It started with a pot of biryani: Now, HeyChef is the UAE’s first online personal chef service

It started with a pot of biryani: Now, HeyChef is the UAE’s first online personal chef service 

By: Mark Anthony Karam
Interviews

Launched during the peak of the pandemic, HeyChef has successfully navigated the highly competitive F&B market, social distancing measures, as well as lockdowns, to bring UAE citizens a new dining experience right within their homes.

When it comes to the F&B industry in the UAE, brands are a dime a dozen. Being a melting pot of different cultures and ethnicities, combined with a love for food and dining, the country has seen its fair share of new and exciting F&B companies. 

Foodtech, primarily delivery-related companies, has been a segment that has seen increased activity, especially after COVID-19 increasingly pushed the dining experience outside of restaurants and food courts and back into diners’ homes. So much so, in fact, that online sales within the UAE’s food and beverage market surged 255% year-over-year in 2020 to reach $412 million.

Food delivery and meal plan businesses had to step up to fulfil this demand, and now, a new kind of service is trying to shake up the industry.

HeyChef: the UAE’s first online on-demand personal chef service

Pranav Arora and Mugdha Kalvade, co-founders of HeyChef

On a weekday evening like any other, married couple Pranav Arora and Mugdha Kalvade sat down to have dinner: a pot of biryani, their favourite dish. As the two of them enjoyed their meal, they realised how great it was that they could walk in late from work in the middle of the week and not have to worry about dinner. The aforementioned pot of biryani? It was prepared fresh and on-demand, by a freelance personal chef that the Aroras often commissioned.

The concept of hiring a personal chef was not too foreign in the UAE, a country known for its lavish parties and big gatherings. Companies that offer this kind of service existed. Freelancers were available in the market too. 

What wasn’t available, however, was a digital, on-demand platform that made requesting a personal chef as simple as ordering an Uber or putting in an order via Talabat. And this is the niche that the Aroras identified.

“It made sense, and the idea was very unique,” Pranav Arora told the Abu Dhabi SME Hub.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by HeyChef (@heychef.ae)

A last-minute market shakeup 

Fast-forward from that fateful dinner during November of 2019 to a few months later in February of 2020, and the couple’s new company, dubbed HeyChef, was now ready to hit the market. However, reports were coming in from around the world concerning a new virus that had been spreading rapidly and infecting thousands: a novel coronavirus strain.

The couple’s plans were naturally derailed, and after much work and perseverance, and a stroke of luck with UAE lockdown restrictions easing after a gruelling three months, the company was finally launched in Dubai in May, albeit with two chefs instead of five. The advent of social distancing posed an extra challenge for the startup that no one could have possibly predicted, but after months of isolation and reliance on food delivery, customers just wanted to be treated to a warm, fresh-cooked meal, and HeyChef’s luck had finally taken a turn.

600+ customers and more than 5000 bookings later, it’s safe to say that HeyChef has settled nicely into its niche. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by HeyChef (@heychef.ae)

How it works

Essentially, a customer logs on to the HeyChef website, reviews a selection of chefs that specialise in different cuisines and books one per availability, chooses the kind of service they want (one-time service, weekly, etc.), in addition to their personal and dietary preferences, and opts to either provide the ingredients needed for the dishes or to pay an extra charge for the chef to bring them with him. 

As for payment, it is handled online via payment gateways, with customers able to book a chef for a minimum of two hours and upwards, with the one-time service costing AED 75 per hour, for example.

A big part of marketing their service was to position the chefs as the face of the company, Pranav explained. Not only does this help give a relatable identity to the brand, but it also helps customers familiarise themselves with their chef of choice before he arrives at their home. After all, when your offered service involves a stranger entering your customers’ home, you want to do everything you can to help make this as seamless and secure of an experience as possible. 

“It [creates] a virtual acquaintance, and once [the chef] comes to your house, it’s the person you saw online,” Pranav said.

Chefs arrive in full uniform while donning a face mask. They are equipped with their own utensils, and will handle the entire cooking process: from prep to cleanup. 

As for their customers, Pranav has noted that this includes everyone from the working couple with kids, to the party host who would rather have a dedicated chef that not only cooks them fresh meals on-demand, but who is also more cost-efficient than a catering service that would charge a host per guest.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by HeyChef (@heychef.ae)

Next steps

Currently, HeyChef remains a self-funded venture, with the enterprising couple possibly considering a future funding round to grow and expand their operations. 

As for future expansion efforts, Abu Dhabi is the first destination on their minds. 

