Why is everybody building a super app?

Why is everybody building a super app? 

By: Mark Anthony Karam

The MENA region is having its super app moment, and leading the charge has been none other than unicorn Careem, which has pivoted from simply being a ride-hailing company into something more. Now, everybody wants to build a super app.

Today, it has become possible to message a friend to schedule a meetup, book a restaurant or movie, and order a ride, all from within one single app - which also happens to allow you to pay for every transaction you would come across in this outing.

This is the reality enabled by super apps, which have taken Asia by storm. Slowly but surely, we have seen this business model make its way to the Middle East and North Africa, and players both big and small are stepping in to make users’ lives easier. 

The dawn of the super app

When Apple launched the App Store in 2008, users were treated to a sea of new apps serving a multitude of purposes. Over the years, as we’ve gotten more used to relying on apps for work, play, and everything in between, the scope of services offered by these programs only expanded - as did our reliance on our smartphones for everyday tasks - so much so that it has become unwieldy to navigate between a dozen or so apps to get through the day. 

Enter the super app, a conglomerate application that combines multiple app functionalities into one, essentially simplifying the user experience of getting things done on our smartphones. It becomes even more enticing when a user realises that they won’t have to fiddle with sign-up forms and other registration processes, since their personal data is often already saved on these apps for their original purpose. 

For example, it’s exceedingly easy to avail of any of Careem’s super app services since users of the app had already registered to ride-hail in the first place. This natural transition from one service to a multitude is part of the allure of a super app. 

The poster boy for super apps has unquestionably been WeChat, a Chinese platform that began life as a messaging and photo-sharing app in 2011, only to expand and introduce new features over the years like payments, e-commerce, gaming, booking, translation, real estate listings, and so much more. The numbers don’t lie either: WeChat had over 1.2 billion active users and earned over $16.5 billion in revenue in 2020. To this day, it is the number one app in China - a fact that has not been lost on regional entrepreneurs and investors.

wechat china hospital self-payment

Customers line up in Shanghai's Minhang District Central Hospital at a Self Registration and Payment Area, where WeChat and Alipay are accepted.

Consider also that super apps provide businesses with multiple revenue streams generated from a variety of industries (leisure, hospitality, mobility, banking, etc.), instead of just one. Given how the pandemic had a devastating effect on certain sectors over others, it makes sense why businesses are spreading their risk this way, especially since they often already have the user data and infrastructure for it.

Is the MENA market ready for super apps?

With this in mind, it starts to make sense why everybody is jumping on the super app bandwagon. 

However, in the MENA region, with only 60 per cent of internet access being done through the use of smartphones, the smallest share of access worldwide in comparison to other regions, one could be sceptical about the success of super apps. After all, while having a high smartphone penetration, MENA consumers have historically been non-trusting of online payments, opting to use cash for most e-commerce transactions. How, then, could you convince them to use the services of a super app and to transact online? 

Fortunately for online apps and vendors, the COVID-19 pandemic and stay-at-home orders in effect throughout most of 2020 have forever shifted consumer behaviour within the region. Trust in online payments has improved, as has adoption, and these trends are expected to be permanent. After all, Careem saw fit to debut its super app at the height of the pandemic during June 2020, and has since reported impressive growth and demand for its newly-added services.

Emerging regional super apps

A Careem social media promotional post for its super app in 2020.

Today, Careem is at the forefront of super apps, offering everything from payments and digital wallets, to food delivery and cleaning services, as well as car rentals. While some services like food delivery are handled in-house by company staff, others like cleaning and car rental services have been made available in collaboration with third-parties - JustLife (previously JustMop) and Swapp respectively. 

Aside from the big players like Careem, Uber, and noon, new competitors are starting to emerge with their own take on this model. Entrepreneur Jaideep Dhanoa told us that his latest venture, electric mobility startup FENIX, was founded with the goal of becoming a super app from day one. Nearly two years after launch, the Abu Dhabi company has grown to offer payment and grocery delivery services, and has most recently announced a personal shopper feature. Electric mobility, Dhanoa explained, is used as the launchpad helping drive adoption to their platform, while more services continue to be added. 

