How can you take your business online in the UAE?

How can you take your business online in the UAE? 

By: Mark Anthony Karam
Interviews

In a post-COVID-19 world, it has become essential for business owners to have an online presence. 

During a time where having an online presence and a digital storefront is no longer an option, it can be challenging for the entrepreneurs of SMEs who have to contend with the day to day of running their business to brush up on the logistics of expanding online. 

Enter Tasjeel.ae, an accredited .ae domain registrar and website hosting company that actually focuses on serving UAE start-ups, small businesses and entrepreneurs. Launched in 2009, Tasjeel.ae has helped hundreds of companies take their business online. 

Since revamping its services in 2018, Tasjeel has transitioned from selling .ae/.emarat domains, with a single web hosting package, to providing 100+ domain extensions, seeing the majority of this growth within the 2020 COVID pandemic. The company’s suite of easy-to-use solutions now includes a website builder, cloud hosting, WordPress hosting, Dubai web servers, premium domain names and more. 

So, what should SME owners know before taking the plunge online? The Abu Dhabi SME Hub speaks with Wahid Aziz, the CEO of Tasjeel.ae, who shares insights from the UAE market, as well as post-pandemic trends. 

tasjeel.ae ceo wahid aziz

How did Tasjeel come to be? Was there a gap in the market of domain registrars in the UAE that led you to create your company in 2009?

When tasjeel.ae first started, the market for .ae domain registrations was just opening up. Pre 2008, .ae domains could only be registered through Etisalat, which also administered the namespace. In March 2008, control of the .ae domain space passed to the .aeDA (.ae Domain Authority) – a newly founded department within the Telecommunication Regulatory Authority.

This change allowed new domain registrars to enter the market, increasing competition. But registrations were still painfully slow, with competitors using a manual process that involved in-person documentation checks and took several days to complete.

tasjeel.ae was the first UAE website to offer instant online domain registration services in the UAE by a local company. That was achieved by creating a registration process that integrated with the .aeDA platform. Essentially, tasjeel.ae took a slow manual process and made it simple, instant and automated.

What are the most notable trends today among SMEs when it comes to registering .ae domains?

The main trend is simply the overall increase in .ae domains vs generic top-level domains (like .com). We’re seeing some of the strongest growth among niche online stores and drop shipping start-ups keen to demonstrate their focus on the UAE. There’s also a wider appeal for businesses serving consumers throughout the Middle East.

In my experience, the increased trust in the .ae namespace is the result of two things:

  • Adoption of the extension by major international brands, including amazon.ae, ikea.ae and next.ae.

  • The ongoing success of the .ae authority in keeping the namespace largely free of hackers and fraudsters.

We’re also seeing increased awareness of domain names as a digital asset. UAE business owners are getting savvy to the need to protect their brands, both regionally and internationally. A common way to achieve that is registering the .ae, .me and .com versions of a chosen domain name.

In terms of the kinds of .ae domains being registered, there’s strong demand for short, catchy and SEO-focused names. More often than not, these simply aren’t available when it comes to .coms. In the same way, businesses are increasingly registering perfectly branded domains like MyBusinessName.ae, instead of using workarounds like MyBusinessNameUAE.com.

How has Tasjeel helped UAE entrepreneurs take their business online, and what tools do you provide them with?

The last 3 years have seen a massive expansion of our offering, to the point that we’re now a one-stop-shop for UAE start-ups and small businesses getting online. For less than AED 1 per day, our customers can get:

  • A domain name

  • Web hosting and website building apps

  • Unlimited visitors

  • Twice-daily backups

  • SSL certificates

  • Email addresses

  • And free 24/7 support

We’ve also launched our powerful Website Builder plans, which make it possible to build a site with no technical skills, and include everything needed to get online.

Lastly, we’ve turned tasjeel.ae from a sales-based website into a richly informative resource. As well as support articles, videos, and 24/7 live support, our blog is fast becoming a go-to resource for UAE-focused digital marketing advice.

How has COVID-19 impacted your business? Did you see a higher turnover as more businesses took their business online?

We have, although we’ve actually seen an increase in turnover since 2018 – when we revamped our website and began introducing a wider suite of products and services. This meant we were able to go into the pandemic in a strong position of growth.

In terms of changes brought by the pandemic itself, I see these more as an acceleration of existing trends. Pre-COVID, a start-up owner might have rented retail space in a mall; now they’re positioning themselves online. This shift to online-first has actually been taking place over the last decade, but COVID-19 – and the related restrictions – have definitely accelerated digital adoption in the UAE.

