Looking to set up a travel or logistics business in Abu Dhabi? ADAFZ is where you want to be

Looking to set up a travel or logistics business in Abu Dhabi? ADAFZ is where you want to be 

By: Mark Anthony Karam
Interviews

Abu Dhabi Airports Free Zone offers competitive business set-up incentives and a strategic location. It is currently providing a 50% discount on business license registration and renewal fees, and a discount ranging between 30-60% on business setup fees, in addition to providing a one-stop shop for all of its services. 

Read on to learn more.

Deciding on where to set up your business is one of the biggest decisions a business owner has to make, and while the UAE offers many options, the best location is usually the one that offers ease of doing business and quick access to the facilities required for operational success. The emirate of Abu Dhabi in the UAE has streamlined the process significantly in recent years, while facilitating streamlined regulations and massively reducing red tape to nurture a conducive business environment.

Thankfully, if you are thinking about launching in Abu Dhabi, there is a healthy selection of locations to choose from. Prime among these are free trade zones (free zone, or FZ) that offer businesses competitive set-up packages, attractive incentives, and reduced costs and taxes, in addition to other benefits. 

Among the five free zones present in the emirate of Abu Dhabi, the Abu Dhabi Airports Free Zone (ADAFZ) is the best destination for businesses involved directly or indirectly with the sectors of travel, tourism, aviation and logistics. ADAFZ is the commercial arm of Abu Dhabi Airports, and its jurisdiction spreads across more than 88 km2 around three of the emirate’s airports, covering many commercial districts which include the Logistics Park, Business Park, Destination Village, Al Falah District and Airport City. 

The Abu Dhabi SME Hub spoke with Adel Al Taheri, VP Free Zone Sales & Services, to learn more about ADAFZ’s offerings and why entrepreneurs should make it the destination for their next venture.

Adel Al Taheri, VP Free Zone Sales & Services, Abu Dhabi Airports Free Zone ADAFZ

Services and incentives offered

As with most free zones, ADAFZ’s services are tailored to provide an operational and business advantage to businesses within a specific industry or industries, which in this case encompasses aviation, travel, and logistics.

“We understand that time is valuable for ADAFZ’s customers, which include SMEs, startups, multinationals, and foreign direct investors. So, we put a lot of effort into absorbing time-consuming activities and processes to make their lives easier and to allow them to focus on what’s important to them: their business. The full spectrum of Free Zone services, including company registration, licensing, leasing, rapid visa processing for employees, and many other high-quality services, are literally under one roof and available to them,” Al Taheri explained.

“On offer is a wide range of facilities and infrastructure, from warehousing units, commercial offices, and furnished facilities within a fully serviced business centre, to plots of land for development and a range of essential ancillary amenities to serve everyday business needs. Given ADAFZ’s strategic location, the real estate options available are also unique in that they offer quick access to major Abu Dhabi airports and import/export hubs due to their proximity.”

What kind of businesses can you expect to see in ADAFZ?

ADAFZ Logistics Park

Businesses operating in aviation, travel and logistics are ADAFZ’s top customers; companies like Etihad Airways, DHL Express, FedEx and Aramex have all taken advantage of being located at ADAFZ as they recognise huge benefits of being in this unique location, Al Taheri explained. 

But it’s not just the big brands that choose ADAFZ as their home; jewellery stores, restaurants, banks, exchange shops, and bakeries, among others, provide a support community offering a full range of services to tenants and day visitors of the free zone. Al Taheri then elaborated further, adding that the presence of these B2C stores is also due to the free zone being a host to duty-free shopping areas, which attract both SMEs and multinational franchises from all industries.

Why should you set up your business in ADAFZ?

When asked why a business should consider setting up in ADAFZ, Al Taheri cited the numerous packages, cost savings, operating models and tax exemptions entrepreneurs can avail. For startups and SMEs short on capital, the free zone offers affordable Flexi Desk subscriptions within its co-working spaces, costing AED 4,000 annually. Couple this with the price of a trade license, also AED 4,000, and you are effectively "operating at the airport, which is a prime location, while being close to your customers” for great value. 

But that is just where the savings start. As a business registered in a free zone like ADAFZ, you are exempt from paying the 5% customs duty on imported goods, as well as the mandatory 5% VAT charge in certain districts. Additionally, you are future-proofing the profitability of your business, as the 9% corporate tax that will go into effect next year in the UAE does not apply to free zone companies, Al Taheri reminded. 

These savings, together with the strategic location on offer, make ADAFZ an ideal destination for businesses that can capitalise on these benefits and opportunities.

Pandemic impact and growth plans

ADAFZ offices

While the pandemic shook the travel and aviation industry to its core in 2020, ADAFZ companies were able to brave this storm thanks to timely discounts and price cuts, as well as a cooperative relationship with the administration of the free zone that supported businesses in their time of need. This, Al Taheri noted, helped many companies operating within their free zone to stay afloat, while also attracting others to join even during these tough times. 

Moving forward, ADAFZ is focusing its efforts on upgrading some of its facilities, particularly those within the logistics sphere. To increase capacity and absorb the rising demand for office spaces, ADAFZ is in the process of constructing additional commercial buildings.