In terms of their team in Dubai, they want to reach a chef count of ten this year.

You might also like

بدأت القصة بطبق من البرياني: والآن فإن HeyChef هي أول خدمة طاه شخصي عبر الإنترنت في الإمارات العربية المتحدة

بدأت القصة بطبق من البرياني: والآن فإن HeyChef هي أول خدمة طاه شخصي عبر الإنترنت في الإمارات العربية المتحدة 

Mark Anthony Karam
مقابلات

تم إطلاق هذه الخدمة خلال ذروة الوباء، حيث نجحت HeyChef في اجتياز تحديات التنافسية الشديدة لسوق المأكولات والمشروبات، وإجراءات التباعد الاجتماعي، فضلًا عن فترات حظر التجوال، وذلك لجلب تجربة جديدة لمواطني الدولة لتناول الطعام داخل منازلهم.

وعندما يتعلق الأمر بصناعة المأكولات والمشروبات في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، فإن العلامات التجارية موجودة بكثرة. ونظرًا لكون الدولة الإمارات بوتقة تنصهر فيها مختلف الثقافات والأعراق، كما أنها تتمتع بثقافة حب الأطعمة وتناول الوجبات الغذائية ذات الجودة العالية، فقد شهدت الدولة عددًا جيدا بالفعل من شركات المأكولات والمشروبات الجديدة والمثيرة.

إن قطاع تقنيات الأغذية، وبالذات ما يرتبط منها بالتوصيل والشركات القائمة عليه، قد شهد نشاطًا متزايدًا، خاصة بعد أن أدت ظروف COVID-19 تدريجيًا إلى نقل تجربة تناول الطعام من المطاعم وصالات الطعام والذهاب بها إلى المنزل. وقد ارتفعت في واقع الأمر مبيعات سوق المواد الغذائية والمشروبات في الإمارات عبر الإنترنت إلى حد كبير، بنسبة 255٪ على أساس سنوي في عام 2020 لتصل إلى 412 مليون دولار.

وكان على الشركات القائمة على خطط وجبات الأطعمة وتوصيلها أن تكثف جهودها لتلبية هذا الطلب، والآن فإن هناك نوعًا جديدًا من الخدمات من شأنه أن يحدث ثورة في هذه الصناعة.

HeyChef: أول خدمة طاه شخصي عند الطلب على الإنترنت في الإمارات العربية المتحدة

براناف أرورا ومقدها كالفادي ، مؤسسا HeyChef

في أمسية أسبوعية مثل أي مساء آخر، جلس الزوجان براناف أرورا ومقدها كالفادي لتناول طبقهما المفضل على العشاء وهو: طبق من البرياني. وبينما كان الاثنان يستمتعان بوجبتهما، أدركا مدى روعة أن يستطيعا العودة متأخرين من العمل للمنزل في منتصف الأسبوع دون القلق بشأن عشائهما.أما طبق البرياني السابق ذكره، فكان قد تم تحضيره طازجًا عند الطلب من قبل طاه شخصي حر وغالبًا ما يستأجره الزوجان. وبما أن مفهوم توظيف طاه شخصي ليس بغريب على دولة مثل الإمارات المعروفة بحفلاتها وتجمعاتها الكبيرة والفخمة، فالشركات التي تقدم هذا النوع من الخدمة موجودة، كما أن الطهاة العاملين لحسابهم الشخصي متاحون في السوق أيضًا.

ومع ذلك، فهناك خدمة لم تكن متاحة من قبل: وهي منصة رقمية عند الطلب يمكن أن تبسط من عملية طلب طاه شخصي بحيث يصبح بسهولة طلب سيارة أوبر أو وجبة عبر تطبيق طلبات. وهذا هو الشيء الذي حدده الزوجان أرورا حيث قال براناف أرورا لمنصة أبوظبي للأعمال بأن إتاحة ذلك" أمر منطقي، وفكرة فريدة جدًا".

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by HeyChef (@heychef.ae)

اضطراب السوق في اللحظة الأخيرة

وسريعًا وخلال بضعة أشهر منذ ذلك العشاء المشهود في نوفمبر 2019 وحتى فبراير من عام 2020، فقد كانت الشركة الجديدة للزوجين جاهزة لدخول السوق، وقد أطلق عليها اسم HeyChef، إلا أن هذه الخطة سرعان ما تغيرت بسبب ورود التقارير من جميع أنحاء العالم بشأن فيروس جديد ينتشر بسرعة ويصيب الآلاف من سلالة فيروس كورونا الجديد.

