Key2Enable is empowering People of Determination with tools for learning and success

Key2Enable is empowering People of Determination with tools for learning and success 

By: Mark Anthony Karam
Interviews

The idea behind the startup’s primary solution, the Key-X keyboard, was developed by an individual with cerebral palsy, seeking to find a tool to aid him and others like him. 

As part of its vision for a prosperous nation of the future, where equal opportunities are available for all, the UAE changed its designation for people with disabilities to ‘People of Determination,’ in recognition of their achievements to the country in different fields. 

This social drive has attracted many innovative SMEs and startups over the years looking for a supportive ecosystem that views their field of work in such high regard. 

EdTech startup Key2Enable is one of these companies.

Founded in Brazil, Key2Enable applied to join Abu Dhabi Global Market (ADGM), the emirate’s international financial centre and free zone, after being selected as a winner in 2019 at the Special Olympics Innovation Challenge

Their primary product consists of a smart keyboard called the Key-X keyboard, which was developed with the support of individuals with cerebral palsy, to aid people with this condition to communicate, learn and develop their knowledge and capabilities. The company has also developed software that complements the usage of this device. 

The Abu Dhabi SME Hub spoke with Key2Enable’s José Rubinger, Co-Founder and CEO - MENA region, and Jenna Kleinwort, Chief Marketing Officer, to learn more about their solution.

José Rubinger key2enable 

José with a Child of Determination in Ajman, holding the Key-X keyboard. The device works with any computer, tablet or smartphone via a plug-and-play USB interface, and does not require the installation of any specific software, though there is some available for more complex uses. It features eleven touch-sensitive keys, which can even be triggered with a blink of an eye.

Can you tell us how the idea behind your company came to be? What market gap were you trying to address? 

José: The idea [behind] our assistive technology solution was actually developed due to a real pain point as experienced by our friend and now business partner, Gleisson, who was born in Brazil with cerebral palsy. Due to his motor limitations, Gleisson was only able to use a regular computer by using a head pointer. He graduated from computer science, but it took him a lot of time and effort. 

Gleisson, therefore, came up with the idea of creating our hardware, the Key-X keyboard, which gives full accessibility to all features and commands of keyboards and other technical devices. The keyboard comes with different accessories, and as long as a person has one voluntary movement, they can use the keyboard and thus computers, and have the opportunity to become more autonomous and independent. 

In total, we can cater to more than 85% of disabilities that can be found within classrooms. We address the market gap of having complete, versatile and unique assistive technology solutions that empower People of Determination to lead more autonomous and independent lives.

Can you tell us about Key2Enable's main product offerings? 

Jenna: Key2enable offers complete assistive technology solutions, that consist of the Key-X hardware, an engaging keyboard, which helps People of Determination to overcome any physical barriers to accessibility, as well as an accompanying learning platform, which helps teachers and parents to easily create any learning games and tasks.”

Training workshop in Armenia

How would you describe your entrepreneurial journey so far, having started your business abroad and later on moving to Abu Dhabi? Any particular benefits about setting up here?

José: “We first began our business operations in Brazil and then expanded to the US. In Brazil, our solution is implemented and in use in many schools and rehabilitation centres, and is now used by more than 8000 end users. However, everything we did in Brazil and all our success stories were only being told in Portuguese and hence stayed there. 

Setting up our business here in the UAE has been especially important for us due to the central location and the business incentives that we have received and also due to the international attention and recognition that the UAE receives. It has been easy for us to begin training and workshops from here, and we have recently trained more than 100 teachers in Armenia. Moreover, the empowerment of People with Determination ranks high on the Emirati agenda, and therefore we have found an overall very favourable business environment here.

How did your relationship with ADGM begin, and what kind of support have they offered you so far?

José: We were first introduced to ADGM when Key2enable won in the education category at the Special Olympics World Games Innovation Challenge in Abu Dhabi in March 2019. The Department of Health introduced us to the right people inside ADGM and this is how we began our first conversation with ADGM. I then started my application for the ADGM license and it was issued on the 17th of December, 2019. 

Many steps that we had to undertake in order to set up our business here were linked and made possible due to the license that we have received from ADGM: from building the network to participating in competitions, as well as to running our daily business operations. Overall, it allowed us as foreigners to set up the business here, and then expand to many other places [with Abu Dhabi as our base location].

What are some business challenges you have faced, and how have you addressed them?

José: Since our traditional approach is mostly focused on in-person training that we conduct with teachers and parents, the COVID-19 pandemic was very challenging for us, since we were not able to enter schools and rehabilitation centres anymore. During this time, we focused our efforts on developing and improving our e-learning platform, which is an integral part of our complete solution.

What goals have you set for Key2Enable for the next 3 years?

Jenna: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we faced difficulties introducing our solution to teachers and children here in the UAE. We had initiated some workshops and training before the start of the pandemic, which then came to a halt. We are now starting some pilots here with schools and rehabilitation centres, and we are trying to expand to some other countries in the region, such as Saudi Arabia, as well as some European countries like Portugal, Spain and Germany. 

