Advertisers: In 2021, mobile devices are the undisputed place to be

Advertisers: In 2021, mobile devices are the undisputed place to be 

By: Mark Anthony Karam
Interviews

In 2020, total mobile ad spending worldwide reached $276.21 billion, with a growth rate of 18.3% from 2019, mostly thanks to the pandemic that had billions stuck at home. 

While mobile devices have been a venerable, nuanced advertising platform for well over a decade now, 2020 saw advertisers finally settle any doubts about the medium. With stay-at-home orders in effect, mobile devices quickly rose in importance and demanded immediate attention from advertisers worldwide. From increased usage hours scrolling through social media, streaming videos, or playing games, mobile devices offered an advertising opportunity like never before. 

Hoping to learn more about the medium and the trends governing its present and future, the Abu Dhabi SME Hub spoke with Warrick Billingham, General Manager - Brand, EMEA & LATAM at AdColony, an international mobile advertising platform servicing advertisers and publishers like Coca-Cola, Amazon, and BMW, with a reach of more than 1.5 billion monthly global users.

How would you describe the mobile advertising landscape in the UAE and MENA prior to COVID-19, and how is it different now in 2021 with things slowly returning back to normal?

No one can deny the power of mobile advertising and how it became the key to success for advertisers especially with the start of the unstoppable rise of mobile usage almost half a decade ago. Although some people consider mobile advertising to be a close relative to online advertising, the truth is that it has more various abilities to capture your target or future potential audiences' attention. 

Especially with the start of the pandemic and long lockdown periods, mobile devices became our saviour, not just for communication, but also to allow us to spend some leisurely time through different kinds of apps across all demographics and not just for a specific time slot like what TV offers. 

The first thing we do when we wake up and the last thing we do before we go to sleep is check our smartphones. It is also no secret that the pandemic has changed mobile ad spending. 

According to eMarketer, total mobile ad spending worldwide in 2020 reached $276.21 billion with a growth of 18.3% from 2019. New and advanced options are becoming more useful for them to reach their audiences anytime they want. Our habits and expectations from brands and ads changed during the pandemic and it is pivotal for brands to show their audience how much they care about them and understand them through their campaigns. 

The market is persistently growing and expanding across borders, and new businesses are looking for ways to adapt to this mobile advertising in more creative ways by using games and apps.

What would you say are the opportunities and pain points for this industry in the regional market, and how can these be addressed?

There are still some question marks in people’s heads when it comes to mobile advertising in general. Is it brand safe? Is it 100% viewable? And so on. Even though the answer for all these questions is yes, the pain point is to educate people around the questions about the industry. 

AdColony is the first mobile ad platform to be integrated with Integral Ad Science, MOAT and DoubleVerify with 91.4% 94.6% and 91.1% viewability benchmarks respectively, which makes our Ad Quality Marketplace provide 100% transparent inventory. Most importantly, viewability ensures real human views by eliminating any kind of fraud, tracking higher performing ads, and increasing brand equity and awareness. With our professional, and 100% brand-safe inventory, we are also providing the best user engaging rewarded ads with our high technology. As an advertising network with all these technologies, one of our biggest missions is to inform the sector about all these issues, to follow technological developments, support brands, and to be a pioneer. 

On the other hand, the pivotal change in mobile advertising and attribution is the elimination of the IDFA (Apple’s Identifier for Advertisers, which helps mobile marketers attribute ad spend). Of course the industry worries if the majority of users do not opt-in to ad tracking. Obviously, this presents a lot of challenges to the mobile advertising industry but it doesn’t mean it's the end of the world. In the mobile world, there is always a solution. 

When it comes to asking users for permission, developers have more discretion than they might think. Instead of there being a single opt-out method, developers now have the opportunity to make their case directly to each new user with customized messaging. 

On the opportunity side, the MENA region is big on digital, gaming, and mobile gaming specifically. The average time spent on mobiles within the MENA region is 4.6 hours per day and users are so receptive to ads. So it is obvious that with its strong economy and huge interest, the MENA region is slowly becoming one of the most important regions for the industry.

What are your takeaways in regards to the boom in mobile gaming spending spurred by the pandemic?

The mobile games market is larger than ever and shows no signs of slowing down. 

According to Sensor Tower, revenue growth only accelerated during the COVID-19 pandemic and users spent more than $22 billion in mobile games in Q1 2021 globally. The report also stated that games earned more than $20 billion globally for the first time that quarter. 