Like many businesses, we’ve had to adapt to the fast-changing conditions. I’d say that we’re even more flexible as a result of the pandemic. We aim to deliver enhanced support where it’s needed, in the form of discounts and additional guidance on the ideal online setup for new or evolving businesses.

From your extensive experience, what are the most important insights and tips that you can share with SME entrepreneurs looking to start their website and build their online presence?

It really all starts with a domain name. It’s the first impression customers have of your business. Remembering it correctly can mean the difference between them arriving at your website, or buying from a competitor instead, so keep your domain short, simple, and easy to spell. Don’t use numbers or hyphens, and if you can squeeze in an SEO keyword too, then that’s a great bonus!

Once you’ve chosen a domain, it’s common to look at hosting next – but you should think first about how you’ll build your site. That’s because the website builder or content management system you choose could determine the hosting plan you need. At tasjeel.ae, we’ve simplified this process by including hosting as part of our Website Builder and E-Store Builder plans. Alternative options include WordPress, Joomla and Drupal; of those three, WordPress is easiest for beginners.

If you choose to buy web hosting separately, it’s important to get a plan that’s good enough – without overspending on resources you don’t need. Standard shared hosting is fine for most businesses, but other options include WordPress hosting and cloud-based hosting. Nowadays, the cloud is a popular alternative to dedicated hosting or a virtual private server, because it combines power with greater flexibility.

Web design really helps define visitors’ perceptions of your business, and a poorly designed website is a little like a run-down storefront or office. You can get a head start by choosing an appropriate template/theme within your content management system or website builder.

Content is just as important as design, and you should be mindful of only publishing words, images or other media that represent your business positively. Keep in mind the importance of SEO – Search Engine Optimisation. It’s a complex topic, but a great starting point is including keywords that match search terms related to the products or services you offer.

From there on, it’s all about staying on top of things on an ongoing basis. That means keeping your site updated and secure. It means keeping your service or product details accurate as your business evolves. And – if you’re serious about SEO – it means publishing fresh content regularly.

Launching your online presence isn’t easy – but, with the opportunity to reach a whole world of new customers, it’s one of the most rewarding steps any small-business owner can take!

tasjeel.ae logo

Tasjeel is a notable.ae accredited domain registrar and website hosting company in the UAE, placing a special focus on serving start-ups, small businesses and entrepreneurs. Since its launch in 2009, Tasjeel has become one of the fastest-growing domain registrars in the UAE. The company’s focus on the value and service for their customers has seen Tasjeel recognized as the primary distributor in the marketplace. For more information or to set up your own domain visit: www.tasjeel.ae 

You might also like

كيف يمكنك نقْل نشاطك التجاري إلى عالم الإنترنت في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة؟

كيف يمكنك نقْل نشاطك التجاري إلى عالم الإنترنت في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة؟ 

مارك انتوني كرم
مقابلات

في زمن ما بعد COVID-19، أصبح من الضروري للشركات أن يُثبتوا وجودهم على الإنترنت.

في الوقت الذي لم يعُد فيه التواجُد عبر الإنترنت واستضافة واجهة رقمية مجرَّد خيار، أصبح من الصعب على أصحاب المشاريع الصغيرة والمتوسطة الذين تتحتّم عليهم إدارة أعمالهم التجارية اليومية أن يعزّزوا مهاراتهم اللوجستية بهدف توسيع رقعة أعمالهم عبر الإنترنت.

هنا يأتي دورTasjeel.ae، وهي شركة معتمَدة لتسجيل نطاقات ".ae" ، كما أنها تستضيف المواقع الإلكترونية وتركّز فعليًا على خدمة الشركات الناشئة والشركات الصغيرة وروّاد الأعمال في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. تمّ إطلاق Tasjeel.ae في عام 2009 ، وقد ساعدَت الشركة المئات من الشركات على الانتقال بأعمالها التجارية إلى الإنترنت.

منذ تطوير خدماتها في عام 2018، تحوّلَت Tasjeel.ae من شركة تبيع أسماء نطاقات.ae/.emarat ، مع باقة منفردة لاستضافة مواقع الويب، إلى شركةٍ توفّر أكثر من 100 امتدادٍ للنطاقات، وقد لوحِظت غالبية هذا النموّ خلال فترة انتشار وباءCOVID عام 2020. أما حاليًا، فتضمّ مجموعة الحلول السهلة الاستخدام التي تقدّمها الشركة، مُنشئ مواقع الويب، والإستضافة السحابية، واستضافة WordPress، وخوادم الويب في دبي، بالإضافة إلى أسماء النطاقات المتميزة والكثير غيرها.

