The rise of remote working was a product of both a unique global situation and employee frustrations with a stubbornly rigid system

The rise of remote working was a product of both a unique global situation and employee frustrations with a stubbornly rigid system 

By: Mark Anthony Karam
Thought Leadership

The rise of remote working shows us that change can happen overnight - as long as there is a strong enough push for it.

When COVID-19 struck in early 2020, it upended structures and norms that have been in place for decades. From how we communicate and greet one another, to supply chain structures, how and where we work, and beyond, it truly served as a rude awakening, forcing us to stop and question things we’ve taken for granted in the past. 

Within the scope of the workplace, this impact manifested itself in how and where employees worked from. While most companies have been historically adamant in their stance on in-office presence, government-mandated lockdowns left them with no choice and forced their hand if they wanted to ensure some semblance of operational viability. 

The pandemic also brought about what came to be known as the “Great Resignation.” As the term suggests, employees began quitting their jobs en-masse. The involuntary reprieve offered by lockdowns gave people a much-needed break from the 9-5 rat race, which allowed many to reconsider and reflect on their current roles amid an increasing cost of living and unfulfilling jobs and benefits. With mass layoffs worldwide making the headlines, employees came to realise that they are merely replaceable assets on the corporate chess board. This served as a moral push for them to finally pursue new and more fulfilling roles (not to mention a renewed drive towards self-employment, either as entrepreneurs or content creators on platforms like TikTok and YouTube), while demanding more benefits from hiring managers than ever before. Chief among these was the option to be able to work from home, whether in a fully remote or hybrid capacity.

rise of remote working

Soon enough, triggered by global circumstances and a more demanding workforce, remote working quickly became a buzzword and a practice engaged in by ‘innovative’ and ‘tech-savvy’ companies, with Twitter and Facebook among the companies championing it. With big tech leading the charge, most startups and SMEs that could incorporate this new working configuration implemented it, and made sure to let you know on their social media pages. Almost overnight, a practice that was deemed nonviable by traditional and authoritarian managers had become the new standard. 

Besides the allure of appearing modern and with-the-times, remote and hybrid working allowed companies to cut costs. Less staff on premises meant companies would have to rent a smaller office space, spend less on hardware and utility costs, reduce spending on taxes and visa expenses as well as fuel reimbursements, and more. In fact, in a country like the US, companies can save an average of over $11,000 per year per employee working remotely for 50% of the time, as per an estimate by research firm Global Workplace Analytics

Two years later in 2022, the HR landscape is forever changed. Remote working is becoming less of a fad and more of a fixture of job descriptions. A focus on employee wellbeing is becoming more widespread, especially as job candidates increasingly judge hiring companies based on the employee benefits offered. After all, the Great Resignation has offered them leverage in this regard, as there are more jobs available than ever before, faced with much pickier candidates. Gender, race and pay equality have seen a notable improvement, as remote working opens the door to a much larger pool of candidates of different backgrounds and locations. Additionally, more and more companies are stepping to the forefront to support firms in onboarding remote staff - like the UAE’s RemotePass, for example.

While remote working has been a great boon to employees, businesses, the economy and environment, it has introduced its own set of challenges, like the blurring border between on- and off-duty hours, as well as new mental health obstacles to navigate. 

The next step for companies and staff worldwide will revolve around overcoming the drawbacks that come with this new working paradigm.

You might also like

كان انتشار العمل عن بعد نتيجة طبيعية لوضع وبائي عالمي فريد من نوعه و بسبب إحباط الموظفين من نظام وظيفي صارم متعنت

كان انتشار العمل عن بعد نتيجة طبيعية لوضع وبائي عالمي فريد من نوعه و بسبب إحباط الموظفين من نظام وظيفي صارم متعنت 

مارك انتوني كرم
قيادة الفكر

يبين انتشار ظاهرة العمل عن بعد لنا أن التغيير يمكن أن يحدث بين عشية وضحاها، طالما أن هناك دافعًا قويًا بما يكفي لهكذا تغيير.

وعندما ضرب وباء كوفيد 19 العالم أوائل عام 2020، فقد قلب جميع الهياكل والمعايير التي كانت قائمة منذ عقود رأسًا على عقب: من كيفية تواصلنا وتحية بعضنا البعض، إلى بنية سلاسل التوريد، والى كيف وأين نعمل، وما الى ذلك. لقد كانت حقًا أشبه بعملية إيقاظ فظة، مما أجبرنا على التوقف والتشكيك في الأشياء التي كنا سابقًا نعتبرها من الأمور المفروغ منها.

وفي نطاق مكان العمل، تجلى هذا التأثير في كيفية عمل الموظفين ومكان عملهم. ففي حين أن معظم الشركات كانت مصرة تاريخيًا على موقفها من تواجد موظفيها داخل مكاتبهم، إلا أن عمليات الإغلاق التي فرضتها الحكومات لم تترك لهذه الشركات أي خيار، بل وكبلت أيديها حيث أصبحت مضطرة للرضوخ والامتثال إذا أرادت ضمان صحة المؤسسة وعملياتها.