It is not a secret that mobile and digital are some of the rare sectors that have been positively affected by the pandemic. None of us can deny that the interest in mobile games has increased to a great extent, especially during a period when we had to spend most of our time at home. While the world continues to digitize faster than ever before, mobile games have become one of the most fun escapades during this process. 

With the start of the pandemic, we took immediate action to understand users’ behaviours, like measuring traffic increase through our regions each week to show our clients how game downloads skyrocketed. We predicted that the users’ behaviours and habits will change drastically because of the lockdown. By conducting Coronavirus Impact Surveys, we analyzed the users’ “new normal” and expectations from the brands and the ads to provide better insights to them. It was clear that mobile games were taking firm steps towards becoming the most important advertising channel for brands. 

All over the globe, mobile usage and mobile game downloads have increased very rapidly. According to GlobalWebIndex, 78.2% of adults are playing mobile games, which is huge proof that mobile games are the perfect environment for brands to capture their target audiences’ attention. When we look at UAE specifically, more than 70% of the adults in UAE are playing mobile games and UAE mobile gamers spend more than 4 hours on their mobile devices each day which shows that the MENA region is becoming one of the key regions in the industry. 

According to Sensor Tower’s Mobile Market Forecast report, in 2020, consumer spending in the MENA region grossed $1.6 billion and is projected to reach $4.9 billion in 2025. Even though things are slowly going back to “normal” again, mobile games have already solidified their place in everyday life. App downloads surged in the first few months following the spread of COVID-19, and a spike in revenue followed soon after. While growth rates are expected to return towards pre-COVID-19 levels in the next few years, some of the lift will persist.

Mobile advertising has long been a mainstay of the marketing world. What are some dos and don'ts SMEs should be aware of?

Like every brand, whether it is global, local, or SME, the most important thing to do during a mobile ad campaign is to determine the target audience correctly. In this way, they can reach their target or potential audiences very easily without spending huge budgets. 

Instead of positioning our business as a standard advertising sales house, we are positioning it as a 360-degree service and consultancy structure that serves our business partners in all creative, design, and operational processes. When advertisers work with us, they can implement a high-performance digital campaign even if they do not have any digital-appropriate material. They also benefit from the unique measurement and security certification opportunities we offer. Our awarded creative studio is also providing customized executions for brands by creating highly complex and innovative displays and interactive end cards.

Looking forward, what trends do you expect will have a role in shaping the mobile advertising industry, and how can SMEs be prepared? 

Like society, brands also need to adapt to the new normal.

In this period, the most important decision for brands to make is how much they should invest in which medium, and which way they should follow to make their voices heard by their potential customers. 

It is imperative that they prepare their video ads in accordance with the channels where they will be broadcast. Users do not want to see the same video ad on social media channels, news channels, television, computer, mobile devices, and mobile games. The main reason for this is that their modes and expectations are different in their time on these channels. For this reason, it is very important to produce media-specific content, and even if it is not produced, it is very important to organize the content according to the media. 

Especially in this current period, the most important point is that brands and advertisers create ads that show that they understand users, empathize with their situation, relieve their concerns, and meet their expectations.

You might also like

أيها المسوقون: في 2021، أصبحت الهواتف المحمولة المنصة الأكثر مثالية للاستثمار

أيها المسوقون: في 2021، أصبحت الهواتف المحمولة المنصة الأكثر مثالية للاستثمار 

Mark Anthony Karam
مقابلات

في عام 2020، بلغ إجمالي الإنفاق على إعلانات الهاتف المحمول في جميع أنحاء العالم 276.21 مليار دولار، بمعدل نمو 18.3٪ عن عام 2019، ويرجع الفضل في ذلك في الغالب إلى الوباء الذي جعل مليارات الناس محبوسون في المنزل.

على الرغم من أن الأجهزة المحمولة كانت منصة إعلانية بارزة ودقيقة لأكثر من عقد من الزمن حتى الآن، فقد شهد عام 2020 قيام المعلنين أخيرًا بإزالة أي شكوك حول الوسيط. مع تطبيق طلبات البقاء في المنزل، سرعان ما ارتفعت أهمية الأجهزة المحمولة وتطلبت اهتمامًا فوريًا من المعلنين في جميع أنحاء العالم. من زيادة ساعات الاستخدام أثناء المرور على الوسائط الاجتماعية أو بث مقاطع الفيديو أو المشاركة في الألعاب، قدمت الأجهزة المحمولة فرصة إعلانية لم يسبق لها مثيل.

