Yellow Door Energy: "The pandemic has actually accelerated the adoption of distributed solar"

Yellow Door Energy: "The pandemic has actually accelerated the adoption of distributed solar" 

By: Mark Anthony Karam
Interviews

"Solar energy is one of the most suitable choices of renewable energy in the region, given its abundance. Distributed solar, in particular, should be encouraged and widely adopted."

Today, Yellow Door Energy, a UAE-based sustainable energy provider for commercial and industrial businesses, is among the companies leading the push for clean energy in the region. Established in 2015, the company has solar energy projects in the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Bahrain and Pakistan. As of 2021, the company had over 200 megawatts of solar projects in the Middle East and South Asia, with major companies such as Nestlé, Unilever, Carrefour/Majid Al Futtaim, and the Landmark Group among its customers.

A major focus for the company is "distribution generation through solar," which it calls "Utilities 3.0." Distributed solar revolves around generating electricity via solar means at or near where it will be used, which on the micro scale could be in the instance of a store setting up its own solar panels on its roof to power its facilities. 

"Through this model, we can generate electricity at the point of demand, where it is needed, when it is needed, such as from a rooftop or carpark. This model is particularly suited for emerging markets where grid infrastructure is insufficient, and demand is growing."

This is according to Jeremy Crane, CEO & Founder of Yellow Door Energy, who shares some insights about his company and the overall energy market in this Q&A with the Abu Dhabi SME Hub.

jeremy crane yellow door energy

Can you tell us about Yellow Door Energy's core offerings and the pain points they address for businesses?

Yellow Door Energy is the leading sustainable energy partner for top-tier businesses in the Middle East and Pakistan, with over 200 megawatts of solar projects to-date. Headquartered in the UAE, our customers include Nestlé, Unilever, Landmark Group, Carrefour and Majid Al Futtaim, and many more. 

With our sustainable energy solutions, businesses reduce energy costs, improve power reliability and lower carbon emissions. This is in line with net-zero targets set at COP26, supported by governments, financial institutions and leading organizations worldwide.

What cost savings can businesses expect from utilising Yellow Door Energy’s renewable energy solutions?

We provide solar power purchase agreements, also known as solar leases in the UAE. Through our solar lease, businesses can switch to clean energy and save money, without using any of their own capital. Yellow Door Energy is responsible for financing the solar power plant, as well as for designing, building, commissioning, operating and maintaining.

The savings on electricity bills vary from market to market. In the UAE, businesses can expect savings ranging from 10-40% on their electricity bills, depending on their energy consumption and industry. 

The ranges vary in our other markets such as Jordan, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia and Bahrain. It is best that businesses reach out directly to our salesforce to get a free and customized solar proposal for their facility. 

Rooftop solar plant in Dubai for clients Greenhouse Foodstuff Trading and Le Chocolat.

Would you say that solar energy is the most suitable choice among renewable energy sources for a region like the GCC? And what are the various implementations that can be deployed on the micro and macro level?

Solar energy is one of the most suitable choices of renewable energy in the region, given its abundance. Distributed solar, in particular, should be encouraged and widely adopted. 

Distribution generation through solar, what we call Utilities 3.0, is a new model of delivering power. Through this model, we can generate electricity at the point of demand, where it is needed, when it is needed, such as from a rooftop or carpark. This model is particularly suited for emerging markets where grid infrastructure is insufficient, and demand is growing.

The COVID-19 pandemic has brought on significant challenges for the solar energy segment. What are the greatest challenges posed by the pandemic, and how can they be addressed?

We faced some short-term logistical challenges during the pandemic, but those have mostly been alleviated. We worked closely with our suppliers and contractors to minimize the impact on our customers’ projects. 

The pandemic has actually accelerated the adoption of distributed solar, specifically in solar PPAs (Power Purchase Agreements)/leases as businesses look for ways to reduce electricity costs without any upfront investment. Our company experienced an increase in inquiries during the pandemic and in 2021 has secured over $100 million of new energy projects. This shows the business community’s interest in reducing costs to remain competitive and resilient in a post-pandemic world. 

Solar carport and rooftop solar plant in Dubai for client Al Nabooda Automobiles. Image: Ghadir Shaar

In a region where non-renewable energy is among the cheapest in the world, how can we encourage the adoption of solar energy solutions, in your opinion, on both the B2B and B2C levels?

Our industry is heavily regulated, thus the best way to encourage solar adoption with both B2C and B2B is to have favourable government policies and regulations.

This may include reducing or removing subsidies on electricity and water, so that residents and businesses pay the true cost for these precious resources and learn to conserve them.

