Meet Deliverect, the aggregator of food aggregators

Meet Deliverect, the aggregator of food aggregators 

By: Mark Anthony Karam
Interviews

In 3 years, the POS-oriented platform has secured $90 million, and processed over 56 million orders.

Even after the boom experienced by the online food delivery sector when stay-at-home orders went into effect last year, the industry is seeing a continued sustained surge as food aggregators take root in the UAE, which remains a developing market.

Growth picked up significantly in the second half of 2020, with revenues in the UAE's online food delivery segment projected to reach $1,106m in 2021, according to Statista.

But as with any new trend, the rise of food aggregators brought with it some challenges for restaurants. One of these is having to manually input orders from multiple platforms like Talabat, Zomato and Deliveroo into your restaurant’s POS system, which creates a lot of time delay and introduces the risk of human error. Other issues include managing different menus on different platforms, or having to contend with sales data that is fragmented across different apps.

When you have endless aggregators to contend with, who then is supposed to aggregate the aggregators for efficiency and peace of mind for restaurants?

Enter Deliverect, a startup that has stepped in to fill that very role. (Timeline infographic included below)

According to Deliverect, some of the biggest operational issues of food delivery and online ordering can be easily dealt with by optimizing delivery management and integrating online sales channels with a restaurant's POS (point-of-sale) system. 

The Abu Dhabi SME Hub spoke with Zhong Xu, CEO and co-founder of Deliverect, and Naji Haddad, Deliverect’s Middle East General Manager, to learn more about this exciting new solution.

Zhong Xu Naji Hadded Deliverect

Naji Haddad, Middle East General Manager, Deliverect (left), and Zhong Xu, CEO and co-founder, Deliverect (right)

Can you tell us about your product, and what challenges it helped solve for F&B companies?

Naji: Deliverect integrated aggregators like Talabat, Zomato, Deliveroo and more delivery platforms directly to the restaurants’ POS systems. With online orders automatically pushed to the POS, there’s no need to manually re-enter order receipts anymore, saving time and eliminating errors.

Additionally, our menu builder enables restaurants to easily build their menu and push it live on multiple delivery platforms and for multiple locations. They can also make any changes or updates to the menu at any time and from one single dashboard for all delivery channels.

The centralisation of all this data also enables restaurants and other food businesses to get consolidated reporting of all their channels.

After your first successful venture POSios, why did you decide to set out to create Deliverect?

Zhong: I grew up around the restaurant industry as my father built (and still runs) a POS for Asian restaurants in Belgium. He inspired me to take over the business but I had other plans. In 2011, I built my own cloud-based POS with co-founder Jan Hollez. In 2014, we were acquired by Lightspeed and I became the Global Director of Hospitality. I gained a lot of experience speaking with restaurant owners and managers on a daily basis to better help them solve challenges related to operations and management.

Delivery was already rising during this time, before COVID-19. I witnessed first-hand the many pains restaurants were facing when offering delivery. Virtual kitchens were just at the very beginning of their development but I knew this was going to be big. Together with Jan, we thought of a solution to solve the pain point that comes with managing online delivery platforms and that’s how Deliverect was ‘born’ in 2018 – as a way to bridge the gap between delivery platforms and POS systems.

When you expanded to the UAE, what were your first takeaways regarding the F&B landscape here?

Naji: We’ve seen a boom in the delivery business. Restaurants saw online delivery and online ordering as a nice-to-have feature. Thanks to COVID-19, restaurant owners realised that being online is the way to survive during times that customers can’t dine in. [According to recent research], 60% of diners prefer online ordering as an alternative to eating out. 

Food delivery has been a boon to many restaurants. We’ve seen restaurants changing their approach, being inventive in terms of engaging customers through online channels, organising special offers, and giveaways. The delivery sector has become crucial for the survival of the hospitality industry.

How did COVID-19 impact your business, and how did your clients' needs change?