على أمل معرفة المزيد عن الوسيلة والاتجاهات التي تحكم حاضرها ومستقبلها ، تحدث مركز SME Hub في أبو ظبي مع واريك بيلينجهام ، المدير العام - العلامة التجارية ، أوروبا والشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا وأمريكا اللاتينية في AdColony، وهي منصة إعلانات دولية للهواتف تخدم المعلنين والناشرين مثل Coca-Cola و Amazon وBMW، تصل إلى أكثر من 1.5 مليار مستخدم عالمي شهريًا.

كيف تصف مشهد إعلانات الهاتف المحمول في الإمارات العربية المتحدة والشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا قبل COVID-19، وكيف يختلف الآن في عام 2021 مع عودة الأمور ببطء إلى طبيعتها؟

لا أحد يستطيع أن ينكر قوة الإعلان عبر الهاتف المحمول وكيف أصبح مفتاح النجاح للمعلنين بخاصة مع بداية الارتفاع المتواصل لاستخدام الهاتف المحمول منذ نصف عقد تقريبًا. على الرغم من أن بعض الأشخاص يعتبرون الإعلان عبر الهاتف المحمول وثيق الصلة بالإعلان عبر الإنترنت، إلا أن الحقيقة هي أنه يتمتع بقدرات متنوعة أكثر لجذب انتباه جمهورك المستهدف أو جمهورك المحتمل في المستقبل.

بخاصة مع بداية الوباء وفترات الإغلاق الطويلة، أصبحت الأجهزة المحمولة منقذنا، ليس فقط للتواصل، وإنما أيضًا للسماح لنا بقضاء بعض الوقت ممتع من خلال أنواع مختلفة من التطبيقات لجميع الفئات العمرية وليس فقط لمواعيد محددة مثل ما يقدمه التلفزيون.

أول شيء نفعله عندما نستيقظ وآخر شيء نفعله قبل النوم هو فحص هواتفنا الذكية. كما أنه ليس سراً أن الوباء قد غيّر الإنفاق على إعلانات الهاتف المحمول.

وفقًا لـ eMarketer ، بلغ إجمالي الإنفاق على إعلانات الهاتف المحمول في جميع أنحاء العالم في عام 2020 276.21 مليار دولار أمريكي بنمو 18.3٪ عن عام 2019. وأصبحت الخيارات الجديدة والمتقدمة أكثر فائدة لهم للوصول إلى جمهورهم في أي وقت يريدون. تغيرت عاداتنا وتوقعاتنا من العلامات التجارية والإعلانات خلال الوباء ومن المهم للعلامات التجارية أن تُظهر لجمهورها مدى اهتمامها بهم وفهمها لهم من خلال حملاتها.

ينمو السوق باستمرار ويتوسع عبر الحدود، وتبحث الشركات الجديدة عن طرق للتكيف مع إعلانات الهاتف المحمول هذه بطرق أكثر إبداعًا باستخدام الألعاب والتطبيقات.

ما هي الفرص ونقاط الضعف لهذه الصناعة في السوق الإقليمية في رأيك، وكيف يمكن معالجتها؟

لا تزال هناك بعض علامات الاستفهام في أذهان الناس عندما يتعلق الأمر بإعلانات الجوال بشكل عام. هل العلامة التجارية آمنة؟ هل هي 100٪ قابلة للعرض؟ وغيرها. على الرغم من أن الإجابة عن كل هذه الأسئلة هي نعم، إلا أن الصعوبة تكمن في تثقيف الناس حول الأسئلة المتعلقة بالصناعة.

AdColony هو أول نظام أساسي لإعلانات الجوال يتم دمجه مع Integral Ad Science و MOAT و DoubleVerify مع معايير إمكانية العرض 91.4٪ 94.6٪ و 91.1٪ تباعًا، مما يجعل سوق جودة الإعلانات يوفر مخزونًا شفافًا بنسبة 100٪. والأهم من ذلك، تضمن إمكانية العرض رؤية بشرية حقيقية من خلال القضاء على أي نوع من الاحتيال وتتبع الإعلانات ذات الأداء العالي وزيادة قيمة العلامة التجارية والوعي بها. من خلال مخزوننا الاحترافي والآمن للعلامة التجارية بنسبة 100٪، نوفر أيضًا أفضل إعلانات بمكافأة تفاعلية مع تقنيتنا العالية. كشبكة إعلانية تحتوي على كل هذه التقنيات، تتمثل إحدى أكبر مهامنا في إبلاغ القطاع بكل هذه المشكلات، ومتابعة التطورات التكنولوجية، ودعم العلامات التجارية، وأن نكون روادًا.

