Deel, $12 billion HR tech scale-up, discusses partnering with the UAE to grow its remote workforce and attract global talent

Deel, $12 billion HR tech scale-up, discusses partnering with the UAE to grow its remote workforce and attract global talent 

By: Mark Anthony Karam
Interviews

Deel is currently supporting 8,000+ clients around the world to streamline and scale their remote hiring operations. 

The UAE has spared no effort in the last twenty years to ensure its economy is on par with international standards, and has always welcomed new innovations with open arms. 

Among these developments has been the rise of remote working. For a country intent on shifting from an oil-reliant economy to a knowledge-based one, this new working paradigm couldn’t have come at a better time. Considering the new visa and residency options the UAE has been authorising in recent years, a shift to remote and hybrid work is quite timely. 

To bring its vision for the future of the workforce to reality, the UAE appointed His Excellency Omar Sultan Al Olama as Minister of State for Artificial Intelligence, Digital Economy and Remote Work Applications in July 2020, after he was previously appointed as the Minister of Artificial Intelligence in 2017. The expanded Ministry represented a growing scope of focus for His Excellency and the UAE in line with world events and internal strategies.

Earlier this year in June, this Ministry partnered with US-headquartered payroll and onboarding company Deel to attract the best global talent and high-growth companies to the UAE. Deel is the highest-valued company in the global hiring, payments and compliance space, worth $12 billion.

Tarek Salam, UAE Lead and Head of MENA Expansion at Deel, shares insights about the nature of this partnership with the Abu Dhabi SME Hub.

Tarek Salam Deel

Tarek Salam, UAE Lead and Head of MENA Expansion at Deel

Can you tell us about your company's core operations, and how that led to a partnership with the UAE's Artificial Intelligence, Digital Economy and Remote Work Applications Office?

Deel was launched in April 2019. It is a Y Combinator-backed unicorn that enables companies to hire and pay their global teams seamlessly in over 160 countries. Our core operations cover onboarding, contracts, expense management, benefits, payroll and built-in compliance for your international team. We also support workplace culture and experience through our partnerships and integrations with companies like Roots.

Over the past few years, workplaces have changed dramatically. Companies have accepted that the 9-5 traditional office setup isn't the only way to operate and are embracing remote work. This combined with salaries of tech hubs reaching sky highs, has opened up opportunities for talent around the world to compete for positions at the best companies. Yet, the legal and accounting of hiring internationally is still a nightmare. 

At Deel, our job is to make it as easy and accessible as hiring locally. We believe that by removing all friction and mitigating the legal risks, we can provide businesses with the best global talent, provide opportunities for skilled workers around the world, and create millions of jobs that majorly impact the worldwide economy. 

We're currently supporting 8,000+ clients around the world to streamline and scale their remote hiring operations. Deel is bridging the gap between talent & companies globally.

Deel app dashboard

What are the key ways in which you will be supporting the UAE government and local companies?

A few use cases of scale-ups, enterprises and government entities leveraging Deel:

  • Streamline vendor/contractor management/payments/compliance across 160 countries, using Deel Shield and allowing Deel to hire contractors on your behalf to mitigate misclassification risks.

  • Hire full-time employees in countries where you do not have an entity via the Employer of Record model. In addition, we relocate employees via our internal Global Mobility Team.

  • Leverage Deel for Global Payroll for countries where you already own the entity today, and where you need a local payroll solution.

This is not your first time partnering with a government agency. What are some key takeaways you've learned from collaborating with the public sector, and how have these experiences informed Deel's decision-making and transformed your services so far?

Governments are true facilitators and accelerators for Deel’s global vision for talent mobility. Deel is aligned with the UAE’s vision for a global talent hub and remote work destination.

Deel app dashboard laptop

Given your extensive body of work, what would you say are the top opportunities and challenges existing within the field of remote working and hiring today that companies need to be aware of?

Talent mobility is about optimising the benefits employees can bring to their company. The tenure employees have with their company should be a positive experience, providing them with the opportunity to grow personally and professionally, to experience and achieve results in new areas, and, ultimately, progress in their careers. If an organisation accomplishes this type of work environment, it optimises employee performance and business results, including the highest return on investment. Furthermore, if a company creates such a positive reputation, it will attract top talent more easily.

To create and maintain an attractive brand that appeals to a global talent pool, companies will need to take their recruitment, HR and hiring strategies across international borders. Global mobility has enabled this to some degree and will no doubt continue to do so. However, not every employee will be able to move at the time a new job opportunity arises. Companies that adopt a flexible remote work model that allows employment across borders will reap the benefits of business optimisation and a higher return on investment.

What's next for Deel within the MENA region? Could we see a similar private-public partnership with countries like Saudi Arabia or Egypt?

We have lots planned for the MENA region. Deel's mission is to always contribute to initiatives that place talent at the heart of everything we do, and provide businesses with the support they need to confidently scale into new markets, acquire the best global talent and transition towards hybrid or remote work.