You can find more information about setting up in the Abu Dhabi Airports Free Zone here.

You might also like

هل تريد أن تؤسس شركة سفر أو أعمال لوجستية؟ إن المنطقة الحرة لمطارات أبوظبي هـي المكان الذي ينبغي أن تتواجد فيه

هل تريد أن تؤسس شركة سفر أو أعمال لوجستية؟ إن المنطقة الحرة لمطارات أبوظبي هـي المكان الذي ينبغي أن تتواجد فيه 

مارك انتوني كرم
مقابلات

تقدم المنطقة الحرة لمطارات أبوظبي حوافز تنافسية لتأسيس الأعمال وموقعًا استراتيجيًا. كما تقدم حاليًا خصمًا بنسبة 50٪ على رسوم تسجيل وتجديد الرخص التجارية، وآخر يتراوح بين 30-60٪ على رسوم تأسيس الأعمال، فضلًا عن توفير محطة واحدة لجميع خدماتها.

تابع القراءة لمعرفة المزيد.

يعد اتخاذ قرار بشأن مكان تأسيس أعمالك أحد أكبر القرارات التي يتعين على صاحب العـمل اتخاذها، ومع أن الإمارات العربية المتحـدة تقدم العـديد من الخيارات، فإن أفضل المواقع هي تلك التي عادة ما تتيح سـهولة ممارسة الأعمال والوصول السريع إلى المرافق اللازمة لنجاح التشغيل. وقد قامت إمارة أبوظبي في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بتنظيم هذه العملية بشكل كبير خلال السنوات الأخيرة وفي الوقت نفسه قامت بتبسيط اللوائح التنظيمية وتقليل الروتين بشكل كبير لاحتضان ورعاية بيئة أعمال مواتية.

ولحسن الحظ، فإنك إذا ما كنت تفكر في استهلال نشاطك بأبوظبي، فهناك تشكيلة جيدة من اختيارات المواقع. ومن أهم هـذه المناطق، مناطق التجارة الحرة (المنطقة الحرة، أو ما تعرف اختصارًا بالـFZ) التي تقدم للشركات حزم تأسيس تنافسية وحوافز جذابة وتكاليف وضرائب مخفضة، بالإضافة إلى مزايا أخرى.

ومن بين المناطق الحرة الخمس الموجودة في إمارة أبوظبي، تعـد المنطقة الحرة لمطارات أبوظبي (ADAFZ) الوجهة الأفضل للشركات المنخرطة بشكل مباشر أو غير مباشر في قطاعات السفر والسياحة والطيران والخدمات اللوجستية. حيث تعتبر ADAFZ بمثابة الـذراع التجارية لمطارات أبوظبي، والتي ينتشر نطاق اختصاصها القانوني عبر مساحة لأكثر من 88 كيلومتر مربع حول ثلاثة من مطارات الإمارة، وهو ما يغطي العديد من المناطق التجارية التي تشمل: مجمع الخدمات اللوجستية، ومجمع الأعمال، وقرية الوجهة، ومنطقة الفلاح، ومدينة المطار.
وقد تحدثت منصة أبوظبي للأعمال مع عادل الطاهري، نائب الرئيس الأول للمبيعات والخدمات في المنطقة الحرة، لمعرفة المزيد عن عروض  ADAFZ  ولماذا يتوجب على رواد الأعمال جعلها وجهتهم لمشاريعهم القادمة.

الخدمات والحوافز المقدمة

كما هـو الحال مع معظم المناطق الحرة، تم تصميم خدمات المنطقة الحرة لمطارات أبوظبي ADAFZ لتقديم ميزات تشغيلية وتجارية للشركات التي تعمل ضمن صناعة أو صناعات معينة والتي تشمل في حالتنا هذه: الطيران والسفر والخدمات اللوجستية.

وأوضح الطاهري قائلًا: "نحن نتفهم أن الوقت له قيمة كبيرة بالنسبة لعملاء ADAFZ، والذين يشملون: الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة والناشئة والشركات متعددة الجنسية والمستثمرين الأجانب المباشرين. ولذلك، فنحن نبذل الكثير من الجهد لاستيعاب الأنشطة والعمليات التي تستغرق وقتًا طويلًا لجعل حياتهم أسهل والسماح لهم بالتركيز على ما هو مهم بالنسبة إليهم والمتمثل في أعمالهم. حيث تتواجد المجموعة الكاملة لخدمات المنطقة الحرة، بما في ذلك تسجيل الشركات، والترخيص، والتأجير، والمعالجة السريعة لمعاملات تأشيرات الموظفين، والعديد من الخدمات الأخرى عالية الجودة، كلها متاحة لهم تحت سقف واحد".