Naji: At the height of the pandemic, restaurants were looking for ways in which they could thrive and now they are looking for solutions that will make them stand out from the competition. They are looking for solutions that will help integrate the different channels of online ordering and delivery to their POS system while automating most of their operations. Our technology proudly speaks for itself when it comes to addressing the needs of restaurant owners. We continuously listen to our clients’ needs and update our solutions to address those necessities. 

Post-COVID-19, what are the industry's greatest pain points and opportunities, and how will Deliverect support restaurants with both?

Naji: This region has ample potential and hunger for online and offline food orders. Restaurants in the GCC are looking for solutions that will help integrate the different channels of delivery to their POS system while automating most of their operations. 

Artificial Intelligence has become an integral part of the F&B industry because it simplifies and automates workflow. Not only does AI simplify many of the tasks that need to be done, but it also reduces cost, and helps grow business by providing future predictions and sharing recommendations accordingly. For example, owners of restaurants that operate outdoors need to be able to get the weather forecast for the upcoming week, have insight into their patterns, engineer the menu based on customer purchase analytics and re-price items based on the ordering rate. Therefore, artificial intelligence offers a competitive advantage to restaurants.

Given your recent $65 million Series C funding round, what are your immediate goals for the future in the UAE and beyond?

Naji: We are investing in this region and ensuring local presence by opening local offices and hiring a team of highly skilled individuals who will not just help us further develop our relationship with our customers but also listen to their feedback about what they need. We accordingly act upon the market demands to add value and better serve our clients.

We are constantly working on improving our product. Thanks to our close relationship with our customers, we get feedback about what they need, and can build a product that is serving our customers even better. Recently we’ve been working on a more user-friendly interface for our product to help restaurant owners navigate our system in the most efficient and user-friendly way.

Deliverect's Journey So Far...

You might also like

تعرفوا على Deliverect، الشركة الموحدة لتطبيقات توصيل الطعام

تعرفوا على Deliverect، الشركة الموحدة لتطبيقات توصيل الطعام 

Mark Anthony Karam
مقابلات

في غضون 3 سنوات، حصلت المنصة الموجهة لنقاط البيع على 90 مليون دولار، ونفذت أكثر من 56 مليون طلبية.

حتى بعد الطفرة التي شهدها قطاع توصيل الطعام عبر الإنترنت عندما صدرت أوامر البقاء في المنزل حيز التنفيذ العام الماضي، تشهد الصناعة ارتفاعًا مستدامًا مستمرًا حيث يرسخ مشغلو توصيل الطعام جذورهم في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، التي لا تزال سوقًا نامية.

انتعش النمو بشكل كبير في النصف الثاني من عام 2020، حيث من المتوقع أن تصل الإيرادات في قطاع توصيل الطعام عبر الإنترنت في الإمارات إلى 1106 مليون دولار في عام 2021، وفقًا لشركة Statista.

ولكن كما هو الحال مع أي اتجاه جديد، فإن ظهور مشغلي توصيل الطعام أدخل معه بعض التحديات للمطاعم. يتمثل أحد هذه العناصر في إدخال الطلبات يدويًا من منصات متعددة مثل Talabat وZomato وDeliveroo في نظام نقاط البيع POS الخاص بمطعمك، مما يؤدي إلى الكثير من التأخير الزمني ويؤدي إلى خطر حدوث خطأ بشري. تشمل المشكلات الأخرى إدارة القوائم المختلفة على منصات مختلفة، أو الاضطرار إلى التعامل مع بيانات المبيعات المجزأة عبر تطبيقات مختلفة.

عندما يكون لديك الكثير من مشغلي توصيل الطعام لتتعامل معهم، فمَن من المفترض عندئذٍ أن يجمع مجموعة مشغلي توصيل الطعام لضمان الكفاءة وراحة البال للمطاعم؟

أدخل إلى Deliverect، وهي شركة ناشئة تدخلت للعب هذا الدور بالذات (مخطط المعلومات الزمني مدرج في الأسفل).

وفقًا لـ Deliverect، يمكن التعامل بسهولة مع بعض أكبر المشكلات التشغيلية المتعلقة بتوصيل الطعام والطلب عبر الإنترنت من خلال تحسين إدارة التسليم ودمج قنوات البيع عبر الإنترنت مع نظام نقاط البيع (POS) الخاص بالمطعم.