Foregoing a staggered approach, the Tawasal Superapp has gone all out from day one. Beginning operations last month, the startup is closely emulating the WeChat model, launching with a slew of services that mirror those offered by the Chinese giant.

Over in Egypt, MNT-Halan, originally a ride-hailing startup, is focusing its super app efforts on financial services and inclusion. This is a common theme, in fact, that runs across most of these companies. Given the high percentage of unbanked individuals currently present in the region, and the relatively low volume of online transactions, most emerging super apps focus their initial expansion efforts on encouraging online finance to power a new generation of consumers. 

“Super apps enable previously unbanked people to do financial transactions and become part of a wider financial ecosystem,” a Mastercard study recently highlighted. 

Payment services then can serve as a gateway to the rest of a super app’s services. 

Challenges facing super apps…

While super apps have seen tremendous success in relatively homogenous territories (in terms of economy) like China, India and Vietnam, the same can’t be said for a diverse region like the Middle East and Africa.

“The MEA region consists of more than 60 countries with over 1,000 languages and divergent economic, policy and cultural environments,” the Mastercard study noted. “Although the African Union and Gulf Cooperation Council are fostering the harmonisation of industrial and data policies, for super-apps seeking to further their reach, the current fragmentation presents a significant operational, legal and financial burden.”

The report also throws the spotlight on governments’ role. As the biggest spenders in the region, government choices over which direction to orient industrial and data policies will be key. Beyond the policies of individual governments, the harmonisation of policies across the region is expected to be the core strategic choice that will determine the future of super apps.

The report noted that one of the reasons why super apps don’t succeed in a country like the US is due to the market-led nature of its economy, where fiercely competitive private companies and strict antitrust and data protection laws have resulted in a different ecosystem, from which the emergence of dominant super apps has not occurred. 

In China, apps such as WhatsApp and Twitter are blocked which means that a company with a strong super app business model like WeChat can come in to fill the market gap left by their absence. China’s state-led development of the economy also creates an entirely different landscape for business, innovation and success.

…and the present opportunity

Could MENA be facing a similar situation as the US? 

It’s possible, but not likely. Firstly, while competition is certainly fierce here, the existing business landscape is quite different. Regional governments have taken a proactive approach to nurturing the business ecosystem, especially in the GCC, in hopes of creating an innovation-led, knowledge-based economy. This means that the floor is open for any company, big or small, to deliver a super app that solves user needs. 

Secondly, in regards to the threat of American tech giants like Meta or Google stifling a regional upstart, the Careem-Uber saga proved that massive capital and endless resources are not enough to succeed here. Careem, as a homebred ride-hailing app, was able to compete with and outdo its Western multibillion-dollar rival, so much so that it was eventually acquired by said rival. This was possible because Careem understood the culture and tendencies of regional riders, adapting their services to meet their needs. Careem put emphasis on their willingness to accept cash in exchange for rides, for example, at a time when Uber was more reliant on card transactions, alienating MENA users. 

Today, the greatest opportunity for super app success lies with a company that understands the idiosyncrasies of the region, as Careem once displayed. A melting pot of different cultures, languages and expectations, navigating MENA as an all-encompassing super app is no easy feat, but it is doable. 

“The development and future trajectory of super apps is highly contextual to the geography and location in which they develop,” said Walter Pasquarelli, Research Manager, Tech & Society, Economist Impact, commenting on the Mastercard report. “Some of the ripe sectors in MEA who could throw up players to become super apps are insurance across the GCC, the second-hand car market, online property brokers in the UAE, and digital remittances across Sub-Saharan Africa.”

So far, Careem is leading the charge - at least in the GCC. Given its existing and massive user database, and people’s familiarity with the app, the tech unicorn is well-positioned to capitalise on its dominance to become the go-to super app of the region. 

However, there is plenty of competition to go around, and it will be interesting to observe who the runner-up in this race towards ubiquity will be. 