"هناك مجموعة واسعة متوفرة من المرافق والبنى التحتية، من وحدات التخزين والمكاتب التجارية والمرافق المفروشة داخل مركز أعمال كامل الخدمات، إلى قطع أراضي للتطوير ومجموعة من وسائل الراحة الإضافية لتلبية احتياجات العمل اليومية. وبالنظر إلى الموقع الاستراتيجي لـADAFZ، فإن خيارات العقارات المتاحة تعتبر فريدة أيضًا من حيث أنها توفر وصولًا سريعًا إلى مطارات أبوظبي الرئيسية ومراكز الاستيراد/التصدير بسبب قربها".

ما نوع الأعمال التي تتوقع أن تراها في ADAFZ؟

تعتبر الشركات العاملة في مجال الطيران والسفر والخدمات اللوجستية من أكبر عملاء ADAFZ. وأوضح الطاهري أن شركات مثل الاتحاد للطيران، ودي إتش إل إكسبرس، وفيديكس، وأرامكس، استفادت جميعها من وجودها في المنطقة الحرة لمطارات أبوظبي، لأنها تدرك الفوائد الكبيرة لوجودها في هذا الموقع الفريد.

غير أن العلامات التجارية الكبرى ليست هي فقط من تختار ADAFZ كمقر لها؛ حيث تقوم متاجر المجوهرات والمطاعم والبنوك ومحلات الصرافة والمخابز، من بين وحدات أخرى، بتوفير مجتمع داعم يقدم مجموعة كاملة من الخدمات للمستأجرين وزوار النهار للمنطقة الحرة. ثم تحدث الطاهري بمزيد من التفصيل، مضيفًا بأن وجود متاجر الB2C هذه، يرجع أيضًا إلى أن المنطقة الحرة تستضيف مناطق التسوق المعفاة من الرسوم الجمركية، والتي تجتذب الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة والشركات متعددة الجنسية من جميع الصناعات.

لماذا يجب أن تؤسس أعمالك في ADAFZ؟

ولـدى سؤالـه عن سبب وجوب تفكير الشركات بالتأسيس في ADAFZ، أشار الطاهري إلى الحزم التجارية المتعددة والتوافير في التكاليف ونماذج التشغيل والإعفاءات الضريبية التي يمكن أن يستفيد منها رواد الأعمال. وأما بالنسبة للشركات الناشئة والصغيرة والمتوسطة التي تعاني من نقص في رأس المال، توفر المنطقة الحرة لها اشتراكات Flexi Desk (أو المكاتب المرنة) ميسورة التكلفة ضمن مساحات العمل المشتركة الخاصة بها، بتكلفة 4000 درهم إماراتي سنويًا. فإذا ما ربطت هذا بسعر الرخصة التجارية، وهو أيضًا 4000 درهم إماراتي، إذن فأنت تعمل بشكل فعال في المطار، وهو موقع رئيسي، وفي الوقت نفسه تكون قريبًا من عملائك، وكل ذلك لقاء سعر مناسب.

ولكن هـذا ما هـو إلا نقطة البداية لتوفير التكاليف. فبصفتك شركة مسجلة في منطقة حرة مثل ADAFZ، فأنت معفي من سداد رسوم جمركية بنسبة 5٪ على البضائع المستوردة، فضلًا عن ضريبة القيمة المضافة بنسبة 5٪ الإلزامية في مناطق معينة. وذكَّر الطاهري بأنه عليك، بالإضافة إلى ما تقدم، العمل على إثبات قابلية شركتك لتحقيق الربح مستقبلًا، نظرًا لأن الضريبة على الشركات بنسبة 9٪ والتي ستدخل حيز التنفيذ العام المقبل في الإمارات العربية المتحدة لا تنطبق على شركات المناطق الحرة. وبالتالي فإن هذه التوافير، بالإضافة إلى الموقع الاستراتيجي المعروض، من شأنها أن تجعل من المنطقة وجهة مثالية للشركات التي يمكنها الاستفادة من هـذه المزايا والفرص.

تأثير الجائحة وخطط النمو

في حين أن الوباء قد هز في الصميم صناعة السفر والطيران خلال عام 2020، إلا أن شركات المنطقة الحرة تمكنت من الصمود أمام هذه العاصفة وذلك بفضل تخفيضات الأسعار والخصومات الملائمة، هذا فضلًا عن العلاقة التعاونية مع إدارة المنطقة الحرة والتي قامت بتقديم الدعم للشركات وقت حاجتها. حيث أشار الطاهري إلى أن هذا الأمر قد ساعد العديد من الشركات العاملة ضمن حدود منطقتها الحرة على البقاء واقفة على قدميها، مع اجتذاب الآخرين للانضمام حتى خلال تلك الأوقات الصعبة.

وللمستقبل، فإن ADAFZ تركز جهودها على تحديث بعض مرافقها، لا سيما تلك الموجودة ضمن النطاق اللوجستي. ولزيادة السعة واستيعاب الطلب المتزايد على المساحات المكتبية، فإن المنطقة الحرة لمطارات أبوظبي هي حاليًا بصدد بناء مبان تجارية إضافية.

هذا ويمكنك العثور على المزيد من المعلومات بشأن تأسيس الشركات في المنطقة الحرة لمطارات أبوظبي هنا.

قد يعجبك ايضا