Additionally, it may include setting clear regulations on net metering, removing quotas or caps on solar systems so that we make use of every rooftop in the region. Specific to the UAE, as our nation grows, the demand for land grows. Instead of taking up more land, we can put solar panels on rooftops that are currently not being used to their full potential. 

The benefits are that everyone can be involved in energy conservation and in switching to cleaner sources of electricity. This is in line with the UAE’s Net Zero by 2050 Strategic Initiative and the key targets of COP28, which takes place in the UAE next year. 

Rooftop solar plant in Dubai for client United Foods. Image: Ghadir Shaar

Based on current trends and activity in the industry, what will the solar segment in the UAE be like in 5 years?

In the next 5 years, I believe that most rooftops in the UAE and overall Middle East will be equipped with solar panels. 

Firstly, the price of solar has fallen significantly, specifically 82% in the last decade, making solar cheaper than new coal. We are experiencing some pricing pains due to the pandemic but I believe they are short-lived. At Yellow Door Energy, we are working closely with our suppliers to minimize the impacts to our projects and continue to bring clean energy to leading businesses in the region. 

Secondly, there have been calls for tariff reforms, as electricity subsidies cost GCC countries more than $120 billion in the past 20 years. With potential increases in electricity prices from the grid, businesses will look to cheaper solutions such as solar.

Thirdly, technological advancements will continue to make solar more efficient and cost-competitive. There are exciting developments in the green and blue hydrogen space, energy storage, EV, big data/analytics, artificial intelligence, etc. At Yellow Door Energy, we are always analyzing these new technologies to assess their suitability in our suite of services, with the end objectives of maximizing the energy savings for our customers and helping them achieve net zero emissions. 

Lastly, countries in the region recognize the importance of sustainability and preserving the environment for future generations. The Net Zero commitments are just the beginning. Deploying renewable energy is integral to every country’s sustainability strategy, thus more favorable policies will be in place to encourage the adoption of renewable energy. 

You might also like

Yellow Door Energy: "لقد أدت جائحة كورونا إلى تسريع تبني الطاقة الشمسية الموزعة"

Yellow Door Energy: "لقد أدت جائحة كورونا إلى تسريع تبني الطاقة الشمسية الموزعة" 

مارك انتوني كرم
مقابلات

"تعد الطاقة الشمسية أحد أنسب الخيارات للطاقة المتجددة في المنطقة، بالنظر إلى وفرتها. حيث يجب تشجيع الطاقة الشمسية الموزعة، على وجه الخصوص، وتبنيها على نطاق واسع."

اليوم نجد أن Yellow Door Energy، وهي مزود للشركات التجارية والصناعية بالطاقة المستدامة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، هي من بين الشركات الرائدة في مجال الدفع نحو الطاقة النظيفة في المنطقة. وقد تأسست الشركة المذكورة في عام 2015، وهي تمتلك مشاريع للطاقة الشمسية في الإمارات العربية والمملكة العربية السعودية والأردن والبحرين وباكستان. واعتبارًا من عام 2021، كان لدى الشركة أكثر من 110 ميجاوات من مشاريع الطاقة الشمسية في الشرق الأوسط وجنوب آسيا، مع شركات كبرى مثل نستله ويونيليفر وكارفور/ماجد الفطيم ، كما أن مجموعة لاندمارك هي من بين عملائها.

وفيما يتعلق بالتمويل، فقد جمعت Yellow Door Energy مبلغ 65 مليون دولار من خلال سلسلة التمويل أ خلال عام 2019، وحصلت على قرض بقيمة 31.2 مليون دولار في أوائل عام 2021 لبناء وتطوير وتشغيل ثماني محطات للطاقة الشمسية في الأردن.

وينصب التركيز الرئيسي للشركة على "توزيع الطاقة المتولدة من الأشعة الشمسية"، والتي تسميها "مرافق الجيل الثالث". ويـدور موضوع الطاقة الشمسية الموزعـة حول تولـيد الكهرباء من خلال وسائل الطاقة الشمسية في المكان الذي يتم استخدامها فيه أو بالقرب منه، والذي يمكن أن يكون على نطاق صغير في حالة قيام متجر بتركيب ألواح شمسية خاصة به على سطحه لتشغيل منشآته.

"من خلال هذا النموذج، يمكننا توليد الكهرباء عند نقطة الطلب، عندما وحيثما تكون هناك حاجة إليها، مثل السطح العلوي لمبنى، أو موقف السيارات. وهذا النموذج مناسب بشكل خاص للأسواق الناشئة حيث البنية التحتية للشبكة الكهربائية غير كافية، والطلب آخذ في الازدياد".