تواصلت منصة أبو ظبي للأعمال مع زونغ شو، الرئيس التنفيذي والمؤسس المشارك لشركة Deliverect، وناجي حداد، المدير العام لشركة Deliverect في الشرق الأوسط، لمعرفة المزيد عن هذا الحل الجديد المثير.

ناجي حداد، المدير العام للشرق الأوسط، Deliverect (يسار)، و Zhong Xu، الرئيس التنفيذي والمؤسس المشارك لشركة Deliverect (يمين)

هل يمكنك إخبارنا عن منتجك، وما التحديات التي ساعد في حلها لشركات المأكولات والمشروبات؟

ناجي: قدّم مجمّعات متكاملة مثل Talabat وZomato وDeliveroo والمزيد من منصات التوصيل مباشرةً إلى أنظمة نقاط البيع في المطاعم. مع دفع الطلبات عبر الإنترنت تلقائيًا إلى نقاط البيع، لم تعد هناك من حاجة لإعادة إدخال إيصالات الطلبات يدويًا، مما يوفر الوقت ويزيل الأخطاء.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تتيح الأداة الخاصة بنا إنشاء القائمة للمطاعم إمكانية إنشاء قوائمها بسهولة ودفعها مباشرة على منصات توصيل متعددة وفي مواقع متعددة. يمكنهم أيضًا إجراء أي تغييرات أو تحديثات على القائمة في أي وقت ومن لوحة تحكم واحدة لجميع قنوات التسليم.

يسمح تركيز بيانات المطاعم وشركات الأغذية الأخرى بالحصول على تقارير موحدة لجميع قنواتها.

بعد أول مشروع ناجح لك POSios، لماذا قررت البدء في إنشاء Deliverect؟

جونغ: لقد نشأت في مجال صناعة المطاعم حيث بنى والدي (ولا يزال يدير) نقاط البيع للمطاعم الآسيوية في بلجيكا. لقد ألهمني لتولي العمل ولكن كان لدي خططًا أخرى. في 2011، قمت بإنشاء نقطة بيع خاصة بي على السحابة الإلكترونية مع الشريك المؤسس يان هولز. في عام 2014، تم شراء شركتنا من قبل Lightspeed وأصبحت المدير العالمي للضيافة لدى هذه الشركة. اكتسبت الكثير من الخبرة في التحدث مع أصحاب المطاعم والمدراء بشكل يومي لمساعدتهم بشكل أفضل على حل التحديات المتعلقة بالعمليات والإدارة.

كان توصيل الطعام يزداد خلال هذا الوقت، قبل كوفيد 19. لقد شاهدت بنفسي العديد من الصعوبات التي واجهتها المطاعم خلال تقديم خدمة التوصيل. كانت المطابخ الافتراضية في بداية تطورها لكنني كنت أعرف أن هذا سيكون كبيرًا. جنبًا إلى جنب مع Jan، فكرنا في حل لمعالجة نقطة الألم التي تأتي مع إدارة منصات التوصيل عبر الإنترنت، وهذه هي الطريقة التي ولدت بها Deliverect في عام 2018 - كطريقة لسد الفجوة بين منصات التسليم وأنظمة نقاط البيع.

عندما توسعت في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ماذا كانت أولى خطواتك في ما يتعلق بمشهد المأكولات والمشروبات هنا؟

ناجي: لقد شهدنا طفرة في أعمال توصيل الطعام. اعتبرت المطاعم خدمة التوصيل عبر الإنترنت والطلب عبر الإنترنت ميزة رائعة. بفضل COVID-19، أدرك أصحاب المطاعم أن الاتصال بالإنترنت هو السبيل للبقاء على قيد الحياة في الأوقات التي يتعذر على الزبائن تناول الطعام فيها. [وفقًا لأحدث الأبحاث]، يفضل 60٪ من رواد المطعم الطلب عبر الإنترنت كبديل لتناول الطعام في الخارج.