For the next three years, we are planning to expand both in scale and scope. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our solution and to add features and accessories that can help us to cater to even more disabilities. Moreover, our solution has manifold uses: It can also be beneficial to children without disabilities, adults and the elderly.

You might also like

تقوم شركة Key2Enable بتزويد أصحاب الهمم بأدوات التعلم والنجاح

تقوم شركة Key2Enable بتزويد أصحاب الهمم بأدوات التعلم والنجاح 

Mark Anthony Karam
مقابلات

الفكرة وراء المنتج الرئيسي لـ Key2Enable، لوحة المفاتيح Key-X، تم تطويرها من قبل شخص مصاب بالشلل الدماغي، بعد أن سعى لإيجاد أداة لمساعدته ومساعدة آخرين مثله.

غيرت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة تسميتها للأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة إلى "أصحاب الهمم"، تقديراً لإنجازاتهم للبلاد في مختلف المجالات، وكجزء من رؤيتها لأمة مزدهرة في المستقبل، حيث يوجد فرص متساوية للجميع.

اجتذب هذا الدافع الاجتماعي العديد من الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة المبتكرة والشركات الناشئة على مر السنين بحثًا عن نظام بيئي داعم ينظر إلى مجال عملهم باحترامٍ عالٍ.

شركة EdTech الناشئة Key2Enable هي واحدة من هذه الشركات.

تأسست Key2Enable في البرازيل، وتقدمت بطلب للانضمام إلى سوق أبوظبي العالمي، المركز المالي العالمي والمنطقة الحرة للإمارات، بعد أن فازت عام 2019 في تحدي الابتكار المفتوح في الأولمبياد الخاص للألعاب العالمية في أبوظبي.

يتكون منتجهم الأساسي من لوحة مفاتيح ذكية تسمى Key-X keyboard، والتي تم تطويرها بدعم من أفراد مصابين بالشلل الدماغي لمساعدة الأشخاص الذين يعانون من هذه الحالة على التواصل، التعلم وتطوير معارفهم وقدراتهم. قامت الشركة أيضًا بتطوير برنامج يكمل استخدام هذا الجهاز.

تحدثت منصة أبو ظبي للأعمال مع جوزيه روبينجر، المؤسس المشارك والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Key2Enable في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، ومع جينا كلاينورت، مديرة التسويق، لمعرفة المزيد عن الحلول التي يقدمونها.

جوزيه مع طفل صاحب الهمم في عجمان، حاملًا لوحة المفاتيح Key-X. يعمل الجهاز مع أي كمبيوتر، كمبيوتر لوحي أو هاتف ذكي بواسطة USB للتوصيل والتشغيل، ولا يتطلب تحميل أي برنامج محدد، رغم توفر بعض البرامج للاستخدامات الأكثر تعقيدًا. إنه يتميز بأحد عشر مفتاحًا حساسًا للّمس، والذين يمكن تشغيلهم بغمضة عين.

هل يمكنكَ إخبارنا كيف ظهرت فكرة شركتك؟ ما هي مشكلة السوق التي كنت تحاول معالجتها؟

جوزيه: تم في الواقع تطوير الفكرة [وراء] حل التكنولوجيا المساعدة بسبب نقطة ألم حقيقية كما اختبرها صديقنا وشريكنا التجاري الآن، جليسون، الذي ولد في البرازيل مصابًا بالشلل الدماغي. نظرًا لحركته المقيّدة، كان جليسون قادرًا فقط على استخدام جهاز كمبيوتر عادي باستخدام مؤشر الرأس. لقد تخرج من علوم الكمبيوتر، لكن الأمر استغرق منه الكثير من الوقت والجهد.

لذلك، جاء جليسون بفكرة إنشاء أجهزتنا، لوحة المفاتيح Key-X، والتي توفر إمكانية الوصول الكامل إلى جميع ميزات وأوامر لوحات المفاتيح والأجهزة التقنية الأخرى. تأتي لوحة المفاتيح مع مستلزمات مختلفة، وطالما أن الشخص لديه حركة إرادية واحدة، يمكنه استخدام لوحة المفاتيح وبالتالي أجهزة الكمبيوتر، ولديه الفرصة ليصبح أكثر استقلالية.

في المجموع، يمكننا تلبية أكثر من 85٪ من الإعاقات التي يمكن إيجادها داخل قاعات الدراسة. نعالج فجوة السوق للحصول على حلول تقنية مساعدة كاملة، متعددة الاستخدامات، وفريدة من نوعها تمكّن أصحاب الهمم من عيش حياة أكثر استقلالية.