من ناحية أخرى، يتمثل التغيير المحوري في إعلانات الجوّال والتخصيص في إلغاء IDFA (معرّف Apple للمعلنين، والذي يساعد جهات تسويق الجوّال في تحديد الإنفاق الإعلاني). بالطبع، تشعر الصناعة بالقلق إذا لم يشترك غالبية المستخدمين في تتبع الإعلانات. من الواضح أن هذا يمثل الكثير من التحديات لصناعة إعلانات الجوال ولكن هذا لا يعني أنه نهاية العالم. في عالم الهاتف المحمول، هناك دائمًا حل.

عندما يتعلق الأمر بمطالبة المستخدمين بالحصول على إذن، فإن المطورين يتمتعون بسلطة تقديرية أكثر مما يعتقدون. بدلاً من وجود طريقة إلغاء اشتراك واحدة، يتمتع المطورون الآن بفرصة عرض قضيتهم مباشرةً على كل مستخدم جديد من خلال الرسائل المخصصة.

من ناحية الفرص، تعتبر منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا كبيرة في الألعاب الرقمية والألعاب والأجهزة المحمولة على وجه التحديد. يبلغ متوسط الوقت الذي يقضيه المستخدمون على الهواتف المحمولة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا 4.6 ساعة يوميًا، ويتقبل المستخدمون الإعلانات بشكل كبير. لذلك من الواضح أنه مع اقتصادها القوي واهتمامها الكبير، تصبح منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا ببطء واحدة من أهم المناطق لهذه الصناعة.

ما هي نقاطك فيما يتعلق بالازدهار في الإنفاق على ألعاب الهاتف المحمول الذي حفزته جائحة كوفيد 19؟

يصبح سوق ألعاب الهاتف المحمول أكبر من أي وقت مضى ولا يظهر أي علامات على التباطؤ.

وفقًا لـ Sensor Tower، تسارع نمو الإيرادات فقط خلال جائحة COVID-19 وأنفق المستخدمون أكثر من 22 مليار دولار على ألعاب الهاتف المحمول في الربع الأول من عام 2021 على مستوى العالم. وذكر التقرير أيضًا أن الألعاب كسبت أكثر من 20 مليار دولار على مستوى العالم لأول مرة في هذا الربع. 

ليس سراً أن الهواتف المحمولة والرقمية هي بعض القطاعات النادرة التي تأثرت إيجابياً بالوباء. لا يمكن لأي منا أن ينكر أن الاهتمام بألعاب الهاتف المحمول قد زاد إلى حد كبير، بخاصة في خلال فترة اضطررنا فيها إلى قضاء معظم وقتنا في المنزل. بينما يواصل العالم الرقمنة بشكل أسرع من أي وقت مضى، أصبحت ألعاب الهاتف المحمول واحدة من أكثر المغامرات متعة خلال هذه العملية.

مع بداية الوباء، اتخذنا إجراءات فورية لفهم سلوكيات المستخدمين، مثل قياس زيادة الحركة عبر مناطقنا كل أسبوع لنظهر لعملائنا كيف ارتفعت تنزيلات الألعاب بشكل كبير. توقعنا أن سلوكيات المستخدمين وعاداتهم ستتغير بشكل كبير بسبب الإغلاق. من خلال إجراء استطلاعات تأثير فيروس كورونا، حللنا "الوضع الطبيعي الجديد" للمستخدمين وتوقعاتهم من العلامات التجارية والإعلانات لتقديم رؤى أفضل لهم. كان من الواضح أن ألعاب الهاتف المحمول تتخذ خطوات حازمة نحو أن تصبح أهم قناة إعلانية للعلامات التجارية.

في جميع أنحاء العالم، زاد استخدام الأجهزة المحمولة وتنزيلات الألعاب المحمولة بسرعة كبيرة. وفقًا لـ GlobalWebIndex ، يلعب 78.2٪ من البالغين ألعاب الهاتف المحمول، وهو دليل كبير على أن ألعاب الهاتف المحمول هي البيئة المثالية للعلامات التجارية لجذب انتباه جمهورها المستهدف. عندما ننظر إلى الإمارات العربية المتحدة على وجه التحديد، فإن أكثر من 70٪ من البالغين في الإمارات العربية المتحدة يلعبون ألعاب الهاتف المحمول ويقضي لاعبو الألعاب عبر الأجهزة المحمولة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة أكثر من 4 ساعات على أجهزتهم المحمولة كل يوم مما يدل على أن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا أصبحت واحدة من المناطق الرئيسية في الصناعة.