إذًا، ما الذي يجب أن يعرفه أصحاب الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة قبل الانتقال إلى الإنترنت؟ عمدَت منصة أبوظبي للأعمال إلى التحدث مع وحيد عزيز، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ Tasjeel.ae، الذي شاركَنا رؤى ومعلومات قيّمة من سوق دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، فضلاً عن التوجُّهات المستقبلية ما بعد مرحلة الوباء.

كيف نشأت " tasjeel.ae"؟هل كانت هناك ثغرة في سوق مسجّلي النطاقات في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، الأمر الذي دفعكم إلى تأسيس شركتكم في عام 2009؟

 

عندما انطلق موقع tasjeel.ae، كان سوق تسجيل نطاقات ".ae" قد أبصَر النور حديثًا. وجدير بالذكر هنا أنّ قبل عام 2008، كانت عملية تسجيل نطاقات ".ae" تتمّ حصرًا من خلال شركة "إتصالات"، التي كانت تُدير أيضًا مساحة الإسم. وفي شهر مارس (آذار) من عام 2008، انتقلت إدارة مساحة النطاق ".ae" إلى ".aeDA" (إدارة أسماء نطاق الإنترنت) - وهي إدارةٌ تأسست حديثًا من قِبل هيئة تنظيم الاتصالات والحكومة الرقمية في دولة الإمارات.
  
ساهم هذا التغيير في إتاحة الفرصة أمام مسجّلي نطاقات الإنترنت الجدد لدخول السوق، ما أدّى إلى زيادةٍ في المنافسة. إلاّ أن عمليّات التسجيل كانت لا تزال بطيئة إلى حدٍّ بعيد، حيث استخدَم المنافسون عملية يدوية تضمّنَت عمليات للتحقق شخصيًا من الوثائق والمستندات، بحيث استغرق إستكمالها أيامًا عدة.

اعتُبر موقع tasjeel.ae الموقع الإلكتروني الأول في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الذي قدّم خدمات تسجيل نطاقات الإنترنت بصورة فورية في دولة الإمارات من قِبل شركةٍ محلية. وتم تحقيق ذلك من خلال تطوير عملية تسجيل متكاملة تندمِج مع منصة إدارة أسماء نطاق الإنترنت "aeDA.". وبالتالي، حوَّل موقع tasjeel.ae العمليات اليدوية البطيئة إلى عمليةٍ بسيطة وفورية وآلية.

ما هي أبرز التوجهات اليوم التي تعتمدها الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة في ما يختصّ بتسجيل نطاقات .ae؟

 

يتمثل التوجُّه الرئيسي ببساطة في الزيادة الإجمالية في نطاقات.ae مقارنةً بأسماء نطاق المستوى العلوي العامة (مثل .com). ونشهد اليوم أعلى معدلات النمو بين المتاجر المتخصّصة عبر الإنترنت والشركات الناشئة التي تعتمد أسلوب البيع عبر سلسلة التجزئة "أي drop shipping"، إذ يحرص هؤلاء على صبّ تركيزهم في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. كما هناك أيضًا إقبالٌ أكثر على الشركات التي تقدّم خدماتها للمستهلكين في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط.

بحسب خبرتي، فإنّ الثقة المتزايدة بمساحة الإسم .ae هي نتيجة أمرين:

• اعتماد هذا الامتداد من قِبل العلامات التجارية العالمية الكبرى، بما في ذلك amazon.ae و ikea.ae و next.ae.
• النجاح المستمرّ لإدارة أسماء نطاق الإنترنت.ae في إبقاء مساحة الإسم خاليةً إلى حدٍّ كبير من المقرصنين الإلكترونيين والمحتالين.

كما ونشهد اليوم زيادة في الوعي في ما يختصّ بأسماء النطاقات باعتبارها أصولًا رقمية مهمة. إذ أصبح أصحاب الأعمال التجارية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة أكثر درايةٍ بالحاجة إلى حماية علاماتهم التجارية على الصعيدين الإقليمي والدولي. والطريقة الشائعة لتأمين تلك الحماية تكمُن في تسجيل اسم النطاق المختار بكل إصداراته، .ae، و .me و .com

أما في ما يختصّ بأنواع نطاقات.ae التي يتم تسجيلها، فهناك إقبال شديد على الأسماء القصيرة، الملفِتة والتي ترتكز على تحسين محركات البحث. ففي الكثير من الأحيان، لا تتوفّر تلك الأسماء ببساطة في نطاقات .com. وعلى حدٍّ سواء، تلجأ الشركات بشكلٍ متزايد إلى تسجيل أسماء نطاقاتٍ مثالية تحمِل علامة تجارية مثل MyBusinessName.ae، بدلاً من استخدام الحلول البديلة مثل MyBusinessNameUAE.com.