You might also like

لماذا يقوم الجميع بإنشاء تطبيقات فائقة؟

لماذا يقوم الجميع بإنشاء تطبيقات فائقة؟ 

Mark Anthony Karam

تمر منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا بلحظة تطبيقاتها الفائقة، حيث أن الريادة في هذا الأمر كانت تقودها الشركة اليونيكورن (أي: الشركة الناشئة التي تجاوز تقييمها البليون دولار) كريم، التي تحولت من كونها مجرد شركة لخدمات نقل الركاب إلى شيء آخر. واليوم، يريد الجميع إنشاء تطبيقات فائقة.

في عام 2022، أصبح من الممكن مراسلة صديق لجدولة لقاء، أو الحجز في مطعم أو لمشاهدة فيلم، وطلب رحلة، كل ذلك من داخل تطبيق واحد، يتيح لك أيضًا سداد مقابل كل معاملة قـد تقوم بها خلال هذه الجولة.

هـذا هو الواقع الذي جعلته التطبيقات الفائقة ممكنًا، حيث اجتاحت تلك التطبيقات قارة آسيا مثل العاصفة. كـما رأينا نموذج العمل هذا يشـق طريقه، ببطء ولكن بثبات، إلى منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، حيث يتدخل اللاعبون الكبار والصغار لتسهيل حياة المستخدمين.

بزوغ فجر التطبيقات الفائقة

عندما أطلقت شركة أبل متجر تطبيقاتها في عام 2008، تم غمر المستخدمين في بحر من التطبيقات الجديدة التي تخدم العديد من الأغراض. ونظرًا لأننا اعتدنا أكثر - على مر السنين - على الاعتماد على التطبيقات في العمل واللعب وكل ما بينهما من أشياء، فقد توسع نطاق الخدمات التي تقدمها هذه البرامج بما يشبه فقط زيادة اعتمادنا على هواتفنا الذكية في المهام اليومية بدرجة كبيرة الى الحد الذي أصبح معه من الصعب التنقل بين عشرات التطبيقات أو نحو ذلك لتستمر طوال اليوم.

وهنا يدخل التطبيق الفائق، وهو تطبيق عنقودي يجمع وظائف متعددة يمكن تنفيذها ضمن تطبيق واحد، مما يبسط بشكل أساسي تجربة المستخدم لإنجاز المهام على هواتفنا الذكية. ويصبح الأمر أكثر إغراء عندما يدرك المستخدم أنه لن يضطر إلى العبث بنماذج الاشتراك وعمليات التسجيل الأخرى، نظرًا لأن بياناته الشخصية غالبًا ما يتم حفظها بالفعل على هذه التطبيقات من أجل الأغراض الأصلية التي يرمي إليها.

وعلى سبيل المثال، فمن السهل جدًا الاستفادة من أي من خدمات التطبيقات الفائقة لشركة Careem، نظرًا لأن مستخدمي التطبيق قـد سجلوا بالفعل للحصول على تلك الخدمات في المقام الأول. وهذا الانتقال الطبيعي من خدمة واحدة إلى خدمات متعددة هو جزء من جاذبية التطبيق الفائق.

ومما لا شك فيه أن أكثر من يجسد موضوع التطبيقات الفائقة هي شركة WeChat، وهي منصة صينية بدأت مشوارها في عام 2011 كتطبيق للمراسلة ومشاركة الصور، فقط لتوسيع وتقديم ميزات جديدة على مر السنين مثل المدفوعات والتجارة الإلكترونية والألعاب والحجز والترجمة وقوائم العقارات وغير ذلك الكثير. والأرقام أيضًا لا تكـذب: فقد كان لـدى شركة WeChat أكثر من 1.2 مليار مستخدم نشط وحققت إيرادات تزيد عن 16.5 مليار دولار في عام 2020. حيث تعد التطبيق رقم واحد في الصين حتى يومنا هـذا، وهي حقيقة لم تغب عن  بال رواد الأعمال والمستثمرين الإقليميين.

عملاء مصطفون في مستشفى منطقة مينهانج المركزي في شنغهاي في منطقة التسجيل والدفع الذاتي، حيث يتم قبول WeChat  و Alipay.