وفقًا لتقرير توقعات سوق الأجهزة المحمولة لشركة Sensor Tower، في عام 2020، بلغ إجمالي الإنفاق الاستهلاكي في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا 1.6 مليار دولار أمريكي ومن المتوقع أن يصل إلى 4.9 مليار دولار أمريكي في عام 2025. على الرغم من أن الأمور عادت ببطء إلى الوضع "الطبيعي" من جديد، إلا أن الألعاب المحمولة قد عززت بالفعل مكانها في الحياة اليومية. ارتفعت تنزيلات التطبيقات في الأشهر القليلة الأولى بعد انتشار COVID-19، وتبع ذلك ارتفاعًا في الإيرادات بعد فترة وجيزة. بينما من المتوقع أن تعود معدلات النمو إلى مستويات ما قبل COVID-19 في السنوات القليلة المقبلة، وبعض الارتفاع سيستمر.

لطالما كان الإعلان عبر الهاتف المحمول الدعامة الأساسية لعالم التسويق. ما هي بعض الأمور التي يجب على الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة أن تكون على علم بها؟

مثل كل علامة تجارية، سواء كانت عالمية أو محلية أو صغيرة ومتوسطة الحجم، فإن أهم شيء يجب القيام به أثناء الحملة الإعلانية للجوال هو تحديد الجمهور المستهدف بشكل صحيح. وبهذه الطريقة، يمكنهم الوصول إلى جمهورهم المستهدف أو المحتمل بسهولة شديدة دون إنفاق ميزانيات ضخمة.

بدلاً من وضع أعمالنا كمنزل مبيعات إعلاني قياسي، فإننا نضعها في موقع خدمة 360 درجة وهيكل استشاري يخدم شركاء أعمالنا في جميع العمليات الإبداعية والتصميمية والتشغيلية. عندما يعمل المعلنون معنا، يمكنهم تنفيذ حملة رقمية عالية الأداء حتى لو لم يكن لديهم أي مادة رقمية مناسبة. كما أنهم يستفيدون من فرص شهادات الأمان والقياس الفريدة التي نقدمها. يوفر الاستوديو الإبداعي الخاص بنا والحائز على الجوائز أيضًا عمليات تنفيذ مخصصة للعلامات التجارية من خلال إنشاء عروض مبتكرة معقدة للغاية وبطاقات نهاية تفاعلية.

بالنظر إلى المستقبل، ما هي الاتجاهات التي تتوقع أن يكون لها دور في تشكيل صناعة الإعلان عبر الهاتف المحمول، وكيف يمكن إعداد الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة؟

مثل المجتمع، تحتاج العلامات التجارية أيضًا إلى التكيف مع الوضع الطبيعي الجديد.

في هذه الفترة، يكون القرار الأكثر أهمية الذي يجب على العلامات التجارية اتخاذه هو مقدار ما ينبغي عليهم الاستثمار فيه في أي وسيط، والطريقة التي ينبغي عليهم اتباعها لجعل أصواتهم مسموعة من قبل عملائهم المحتملين.

من الضروري أن يقوموا بإعداد إعلانات الفيديو الخاصة بهم وفقًا للقنوات التي سيتم بثها فيها. لا يرغب المستخدمون في مشاهدة إعلان الفيديو نفسه على قنوات التواصل الاجتماعي، والقنوات الإخبارية، والتلفزيون، والكمبيوتر، والأجهزة المحمولة، والألعاب المحمولة. السبب الرئيسي لذلك هو أن أوضاعهم وتوقعاتهم تختلف في أوقاتهم على هذه القنوات. لهذا السبب، من المهم جدًا إنتاج محتوى خاص بوسائط معينة، وحتى إذا لم يتم إنتاجه، فمن المهم جدًا تنظيم المحتوى وفقًا للوسائط.

النقطة الأكثر أهمية في هذه الفترة الحالية على وجه الخصوص هي أن العلامات التجارية والمعلنين ينشئون إعلانات تظهر أنهم يفهمون المستخدمين، ويتعاطفون مع وضعهم، ويخففون من مخاوفهم، ويلبي توقعاتهم.

قد يعجبك ايضا