أدلى بهذه التعليقات السيد/ جيريمي كرين، الرئيس التنفيذي ومؤسس شركة Yellow Door Energy، والذي شاركنا بعض الأفكار حول شركته وحول سوق الطاقة بشكل عام، من خلال جلسة سؤال وجواب هذه مع منصة أبوظبي للأعمال.

هل يمكنك إخبارنا عن المعروضات الأساسية لشركة Yellow Door Energy وعن مشاكل المستخدم التي تقوم هذه الشركة بمعالجتها للشركات الأخرى؟

تعد شركة Yellow Door Energy الشريك الرائد في مجال الطاقة المستدامة للشركات من الدرجة الأولى في الشرق الأوسط وباكستان، حيث لدينا أكثر من 200 ميغاوات من مشاريع الطاقة الشمسية حتى الآن. كما يقع مقرنا الرئيسي في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وتضم قائمة عملائنا: نستله، ويونيليفر، ومجموعة لاندمارك، وكارفور وماجد الفطيم، وغيرها الكثير.

ومن خلال حلول الطاقة المستدامة لدينا، تعمل الشركات على تقليل تكاليف استهلاك الطاقة وتحسين موثوقية تأثيرها وتقليل انبعاثات الكربون، حيث يتماشى ذلك مع الأهداف الصفرية للانبعاثات الكربونية التي تم رصدها في مؤتمر COP26، بدعم من الحكومات والمؤسسات المالية والمنظمات الرائدة في جميع أنحاء العالم.

ما هي التوفيرات في التكاليف التي يمكن أن تتوقعها الشركات من استخدام حلول الطاقة المتجددة لشركة Yellow Door Energy؟

نحن نقوم بتقدبم اتفاقيات شراء الطاقة الشمسية، والمعروفة أيضًا باسم عقود إيجار الطاقة الشمسية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. فمن خلال استئجار طاقتنا الشمسية، يمكن للشركات التحول إلى الطاقة النظيفة وتوفير المال، دون استخدام رأس مالها الخاص، حيث أن شرك Yellow Door Energy مسؤولة عن تمويل محطة الطاقة الشمسية، وكذلك عن التصميم والبناء والتدشين والتشغيل والصيانة.

وتختلف التوفيرات في فواتير الكهرباء من سوق إلى آخر. ففي الإمارات العربية المتحدة، يمكن للشركات توقع توفيرات على فواتير الكهرباء، تتراوح بين 10% الى 40٪ ، تبعًا لمعدلاتها في استهلاك الطاقة ونوع الصناعة.

وتختلف معدلات التوفيرات في أسواقنا الأخرى مثل الأردن وباكستان والمملكة العربية السعودية والبحرين. ومن الأفضل أن تتواصل الشركات مباشرة مع فريق عمل مبيعاتنا للحصول على عروض مجانية للطاقة الشمسية مصممة حسب الطلب لمنشآتها.

محطة للطاقـة الشمسية المثبتة على سـطح مبنى في دبي للعميلين - شركتي Greenhouse Foodstuff Trading و Le Chocolat

تصوير: غدير شعر

هل تقول أن الطاقة الشمسية هي الخيار الأنسب بين مصادر الطاقة المتجددة لمنطقة مثل منطقة الخليج التي تقع فيها دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي؟ وما هي التطبيقات المختلفة لهذه التكنولوجيا التي يمكن نشرها على المستوى الصغروي والكلي؟

تعتبر الطاقة الشمسية من أنسب الخيارات للطاقة المتجددة في المنطقة نظرًا لوفرتها، حيث يجب تشجيع الطاقة الشمسية الموزعة، على وجه الخصوص، وتبنيها على نطاق واسع.

إن "توزيع الطاقة المتولدة من الأشعة الشمسية"، أو ما نسميه "مرافق الجيل الثالث"، وهو نموذج جديد لتوصيل الطاقة. فمن خلال هذا النموذج، يمكننا توليد الكهرباء عند نقطة الطلب، عندما وحيثما تكون هناك حاجة إليها، تماما كما هو الحال بالنسبة للسطح العلوي للمبنى أو موقف السيارات. وهذا النموذج مناسب بشكل خاص للأسواق الناشئة حيث تكون البنية التحتية للشبكة الكهربائية غير كافية، والطلب آخذ في الازدياد.