ضع في اعتبارك أيضًا أن التطبيقات الفائقة توفر للشركات تدفقات متعددة من الإيرادات ناتجة عن مجموعة متنوعة من المجالات مثل (الترفيه، والضيافة، والنقل، والخدمات المصرفية، وما إلى ذلك)، بدلًا من مجال واحد فقط. وبالنظر إلى التأثير المدمر للوباء على قطاعات معينة أكثر من غيرها، فمن المنطقي تفهم سبب قيام الشركات بتوزيع مخاطرها بهذه الطريقة، خاصة وأنه غالبًا ما يكون لديها بالفعل بيانات المستخدمين والبنية التحتية اللازمة لتوزيع تلك المخاطر.

هل يعتبر سوق الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا جاهزًا للتطبيقات الفائقة؟

مع وضع هـذا الأمر في الاعتبار، يبدأ منطقيًا التساؤل حول أسباب هرولة الجميع إلى عربة التطبيقات الفائقة.

لكن حيث أن نسبة الوصول إلى الإنترنت من خلال استخدام الهواتف الذكية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا هي فقط 60%، وهي أصغر نسبة وصول من نوعها في العالم مقارنة بالمناطق الأخرى، فقد شك في نجاح التطبيقات الفائقة في هذه المنطقة تحديدًا. وبعـد كل شيء، فعلى الرغم من انتشار الهواتف الذكية بشكل كبير، إلا أن المستهلكين في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا كانوا تاريخيًا لا يثقون في المدفوعات التي تتم عبر الإنترنت، واختاروا السداد باستخدام النقود في معظم معاملات التجارة الإلكترونية. إذن، كيف يمكنك إقناعهم باستخدام خدمات التطبيقات الفائقة وإجراء المعاملات عبر الإنترنت؟

لحسن حظ التطبيقات والبائعين عبر الإنترنت، فقد أدى انتشار جائحة كوفيد 19 والطلبات من المنازل والتي ظلت سارية طوال معظم عام 2020 إلى تغيير سلوك المستهلكين إلى الأبد داخل المنطقة. حيث تحسنت الثقة في إجراءات السداد عبر الإنترنت، وكذلك التبني، حيث من المتوقع أن تظل هذه الاتجاهات دائمة. وقد ارتأت شركة Careem، بعد كل ما حدث، أنه من المناسب إطلاق تطبيقها الفائق في ذروة الوباء خلال يونيو 2020، ومنذ ذلك الحين أبلغت الشركة عن نمو وطلبات مذهلة على خدماتها المضافة حديثًا.

التطبيقات الفائقة الناشئة في الإقليم

منشور ترويجي من شركة Careem على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي لتطبيقها المتميز في عام 2020

تعتبر Careem اليوم في مقدمة التطبيقات الفائقة، حيث تقوم بتقديم كل شيء، من المدفوعات والمحافظ الرقمية، إلى خدمات توصيل الطعام والتنظيف، فضلًا عن تأجير السيارات. بينما يتم التعامل مع بعض الخدمات مثل توصيل الطعام داخليًا من قبل موظفي الشركة، وقد تم توفير خدمات أخرى مثل خدمات التنظيف وتأجير السيارات بالتعاون مع جهات خارجية مثل: JustLife (والتي كانت تعرف سابقًا بــJustMop) وSwap، على التوالي.

وبعيدًا عن اللاعبين الكبار مثل Careem وUber وNoon، فقد بـدأ منافسون جدد في الظهور بأسلوبهم الخاص في هذا السياق. فقد أخبرنا رائد الأعمال جايديب دانوا أن مشروعه الأخير، المتمثل في شركة فينيكس الناشئة للنقل الكهربائي، تم تأسيسه بهدف أن يصبح تطبيقًا رائعًا منذ اليوم الأول. وبعد ما يقرب من عامين من إطلاقها، نمت الشركة التي يقع مقرها بأبوظبي وتقوم بتوفير خدمات الدفع وتوصيل مواد البقالة، حيث أعلنت مؤخرًا عن ميزة المتسوق الشخصي. وقد أوضح دانوا أن النقل الكهربائي هو منصة الإطلاق التي يتم استخدامها لمساعدة الناس على تبني منصتهم، في الوقت الذي يستمر إضافة المزيد من الخدمات.