وبطبيعة الحال، فقد تأخرت خطط الزوجين وخرجت عن مسارها الأصلي المرسوم. ولكن وبعد الكثير من العمل والمثابرة، بالإضافة إلى ضربة حظ أتت مع تخفيف قيود حظر التجوال في الإمارات بعد ثلاثة أشهر شاقة، تم أخيرًا إطلاق الشركة في دبي خلال شهر مايو الماضي مع اثنين من الطهاة (بدلاً من الخمسة المخطط لهم في الأصل). كما أن التباعد الاجتماعي قد شكل تحديًا إضافيًا للشركة الناشئة لم يكن بإمكان أحد توقعه، ولكن بعد شهور من العزلة الاجتماعية والاعتماد على توصيل الطعام، فقد أصبح الزبائن يتوقون للحصول على وجبة مطبوخة دافئة وطازجة، مما ساعد حظوظ شركة HeyChef.

وبعد أكثر من 600 زبون و5000 حجز، فمن الممكن القول بأن شركة HeyChef قد استقرت بشكل جيد ووطدت حضورها في هذا الركن من السوق.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by HeyChef (@heychef.ae)

كيف تعمل الشركة؟

فعليًا، فإن الزبون يقوم بتسجيل الدخول إلى موقع HeyChef، ويراجع مجموعة مختارة من الطهاة المتخصصين في المأكولات المختلفة ويحجز مع واحد منهم وفقًا لمن هو متاح، كما يختار نوع الخدمة التي يريدها (خدمة لمرة واحدة، أسبوعيًا، إلخ)، بالإضافة إلى التفضيلات الشخصية والغذائية، ويختار كذلك إما توفير المكونات اللازمة للأطباق أو دفع رسوم إضافية للطاهي ليحضرها معه.

وأما بالنسبة للدفع، فيتم القيام به من خلال الإنترنت عبر بوابات الدفع، حيث يمكن للزبائن الحجز مع طاه لمدة ساعتين كحد أدنى فما فوق، مع تكلفة قدرها 75 درهمًا للساعة لخدمة المرة الواحدة، على سبيل المثال.

وقد أوضح براناف أن جزءًا كبيرًا من تسويق خدمتهم تتمثل في الاعتماد على الطهاة كوجه للشركة. حيث أن ذلك لا يساعد فقط في إعطاء الهوية المناسبة لعلامة الشركة التجارية، بل يساعد الزبائن أيضًا على التعرف على الطاهي الذي يختارونه قبل وصوله إلى منزلهم. وفي نهاية المطاف، فعندما تتضمن الخدمة التي تقدمها شركتك دخول شخص غريب إلى منزل عميلك، فمن الطبيعي أنك ستفعل كل ما في وسعك للمساعدة في جعل هذه التجربة سلسة وآمنة قدر الإمكان.

كما قال براناف: "إن هذه الممارسة تنشئ معرفة افتراضية، وبمجرد أن يأتي الطاه إلى منزلك، يكون هو ذاك الشخص الذي رأيته على الإنترنت".

حيث يصل الطهاة بالزي الرسمي الكامل وهم يرتدون قناع الوجه الواقي ومجهزون بآنيتهم الخاصة، ويتكفلون بعملية الطهي كاملة: من إعداد الطعام إلى التنظيف.

وأما بالنسبة لزبائنهم، فقد أشار براناف إلى أن الخدمة تشمل الجميع: من الأزواج، إلى الأطفال، إلى المضيف أو راع الحفلة الذي يفضل أن يكون لديه طاه مخصوص لا يكتفي فقط بطهي وجبات طازجة عند الطلب، ولكنه أيضًا يساعد على تحقيق توفير في التكلفة بالمقارنة مع خدمات التعهد بالطعام والتي يتم فيها محاسبة المضيف عن كل ضيف على حدة.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by HeyChef (@heychef.ae)

الخطوات التالية

لا تزال شركة HeyChef حاليًا مشروعًا ممولًا ذاتيًا، حيث من المحتمل أن يفكر الزوجان المغامران في جولة تمويل مستقبلية لتنمية وتوسيع عملياتهما.

أما بالنسبة لجهود التوسع المستقبلية، فإن أبوظبي هي الوجهة الأولى في أذهانهم.

وفيما يتعلق بفريقهم في دبي، فإنهم يريدون الوصول إلى عشرة من الطهاة هذا العام.

قد يعجبك ايضا