كان توصيل الطعام نعمة للعديد من المطاعم. لقد رأينا المطاعم تغير مقاربتها، فهي مبتكرة من حيث إشراك الزبائن من خلال القنوات عبر الإنترنت، وتنظيم العروض الخاصة، والهدايا. أصبح قطاع توصيل الطعام أمرًا بالغ الأهمية لاستمرار صناعة الضيافة.

كيف أثر COVID-19 على عملك، وكيف تغيرت احتياجات عملائك؟

ناجي: في ذروة الوباء، كانت المطاعم تبحث عن طرق يمكنها من خلالها الازدهار، والآن يبحثون عن حلول تجعلهم متميزين عن المنافسة. إنهم يبحثون عن حلول من شأنها أن تساعد في دمج القنوات المختلفة للطلب عبر الإنترنت والتسليم في نظام نقاط البيع الخاصة بهم أثناء أتمتة معظم عملياتهم. تتحدث تقنيتنا بفخر عن نفسها عندما يتعلق الأمر بتلبية احتياجات أصحاب المطاعم. نستمع باستمرار لاحتياجات عملائنا ونقوم بتحديث حلولنا لتلبية تلك الضروريات.

ما بعد COVID-19، ما هي أكبر الصعوبات والفرص في الصناعة، وكيف سيتم تقديم الدعم للمطاعم في كلَتيهما؟

ناجي: تتمتع هذه المنطقة بإمكانيات كبيرة وبتعطش لطلبات الطعام عبر الإنترنت وغير المتصلة بالإنترنت. تبحث المطاعم في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي عن حلول من شأنها أن تساعد في دمج قنوات توصيل الطعام المختلفة في نظام نقاط البيع الخاص بها أثناء أتمتة معظم عملياتها. 

أصبح الذكاء الاصطناعي جزءًا لا يتجزأ من صناعة المأكولات والمشروبات لأنه يبسط سير العمل ويؤتمته. لا يقوم الذكاء الاصطناعي بتبسيط العديد من المهام التي يجب القيام بها فحسب، بل إنه يقلل التكلفة أيضًا، ويساعد على نمو الأعمال التجارية من خلال تقديم التوقعات المستقبلية ومشاركة التوصيات وفقًا لها. على سبيل المثال، يحتاج مالكو المطاعم التي تعمل في الهواء الطلق إلى أن يكونوا قادرين على الحصول على توقعات الطقس للأسبوع القادم، وأن يكون لديهم تصورًا لأنماطهم، وإعداد القائمة بناءً على تحليلات مشتريات الزبائن وإعادة التسعير بناءً على معدل الطلب.

لذلك، فإن الذكاء الاصطناعي يقدم ميزة تنافسية للمطاعم.

بالنظر إلى جولة التمويل الأخيرة للسلسلة C بقيمة 65 مليون دولار، ما هي أهدافك الفورية للمستقبل في الإمارات وخارجها؟

ناجي: نحن نستثمر في هذه المنطقة ونضمن التواجد المحلي من خلال فتح مكاتب محلية وتوظيف فريق من الأفراد ذوي المهارات العالية الذين لن يساعدونا فقط في تطوير علاقتنا مع زبائننا ولكننا سنستمع أيضًا إلى ملاحظاتهم حول ما يحتاجون إليه. وفقًا لذلك، نتصرف وفقًا لمتطلبات السوق لرفع المستوى ولخدمة عملائنا بشكل أفضل.

نحن نعمل باستمرار على تحسين منتجاتنا. بفضل علاقتنا الوثيقة مع زبائننا، نحصل على ملاحظات حول ما يحتاجون إليه، مما يسمح لنا بتقديم منتج يخدم زملاءنا بشكل أفضل. لقد عملنا مؤخرًا على واجهة أكثر سهولة في الاستخدام لمنتجنا بهدف مساعدة مالكي المطاعم على التنقل في نظامنا بأكثر الطرق كفاءة وسهولة في الاستخدام.

قد يعجبك ايضا