كيف عملَت Tasjeel على مساعدة روّاد الأعمال الإماراتيين في نقل أعمالهم التجارية إلى عالم الإنترنت، وما هي الأدوات التي تزوّدونهم بها؟

 

شهدَت السنوات الثلاث الماضية توسّعًا هائلاً في عروضنا وخدماتنا، بحيث أننا أصبحنا الآن متجرًا متكاملاً وشاملًا للشركات الناشئة والشركات الصغيرة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة التي تطمح للانتقال بنشاطها التجاري إلى الإنترنت. فبأقلّ من درهم إماراتي واحد في اليوم، يستطيع عملاؤنا الحصول على:

• اسم النطاق
• تطبيقات بناء المواقع الإلكترونية واستضافة المواقع
• عدد غير محدود من الزوّار
• نسْخ احتياطي مرّتين في اليوم
• شهادات SSL
• عناوين البريد الإلكتروني
• وخدمة دعم مجانيّة على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع

لقد أطلقنا أيضًا خططنا الفاعلة لإنشاء مواقع الويب، والتي تُتيح إنشاء موقع بدون الحاجة إلى امتلاك أي مهارات تقنية، وتشمل تلك الخطط كلّ ما يلزم للانطلاق بالموقع على الإنترنت.

أخيرًا ، لقد حوّلنا tasjeel.ae من موقع إلكتروني قائم على المبيعات، إلى مصدر غني بالمعلومات. فبالإضافة إلى مقالات الدعم ومقاطع الفيديو والدعم المباشر على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع، أصبحت مدوّنتنا بشكلٍ سريع الملجأ الأوّل لطالبي نصائح التسويق الرقمي في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

كيف أثّر COVID-19 على عملكم؟ هل شهدْتم نسبة مبيعاتٍ أعلى حيث أنّ المزيد من الشركات قد انتقلَت بأعمالها التجارية إلى عالم الإنترنت؟

 

نعم، بالفعل. على الرغم من أننا شهدنا أيضًا زيادة في حجم المبيعات منذ عام 2018 - عندما قمنا بتطوير موقعنا الإلكتروني وبدأنا في تقديم مجموعة أوسع من المنتجات والخدمات. وهذا يعني أننا تمكّنا من دخول مرحلة الوباء ونحن في مكانة قويّة تُتيح لنا النمو.

أما في ما يتعلق بالتغيّرات التي أحدثها الوباء بحد ذاته، فإنني أرى هذه التغيّرات على أنها مجرّد تسريع للاتجاهات المتواجدة أصلاً. ففي فترة ما قبل COVID، يمكن أن يكون مالك أحد الشركات الناشئة قد استأجر مساحةً للبيع بالتجزئة في مركز تجاري؛ أما الآن فهو يوسّع رقعة أعماله عبر الإنترنت. ومن المعلوم أنّ هذا التحوُّل والتوجُّه نحو الإنترنت في المقام الأول قد لوحِظ منذ العقد الماضي، إلّا أنّ وباء COVID-19 - والقيود المفروضة نتيجة ذلك – قد سرّعَت بالتأكيد من اعتماد الخدمات الرقميّة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

وتمامًا مثل الكثير من الشركات، كان علينا التكيُّف مع الظروف السريعة التغيُّر. حتى أننا أصبحنا أكثر مرونة نتيجة هذا الوباء. ونحن نسعى إلى تقديم دعمٍ معزَّز عند الحاجة، على شكل حسوماتٍ وإرشادٍ إضافي حول الطريقة المثلى لإنشاء صفحةٍ عبر الإنترنت لكل من الشركات الجديدة الناشئة أو تلك التي تسعى إلى مواكبة التطوُّر.

 

من خلال خبرتك الواسعة، ما هي أهم الأفكار والنصائح التي يمكنك مشاركتها مع روّاد الأعمال في الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة الراغبين في إنشاء موقعهم الإلكتروني الخاص وتعزيز تواجُدهم عبر الإنترنت؟

تبدأ القصة فعليًا باسم النطاق. إنه أوّل انطباع يكوِّنه العملاء عن نشاطك التجاري. وإنّ تذكُّر الاسم بشكلٍ صحيح يُحدِث كل الفرق بين وصولهم إلى موقعك الإلكتروني، أو شرائهم من شركةٍ منافِسة لك. لذا، اختَر نطاق اسمٍ قصيرٍ وبسيط وسهل التهجئة. لا تستخدِم أرقامًا أو شرطات، وإذا تمكّنتَ أيضًا من إضافة كلمة رئيسية لتحسين محرّكات البحث، فستكون هذه إضافة ممتازة!