متخلية عن النهج المتدرج، فقد انطلق تطبيق Tawasal الفائق بضربة واحدة منذ اليوم الأول. ومع بدء العمليات الشهر الماضي، تقوم الشركة الناشئة عن كثب بمحاكاة نموذج WeChat، حيث انطلقت بعدد كبير من الخدمات على غرار ما تقدمه الشركة الصينية العملاقة.

وفي مصر، تركز MNT-Halan، وهي في الأصل شركة ناشئة لخدمات تأجير السيارات، جهودها في مجال التطبيقات الفائقة على الخدمات المالية ومشتملاتها. وفي واقع الأمر، فإن هذا الموضوع مشترك بين معظم الشركات المماثلة. ونظرًا للنسبة العالية من الأفراد غير المتعاملين مع البنوك والموجودين حاليًا في المنطقة، والحجم المنخفض نسبيًا للمعاملات عبر الإنترنت، تركز معظم التطبيقات الفائقة الناشئة حديثًا جهودها الأولية للتوسع على تشجيع التمويل عبر الإنترنت لتمكين جيل جديد من المستهلكين.

وقد أبرزت دراسة أجرتها مؤخرًا شركة Mastercard أن "التطبيقات الفائقة تمكن الأشخاص الذين لم يتعاملوا مع البنوك في السابق من إجراء معاملات مالية وأن يصبحوا جزءًا من نظام بيئي مالي أوسع".

حيث يمكن لخدمات الدفع بعد ذلك أن تكون بمثابة بوابة لبقية خدمات التطبيقات الفائقة.

التحديات التي تواجه التطبيقات الفائقة...

على الرغم مما شهدته التطبيقات الفائقة من نجاح هائل في مناطق متجانسة نسبيًا (من حيث الاقتصاد) مثل الصين والهند وفيتنام، فلا يمكن قول الشيء نفسه عن منطقة متنوعة مثل الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا.

حيث أشارت دراسة MasterCard إلى أن "منطقة الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا تتكون من أكثر من 60 دولة بها أكثر من 1000 لغة، كما أن فيها بيئات اقتصادية وسياسية وثقافية متباينة". وعلى الرغم من أن الاتحاد الأفريقي ومجلس التعاون الخليجي يعززان تنسيق السياسات الصناعية والبيانات، بالنسبة للتطبيقات الفائقة التي يسعىان إلى زيادة انتشارها، فإن التجزئة الحالية تمثل عبئًا تشغيليًا وقانونيًا وماليًا كبيرًا."

كما يسلط التقرير الضوء على دور الحكومات. فباعتبارها أكبر من يقوم بالإنفاق في المنطقة، ستكون اختيارات الحكومة بشأن الاتجاه الذي يجب أن توجه إليه السياسات الصناعية والبيانات أساسية. وبخلاف السياسات الفردية لكل حكومة على حدة، من المتوقع أن يكون تنسيق السياسات عبر المنطقة هو الخيار الاستراتيجي الأساسي الذي سيحدد مستقبل التطبيقات الفائقة.

وقد أشار التقرير إلى أن أحد أسباب عدم نجاح التطبيقات الفائقة في بلـد مثل الولايات المتحدة يرجع إلى طبيعة اقتصادها الذي يقـوده السوق، حيث تسببت الشركات الخاصة شديدة التنافسية والقوانين الصارمة لمكافحة الاحتكار وحماية البيانات في اختلاف النظام البيئي، مما لم يؤدي معه ذلك الى ظهور التطبيقات الفائقة المهيمنة.