وقد تسبب الوباء أيضًا فيما أصبح يعرف باسم "الاستقالة الكبرى". فكما يوحي المصطلح، بدأ الموظفون في ترك وظائفهم بشكل جماعي. حيث منح الإرجاء غير الطوعي الذي وفرته عمليات الإغلاق للناس استراحة كانوا في أمس الحاجة إليها من "سباق الفئران" اليومي من الساعة التاسعة للخامسة، مما سمح للكثيرين بإعادة النظر والتفكير في أدوارهم الحالية وسط ارتفاع تكاليف المعيشة والوظائف والمزايا غير المرضية. ومع تصدر عمليات التسريح الجماعي للعمال في جميع أنحاء العالم عناوين الصحف، فقد أدرك الموظفون أنهم مجرد أصول قابلة للاستبدال في مجالس لعبة شطرنج الشركات. وقد كان هذا بمثابة دفعة معنوية لهم لمتابعة أدوار جديدة أكثر إرضاء، ناهيك عن الدافع المتجدد نحو التوظيف الذاتي، سواء كرواد أعمال أو منشئي محتوى على المنصات مثل TikTok و YouTube، مع المطالبة بمزايا من مديري التوظيف أكثر بكثير من أي وقت مضى. وكان من بين أهم هذه الخيارات خيار القدرة على العمل من المنزل، سواء في مكان بعيد تمامًا أو بإمكانية هجينة (أي توزيع العمل بين المكتب والمنزل).

وبعد فترة وجيزة، ونظرًا للظروف العالمية والحاجة الى المزيد من القوة العاملة، سرعان ما أصبح العمل عن بعد كلمة طنانة وممارسة تعتنقها الشركات "المبتكرة" و "البارعة في التكنولوجيا"، حيث كانت Twitter و Facebook من بين الشركات الداعمة لهذه الفكرة. ومع قيادة شركات التكنولوجيا الكبيرة لهذه المهمة، فقد قامت معظم الشركات الناشئة والصغيرة والمتوسطة القادرة على استيعاب هذا الشكل الجديد للعمل بتطبيقه بالفعل، كما عملت على التأكد من إعلامك بهذا على صفحات التواصل الاجتماعي الخاصة بها. وهكذا بين عشية وضحاها، فقد فرض هذا النموذج الجديد للعمل نفسه كمعيار الجديد، بالرغم من أن المديرين التقليديين والسلطويين كانوا يعتبرونه غير قابلًا للتطبيق في السابق.

وإلى جانب جاذبية الظهور بشكل عصري ومعاصر، سمح العمل عن بعد والعمل الهجين للشركات بخفض التكاليف. حيث أن وجود عدد أقل من الموظفين في أماكن العمل يعني أن الشركات يمكنها استئجار مساحات مكتبية أصغر، وتقليل الإنفاق على تكاليف الأجهزة والمرافق، وكذلك تقليل الإنفاق على الضرائب ونفقات التأشيرات، فضلًا عن خفض تكاليف الوقود، وما إلى ذلك. وفي الواقع، ففي بلد مثل الولايات المتحدة، يمكن للشركات توفير ما يزيد عن 11,000 دولار في المتوسط ​​سنويًا لكل موظف يعمل عن بعد لمدة 50٪ من الوقت، حسب تقدير شركة الأبحاث Global Workplace Analytics

وبعد الوباء بعامين فقد صرنا في عام 2022، حيث تغير مشهد الموارد البشرية إلى الأبد. حيث أصبح العمل عن بعد بدعة أقل من ذي قبل وأكثر من كونه عنصرًا أساسيًا في التوصيف الوظائفي. كما أصبح التركيز على رفاهية الموظفين أكثر انتشارًا، خاصة وأن المرشحين للوظائف اصبحوا يحكمون بشكل متزايد على شركات التوظيف في ضوء ما تقدمه من مزايا للموظفين. فبعد كل شيء، قدمت "الاستقالة الكبرى" فائدة عظيمة للموظفين في هذا الصدد، حيث أصبح المزيد من الوظائف متاحًا أكثر من أي وقت مضى، أمام مرشحين من الصعب إرضاؤهم. كما شهدت المساواة بين الجنسين والعرق والأجر تحسنًا ملحوظًا، حيث يفتح العمل عن بعد الباب أمام مجموعة أكبر بكثير من المرشحين من خلفيات ومواقع مختلفة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يتزايد عدد الشركات التي تتقدم إلى الصدارة لدعم الشركات في استيعاب وإلحاق الموظفين عن بعد – مثل شركة RemotePass على سبيل المثال، والتي تقع في الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

وفي حين أن العمل عن بعد كان نعمة عظيمة للموظفين والشركات والاقتصاد والبيئة، إلا أنه قد انطوى على مجموعة من التحديات الخاصة به، مثل عدم وضوح الحدود بين ساعات العمل وخارج العمل، فضلًا عن عوائق جديدة تتصل بالصحة العقلية والتي يتعين اجتيازها.

هذا وسوف تتركز خطوتنا التالية بالنسبة للشركات والموظفين في جميع أنحاء العالم على التغلب على العيوب التي انطوى عليها وتضمنها نموذج العمل الجديد هذا.

قد يعجبك ايضا