذا هو السياق الذي رغبنا نحن كشركة فاليو تغييره. فالتعافي لا ينبغي أن يكون ترفًا، بل يجب أن يكون شيئًا في متناول أي شخص يتطلع إلى الاعتناء بصحته".

وبالإضافة إلى جهود شركة فاليو، شهدنا بعض التغيير في هذه الصناعة مؤخرًا، حيث استغل مؤثرو الوسائط الاجتماعية نفوذهم لرفع مستوى الوعي حول هذا الموضوع. ولكن ينبغي التحذير بأنه غالبًا قد يكون من الصعب التأكد من المؤهلات الطبية لشخصيات الإنترنت أو صدقها عندما يتعلق الأمر بمنتج معين، نظرًا لانتشار التسويق عبر المؤثرين. ومن ناحية أخرى، فقد رأينا المستشفيات تحاول الدخول إلى هذا المجال، ولكن نظرًا للقلق الذي غالبًا ما يصاحب زيارة المستشفيات أو العيادات، فقد لا يميل العملاء دائمًا إلى الإحالة إلى هذه الجهات للحصول على الدعم من أجل عافيتهم.

وبشكل عام، فإن هذا يضع شركة فاليو في وضع مثير للاهتمام. كونها ليست مستشفى ولا ملاذًا فاخرًا باهظ الثمن، فالشركة قادرة على توفير وإتاحة خدمة ما زالت جديدة وبعيدة المنال بالنسبة لمعظم سكان الإمارات العربية المتحدة والشرق الأوسط.

وقد أشارت نادين إلى أن "التكنولوجيا التي تدور حول التعافي تشمل أكثر بكثير من مجرد أجهزة يمكن ارتداؤها لمتابعة خطواتك ونومك، بل يتعلق جزء كبير من رحلتنا بنشر الوعي بالصحة في المنطقة وكيف يمكنك استخدام الاختبارات لتحسين نمط حياتك بشكل عام". واستطردت "نحن لا نشخص، ولا نصف أي أدوية، فنحن مجرد مكملون للرعاية الصحية".

"نحن متحمسون لتقديم هذا إلى الشرق الأوسط."

تفشي نقص فيتامين (د) ومؤشرات أخرى

إن أحد المؤشرات العامة التي لاحظتها شركة فاليو بين نتائج مستخدميها هو نقص فيتامين D، والذي يمكن أن يكون بمثابة صدمة بالنظر إلى أن الإمارات العربية المتحدة هي دولة صحراوية مشمسة. ومع ذلك، تؤكد دراسة حديثة صدرت عام 2019 هذه النتائج مشيرة إلى أن "مناطق الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا لديها معدل مرتفع جدًا من نقص فيتامين (د) ، والذي يصل إلى 81 في المائة بين مختلف الفئات العمرية."

وقد تبدو المشاكل مثل هذه بسيطة في البداية، ولكنها في الواقع قد تؤثر بشكل خطير على مستويات طاقة الشخص وحالته العقلية. ويعد حل هذه المسائل من صميم عمل شركة فاليو، والذي يتم من خلال تقديم حلول شاملة وأساليب ومقاربات لتحسين الرفاهية العقلية والبدنية.

وقد كان سوء استخدام المكملات الغذائية مشكلة أخرى قامت شركة فاليو بتحديدها.

"أحد الأشياء التي أدركناها هي أن الناس إما يعانون من نقص في معدن أو عنصر غذائي معين، أو الإفراط في تناول المكملات، أو استخدام مكملات غذائية منخفضة الجودة. فالكثير من المكملات الغذائية التي يتناولها الأشخاص لا تلبي احتياجاتهم البدنية أو أنها ليست مطلوبة أساسًا".

"الطريقة الوحيدة التي يمكنك من خلالها معرفة ما إذا كنت بحاجة إلى مكمل غذائي هي إجراء فحوصات طبية بانتظام".

وكخطوة قادمة، ستواصل شركة فاليو رفع مستوى الوعي حول قضايا مثل هذه وغيرها. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، بالنظر إلى ضخ السيولة بالشركة مؤخرًا، فإنها تتطلع إلى التوسع: أولاً إلى المملكة العربية السعودية، ثم تليها باقي دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، وأخيرًا دول منطقة الشرق الأوسط.

قد يعجبك ايضا