You might also like

Deel، الشركة المتصاعدة بمجال تكنولوجيا الموارد البشرية والبالغة قيمتها 12 مليار دولار، تناقش مشروعها للشراكة مع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

Deel، الشركة المتصاعدة بمجال تكنولوجيا الموارد البشرية والبالغة قيمتها 12 مليار دولار، تناقش مشروعها للشراكة مع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة 

مارك انتوني كرم
مقابلات

تقوم Deel حاليًا بتوفير الدعم لأكثر من 8000 عميل حول العالم لتبسيط وتوسيع عمليات التوظيف عن بعـد.

لم تدخر الإمارات العربية المتحدة وسعًا في السنوات العشرين الماضية لضمان مواكبة اقتصادها للمعايير الدولية، حيث رحبت دومًا وبأذرع مفتوحة بالابتكارات الجديدة. 

وقد كان ظهور العمل عن بعد من بين هذه التطورات. وبالنسبة لبلد عازم على التحول من اقتصاد يعتمد على النفط إلى اقتصاد قائم على المعرفة، فإن نموذج العمل الجديد قد جاء في أفضل وقت ممكن. وبالنظر إلى خيارات التأشيرة والإقامة الجديدة التي سمحت بها الإمارات العربية المتحدة في السنوات الأخيرة، فإن التحول إلى العمل عن بعد والعمل الهجين قد حصل في التوقيت المناسب.

ولتحقيق رؤيتها لمستقبل القوى العاملة على أرض الواقع، عينت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة معالي عمر سلطان العلماء وزيرًا للدولة للذكاء الاصطناعي والاقتصاد الرقمي وتطبيقات العمل عن بعد في يوليو 2020، بعد أن كان قد جرى تعيينه سابقًا وزيرًا للذكاء الاصطناعي في عام 2017، حيث مثلت الوزارة الموسعة مجالًا متزايدًا لتركيز معاليه ودولة الإمارات بما يتماشى مع الأحداث العالمية والاستراتيجيات الداخلية.

وفي وقت سابق من هذا العام في شهر يونيو، دخلت الوزارة المذكورة في شراكة مع شركة Deel ومقرها الولايات المتحدة، وهي شركة متخصصة في مجال إعداد كشوف الرواتب وفي دمج الموظفين الجدد وتدريبهم وتطوير قدراتهم، وذلك لجذب أفضل المواهب العالمية والشركات عالية النمو إلى دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وتعتبر Deel الشركة الأعلى قيمة في مجالات التوظيف والمدفوعات والامتثال عالميًا، بقيمة 12 مليار دولار.

ويشارك طارق سلام، وهو مسؤول فرع دولة الامارات ورئيس التطوير والتوسع في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا في شركة Deel، أفكاره حول طبيعة هذه الشراكة مع منصة أبوظبي للأعمال.

هل لك أن تخبرنا عن العمليات الأساسية لشركتك، وكيف أدت تلك العمليات إلى شراكة مع وزارة الإمارات للذكاء الاصطناعي والاقتصاد الرقمي وتطبيقات العمل عن بعد؟

لقد تم إطلاق شركة Deel في أبريل 2019. وهي مشروع عملاق مدعوم من Y Combinator، تقوم على تمكين الشركات من توظيف فرق عملها العالمية وسداد أجورها بسلاسة في أكثر من 160 دولة. حيث تغطي عملياتنا الأساسية: إعداد وتجهيز الموظفين، والعقود، وإدارة النفقات، والفوائد الوظيفية، وكشوف الرواتب، وضمان الامتثال لفريق عملك الدولي. كما ندعم أيضًا ثقافة مكان العمل والخبرة من خلال شراكاتنا وتكاملنا مع شركات مثل Roots.

وعلى مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية، تغيرت أماكن العمل بشكل كبير. لقد قبلت الشركات فكرة أن نظام العمل التقليدي للمكاتب من 9 صباحًا الى 5 مساء ليس هو الأسلوب الوحيد للعمل، حيث أصبحت تتبنى أسلوب العمل عن بعد. وهو ما ارتبط أيضًا بوصول رواتب مراكز التكنولوجيا إلى مستويات عالية، مما فتح فرصًا للمواهب حول العالم للتنافس على الوظائف في أفضل الشركات. ومع ذلك فلا تزال التشريعات والمساءلة عن التوظيف الدولي من خارج حدود الدول يشكل كابوسًا.

وتتمثل مهمتنا كشركة Deel في جعل هذا الأمر (أي التوظيف الدولي من خارج الحدود) سهلًا ويمكن الوصول إليه تمامًا مثل التوظيف محليًا. ونعتقد أنه من خلال إزالة كافة الاحتكاكات وتخفيف المخاطر القانونية، يمكننا تزويد الشركات بأفضل المواهب العالمية، وتوفير الفرص للعمالة الماهرة في جميع أنحاء العالم، وخلق ملايين الوظائف التي تؤثر بشكل كبير على الاقتصاد العالمي.