بمجرّد أن تختار النطاق، من الشائع أن تبحث في المرحلة التالية عن الاستضافة - ولكن يجب أن تفكّر أولاً في كيفية إنشاء موقعك. وذلك لأن مُنشئ الموقع الإلكتروني أو نظام إدارة المحتوى الذي تختاره يمكن أن يحدِّد خطة الاستضافة التي تحتاج إليها. وفي tasjeel.ae، قمنا بتبسيط هذه العملية من خلال تضمين الاستضافة كجزء من خططنا لبناء موقع الويب والمتجر الإلكتروني. أما الخيارات البديلة، فتشمل WordPress و Joomla و Drupal ؛ ويُعَدّ WordPress الأسهل للمبتدئين من بين تلك الخيارات الثلاثة.

إذا اخترتَ شراء استضافة الويب بشكلٍ منفصل، فمن المهم أن تحصل على خطة جيدة بما يكفي - بدون المبالغة في الإنفاق على الموارد التي لا تحتاج إليها. فالاستضافة المشترَكة القياسية تُعتبَر جيدة لمعظم الشركات، وتشمل الخيارات الأخرى استضافة WordPress والاستضافة السحابيّة. في الوقت الحاضر، تُعَد السحابة بديلاً شائعًا للاستضافة المخصَّصة أو للخادم الافتراضي الخاص، لأنها تجمع بين القوة والمرونة الأكبر.

من شأن تصميم موقع الويب أن يؤثّر في تحديد تصوُّرات وانطباعات الزوّار عن نشاطك التجاري؛ فموقع الويب السيئ التصميم هو أشبه بواجهة المتجر المكسَّرة أو المكتب المتضعضع. يمكنك استباق الأمور عن طريق اختيار النموذج/ الصيغة المناسبة ضمن نظام إدارة المحتوى أو منشئ موقع الويب الخاص بك.

لا يقلّ المحتوى أهميةً عن التصميم، ويجب أن تحرِص على عدم نشر سوى الكلمات أو الصور أو المواد الإعلامية الأخرى التي تمثّل نشاطك التجاري بشكلٍ إيجابي. لا تنسَ أهمية كلمات تحسين محرّكات البحث. إنه موضوع معقّد، لكنّ نقطة البداية الموفَّقة تكون في تضمين كلمات رئيسية تتطابق مع عبارات البحث المرتبطة بالمنتجات أو الخدمات التي تقدّمها أنت.

ومن هنا، يبقى الأهم أن تبقى على اطّلاعٍ دائم بالأمور والمستجدّات. وهذا يعني إبقاء موقعك الالكتروني محدّثًا وآمنًا. كما يعني ذلك الحفاظ على دقة تفاصيل الخدمة أو المنتج الذي تقدّمه مع تطوُّر نشاطك التجاري. وإذا كنت جادًا بشأن تحسين محرّكات البحث، فهذا يعني أنه يجدر بك نشْر محتوى جديد بانتظام.

إنّ إطلاق موقعك الإلكتروني والتواجُد عبر الإنترنت ليس بالأمر السهل – ولكن، بما أنّ التواجُد عبر الإنترنت يُتيح لك فرصة الوصول إلى عالمٍ كامل من العملاء الجدد، فهي بالتالي إحدى أكثر الخطوات المُجزية التي يمكن لأي صاحب شركة صغيرة أن يقوم بها!

Tasjeel هي شركة معتمَدة لتسجيل نطاقات .ae وشركة لاستضافة مواقع الويب في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. إنها تركّز بصورة أساسية على مساعدة الشركات الناشئة والشركات الصغيرة وروّاد الأعمال. منذ أن انطلقَت في عام 2009 ، أصبحتTasjeel  إحدى شركات تسجيل نطاقات الإنترنت الأسرع نموًا في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وبفضل تركيز الشركة على القيمة والخدمة المقدَّمة لعملائها، تمّ اعتماد Tasjeel على أنها الموزِّع الرئيسي في السوق. لمزيد من المعلومات أو لإعداد النطاق الخاص بك، يُرجى زيارة:www.tasjeel.ae 

قد يعجبك ايضا