وفي الصين، يتم حظر تطبيقات مثل WhatsApp وTwitter، مما يعني أن الشركة التي لديها نموذج أعمال قوي للتطبيقات الفائقة مثل WeChat، يمكن أن تأتي لملء فجوة السوق التي يتركها غياب التطبيقات المذكورة. كما أن التنمية الاقتصادية التي تقودها الدولة في الصين تخلق أيضًا مشهدًا مختلفًا تمامًا للأعمال والابتكار والنجاح.

 …والفرصة الحالية 

هل يمكن أن تواجه منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا وضعًا مشابهًا للولايات المتحدة؟

إن ذلك ممكن، لكنه ليس مرجحًا. أولًا، المنافسة هنا شرسة بالتأكيد، إلا أن مشهد الأعمال الحالي هنا مختلف تمامًا. حيث اتبعت الحكومات الإقليمية نهجًا استباقيًا لرعاية النظام البيئي للأعمال، وخاصة في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، على أمل إنشاء اقتصاد قائم على المعرفة والابتكار. وهذا يعني أن الأرضية مفتوحة لأي شركة، كبيرة كانت أم صغيرة، لتقديم تطبيقات متميزة تلبي احتياجات المستخدمين.

وثانيًا، فيما يتعلق بالتهديد الذي يمثله عمالقة التكنولوجيا الأمريكيون مثل Meta أو Google والذين يخنقون أية شركة إقليمية ناشئة، فقد أثبتت ملحمة Careem-Uber أن رأس المال الهائل والموارد اللانهائية ليست عوامل كافية للنجاح هنا. فــCareem، باعتباره تطبيقًا محليًا لطلب سيارات الأجرة، كان قادرًا على التنافس مع نظيره الغربي الذي بلغت قيمته مليارات الدولارات والتغلب عليه، لدرجة أنه تم الاستحواذ عليها في النهاية من قبل المنافس المذكور. 

وقد كان هـذا ممكنًا لأن Careem فهمت ثقافة واتجاهات الركاب الإقليميين، حيث قامت بتكييف خدماتها لتلبية احتياجاتهم. وعلى سبيل المثال، ركزت Careem على استعدادها لقبول الأوراق النقدية كأثمان لمشاوير الركاب، في وقت كانت شركة أوبر تعتمد فيه بشكل أكبر على معاملات البطاقات، مما أدى إلى نفور مستخدمي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا.

واليوم، تكمن أعظم فرصة لنجاح التطبيقات الفائقة في الشركة التي تتفهم خصوصيات المنطقة، كما أظهرت ذلك شركة Careem ذات مرة. بالإبحار من خلال تطبيق فائق شامل عبر بوتقة تنصهر فيها مختلف الثقافات واللغات والتوقعات، كمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، ليس بالأمر السهل، لكنه مع ذلك ممكن.

قال والتر باسكاريلي، مدير الأبحاث، التكنولوجيا والمجتمع، في الإيكونوميست إمباكت، معلقًا على تقرير ماستركارد: "يعتبر تطوير التطبيقات الفائقة ومسارها المستقبلي متعلقًا بسياق الموقع الجغرافي والمكان الذي تتطور فيه". و"إن بعض القطاعات الناضجة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وإفريقيا التي يمكنها إيجاد لاعبين يمكن لهم أن يصبحوا تطبيقات فائقة تكمن في التأمين في جميع أنحاء دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، وفي سوق السيارات المستعملة، وفي وسطاء العقارات عبر الإنترنت في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وفي التحويلات الرقمية جنوب الصحراء الكبرى عبر أفريقيا."

وتتصدر شركة Careem حتى الآن زمام القيادة في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي على الأقل. فنظرًا لما تتمتع به من قاعدة بيانات حالية هائلة للمستخدمين، ومعرفة الناس بالتطبيق الخاص بها، فإن شركة التكنولوجيا المذكورة في وضع جيد للاستفادة من هيمنتها لتصبح في طريقها لتكون التطبيق الفائق في المنطقة.

ومع ذلك، فهناك الكثير من المنافسة للتغلب عليها، وسيكون من المثير للاهتمام متابعة من سيكون الوصيف في هذا السباق نحو الانتشار في كل مكان.

قد يعجبك ايضا