هل يمكنكِ إخبارنا عن عروض المنتج الرئيسي لـ Key2Enable؟

جينا: تقدم Key2Enable حلول تقنية مساعدة كاملة، تتكون من جهاز Key-X، لوحة مفاتيح ذكية، تساعد أصحاب الهمم على التغلب على أي حواجز جسدية أمام إمكانية الوصول، بالإضافة إلى منصة تعليمية مرافقة، مما يساعد المعلمين والأهل على إنشاء أي ألعاب ومهام تعليمية بسهولة.

ورشة عمل تدريبية في أرمينيا.

كيف تصف رحلتك الريادية حتى الآن، بعد أن أطلقت عملك في الخارج وانتقلت لاحقًا إلى أبوظبي؟ أي فوائد خاصة حول الإنشاء هنا؟

جوزيه: بدأنا عملياتنا التجارية أولاً في البرازيل ثم توسعنا إلى الولايات المتحدة الأميركية. في البرازيل، يتم تنفيذ حلّنا واستخدامه في العديد من المدارس ومراكز إعادة التأهيل، ويستخدمه الآن أكثر من 8,000 مستخدمًا. ولكن، كل ما فعلناه في البرازيل وكل قصص نجاحنا كانت تُروى باللغة البرتغالية فقط وبالتالي بقيت هناك.

لقد كان إنشاء عملنا هنا في الإمارات أمرًا مهمًا بشكل خاص بالنسبة لنا نظرًا للموقع المركزي والحوافز التجارية التي تلقيناها وأيضًا بسبب الاهتمام والتقدير الدوليين اللذين تحظى بهما دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. لقد كان من السهل علينا أن نبدأ التدريب وورش العمل من هنا، وقد قمنا مؤخرًا بتدريب أكثر من 100 معلم في أرمينيا. إضافة إلى ذلك، يحتل تمكين أصحاب الهمم مكانة عالية في جدول الأعمال الإماراتي، وبالتالي وجدنا بشكل عام هنا بيئة عملية مواتية للغاية.

كيف بدأت علاقتك مع سوق أبوظبي العالمي، وما نوع الدعم الذي قدمه لك حتى الآن؟

جوزيه: تم تقديمنا لأول مرة إلى سوق أبوظبي العالمي عندما فاز Key2Enable عن فئة التعليم في تحدي الابتكار المفتوح في الأولمبياد الخاص للألعاب العالمية في أبوظبي في مارس 2019. عرَّفتنا وزارة الصحة إلى الأشخاص المناسبين داخل سوق أبوظبي العالمي، وهكذا تحدثّنا معه لأول مرة. ثم بدأت بعد ذلك طلبي للحصول على ترخيص سوق أبوظبي العالمي وتم إصداره في 17 ديسمبر 2019.

تم ربط العديد من الخطوات التي كان علينا القيام بها من أجل تأسيس عملنا هنا وجعلها ممكنة بسبب الترخيص الذي حصلنا عليه من سوق أبوظبي العالمي: بدءًا من بناء الشبكة إلى المشاركة في المسابقات، بالإضافة إلى إدارة عملياتنا التجارية اليومية. بشكل عام، سمح لنا كأجانب بتأسيس الشركة هنا، ثم التوسع إلى العديد من الأماكن الأخرى [مع أبوظبي كموقعنا الأساسي].

ما هي بعض تحديات العمل التي واجهتها، وكيف تعاملت معها؟

جوزيه: بما أن نهجنا التقليدي يركز في الأغلب على التدريب الشخصي الذي نقوم به مع المعلمين والأهل، كانت جائحة كورونا تحديًا كبيرًا لنا، بما أننا لم نتمكن من دخول المدارس ومراكز إعادة التأهيل بعد الآن. خلال هذا الوقت، ركزنا جهودنا على تطوير وتحسين منصة التعليم الإلكتروني لدينا، والتي تعد جزءًا لا يتجزأ من حلنا الكامل.

ما هي الأهداف التي حددتها لـ Key2Enable للسنوات الثلاث القادمة؟

جينا: بسبب جائحة كورونا، واجهنا صعوبات في تقديم حلنا للمعلمين والأطفال هنا في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. لقد بدأنا بعض ورش العمل والتدريب قبل انتشار الوباء، والذين توقفوا بعد ذلك. نحن الآن نبدأ بعض البرامج التجريبية هنا مع المدارس ومراكز إعادة التأهيل، ونحاول التوسع إلى بعض البلدان الأخرى في المنطقة، مثل المملكة العربية السعودية، وكذلك بعض الدول الأوروبية مثل البرتغال، إسبانيا وألمانيا.

نخطط على مدى السنوات الثلاث المقبلة للتوسع في كلٍّ من الحجم والنطاق. نحن نبحث باستمرار عن طرق لتحسين الحل الذي نقدمه وإضافة الميزات والمستلزمات التي يمكن أن تساعدنا في تلبية المزيد من الإعاقات. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن الحل الذي نقدمه له استخدامات متعددة: يمكن أن يكون مفيدًا أيضًا للأطفال غير المعوقين والبالغين وكبار السن.

قد يعجبك ايضا