ونحن نقوم حاليًا بدعم أكثر من 8000 عميل حول العالم لتبسيط وتوسيع عمليات التوظيف عن بعد، حيث تعمل شركة Deel على سد الفجوة في المواهب لدى الشركات على مستوى العالم.

ما هي الطرق الرئيسية التي ستقومون من خلالها بدعم حكومة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والشركات المحلية؟

هنا سرد لعدد قليل من حالات الاستخدام للشركات المتصاعدة والأعمال التجارية والهيئات الحكومية التي تستفيد من شركة Deel:

●  تبسيط إدارة البائعين/المتعاقدين ومدفوعاتهم ولوائح الامتثال الخاصة بهم عبر 160 دولة، باستخدام Deel Shield والسماح لـ Deel بتعيين مقاولين نيابة عنك للتخفيف من مخاطر سوء التصنيف.

●  تعيين موظفين بدوام كامل في البلدان التي ليس لديك فيها كيان مادي عبر نموذج صاحب العمل المسجل. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، نقوم بنقل الموظفين عبر فريق "الحركة العالمية" الخاص بنا.

●  الاستفادة من شركة Deel في موضوع كشوف الرواتب الدولية بالنسبة للبلدان التي تمتلك فيها أنت بالفعل كيانات اليوم، وحيث تحتاج إلى حلول لكشوف رواتب محلية.

هذه ليست المرة الأولى التي تتشاركون فيها مع هيئة حكومية … ما هي بعض النقاط (الأفكار- الحقائق) الرئيسية التي تعلمتموها من التعاون مع القطاع العام؟ وكيف ساهمت هذه التجارب حتى اللحظة في إمداد شركة Deel بالمعلومات اللازمة لعملية صنع القرار وكذلك في التغيير والتحويل من خدماتكم؟

إن الحكومات هي جهات ميسرة ومسرعة حقيقية للرؤية العالمية لشركة Deel فيما يختص بتنقل المواهب. كما أن شركة Deel تتفق مع رؤية الإمارات العربية المتحدة لأن تصبح مركزًا عالميًا للمواهب ووجهة للعمل عن بعـد.

بالنظر إلى حجم أعمالكم الواسع، ما هي - في رأيكم - أهم الفرص والتحديات الموجودة في مجال العمل عن بعد والتوظيف اليوم والتي يجب أن تكون الشركات على دراية بها؟

يتعلق تنقل المواهب بتعظيم الفوائد التي يمكن للموظفين تحقيقها لشركاتهم. حيث يجب أن تكون فترة مكث الموظفين الدائمين في شركاتهم تجربة إيجابية لهؤلاء الموظفين، مما يوفر لهم الفرصة للنمو على المستوىين الشخصي والمهني، ولتجربة وتحقيق النتائج المرجوة في مجالات جديدة، وأخيرًا وليس آخرًا - التقدم في حياتهم المهنية. وإذا ما تمكنت مؤسسة ما من تحقيق هذا النوع من بيئة العمل، فإنها تحسن بذلك أداء الموظفين ونتائج الأعمال، بما في ذلك تحقيق أعلى عائد ممكن على الاستثمار. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإذا ما قامت شركة ما ببناء مثل هذه السمعة الإيجابية، فهي سوف تجتذب أفضل المواهب بسهولة أكبر.

لإنشاء والحفاظ على علامة تجارية جذابة تستقطب جموعًا من المواهب العالمية، تحتاج الشركات إلى تبني استراتيجيات للتوظيف والموارد البشرية والتشغيل عبر الحدود الدولية، حيث أتاحت قابلية التنقل العالمية هذا الأمر إلى حد ما وسوف تستمر بدون شك في القيام بذلك. ومع هذا، فستبقى نسبة معينة من الموظفين غير القادرين على التحرك وقت ظهور فرصة عمل جديدة. بالتالي فالشركات التي تتبنى نموذج عمل مرن عن بعد يسمح بالتوظيف عبر الحدود سوف تجني فوائد تحسين فاعلية أعمالها وعائد أعلى على الاستثمار.

ما هي الخطوة التالية لشركة Deel في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا؟ هل يمكن أن نرى شراكة مماثلة بين القطاعين العام والخاص مع دول مثل: المملكة العربية السعودية أو مصر؟

لدينا الكثير من الخطط في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وتتمثل مهمة شركة Deel دائمًا بالمساهمة في المبادرات التي تضع المواهب في صميم كل ما نقوم به وتزويد الشركات بالدعم الذي تحتاجه للتوسع بثقة في أسواق جديدة، واكتساب أفضل المواهب العالمية والانتقال نحو أسلوب العمل الهجين أو عن بعـد.

قد يعجبك ايضا