جلبت جائحة كوفيد 19 تحديات كبيرة لقطاع الطاقة الشمسية. فما هي أكبر التحديات التي شكـلها الوباء وكيف أمكن مواجهتها؟

لقد واجهنا بعض التحديات اللوجستية قصيرة المدى أثناء الوباء، ولكن تم الحد من هذه التحديات في الغالب، حيث عملنا عن كثب مع موردينا ومقاولينا لتقليل تأثيرات الوباء على مشاريع عملائنا.

وفي واقع الأمر، أدت ظروف الوباء إلى تسريع تبني الطاقة الشمسية الموزعة، وتمثل ذلك تحديدًا في اتفاقيات شراء/استئجار الطاقة الشمسية من قبل الشركات التي تبحث عن طرق لخفض تكاليف الكهرباء دون أي استثمارات مسبقة من جانبها. وقد واجهت شركتنا زيادة في الاستفسارات خلال فترة الوباء. وفي عام 2021 حصلت الشركة على أكثر من 100 مليون دولار من مشاريع الطاقة الجديدة، وهو ما يوضح اهتمام مجتمع الأعمال بخفض التكاليف ليظل قادرًا على المنافسة والمرونة في عالم ما بعد الوباء.

مرآب سيارات يعتمد على الطاقة الشمسية ومحطة للطاقة الشمسية مركبة على سطح مبنى في دبي للعميل - شركة "النابوده للسيارات"

تصوير: غدير شعار

 في هذه المنطقة التي تعد فيها الطاقة غير المتجددة من الأرخص توفرًا على مستوى العالم، كيف يمكننا في رأيك تشجيع اعتماد حلول الطاقة الشمسية على مستوى نموذجي الأعمال B2B (شركة لشركة) و B2C (شركة لمستهلك)؟

إن صناعتنا منظمة قانونيا بشكل كبير للغاية، وبالتالي فإن أفضل طريقة لتشجيع تبني الطاقة الشمسية لدى كل من نموذجي الأعمال B2C و B2B، هي أن يكون لديك السياسات والأنظمة الحكومية المواتية.

وقد يشمل ذلك خفض أو إلغاء الدعم عن الكهرباء والمياه، بحيث يتحمل السكان والشركات التكلفة الحقيقية لهذه الموارد الثمينة ويتعلموا كيفية الحفاظ عليها.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، قد يشمل التنظيم وضع لوائح واضحة بشأن القياس النهائي (للاستهلاك من الطاقة)، وإزالة الحصص أو السقوف الموضوعة على أنظمة الطاقة الشمسية حتى نستفيد من كل سطح في المنطقة. ومع نمو بلدنا في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ازداد الطلب على الأراضي. فبدلًا من الإحاطة بالمزيد من الأراضي، يمكننا وضع الألواح الشمسية على أسطح المنازل التي لا يتم استخدامها حاليًا بكامل إمكانياتها. وتتمثل الفوائد في أنه يمكن للجميع المشاركة في الحفاظ على الطاقة وفي التحول إلى مصادر أنظف للكهرباء، وهو ما يتماشى مع المبادرة الاستراتيجية لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة Net Zero (للكربون) بحلول عام 2050 والأهداف الرئيسية لمؤتمر COP28، الذي يعقد في الإمارات العام المقبل.

محطة للطاقة الشمسية مركبة على سطح مبنى في دبي للعميل - شركة United Foods.

تصوير: غدير شعار

كيف سيكون شكل قطاع الطاقة الشمسية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في غضون 5 سنوات، بناء على الاتجاهات والأنشطة الحالية في هذا القطاع؟

أعتقد أن معظم أسطح المنازل في الإمارات العربية المتحدة والشرق الأوسط بشكل عام ستكون مجهزة بألواح شمسية خلال السنوات الخمس المقبلة.

أولًا: لقد انخفض سعر الطاقة الشمسية بشكل كبير، وتحديداً بنسبة 82٪ خلال العقد الماضي، مما جعل الطاقة الشمسية أرخص من الفحم. وقد عانينا من بعض المتاعب في الأسعار بسبب ظروف الوباء لكنها لم تدم طويلًا. ونحن في شركة Yellow Door Energy، نعمل عن كثب مع موردينا لتقليل التأثيرات السلبية على مشاريعنا ومواصلة توفير الطاقة النظيفة للشركات الرائدة في المنطقة.

ثانيًا: كانت هناك دعوات لإصلاح تعرفة الكهرباء، نظرًا لأن دعم الكهرباء قد كلف دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي أكثر من 120 مليار دولار خلال العشرين عامًا الماضية. ومع الزيادات المحتملة في أسعار الكهرباء المتحصل عليها من خلال الشبكة الكهربائية، تقوم الشركات بالبحث عن حلول وبدائل أرخص مثل الطاقة الشمسية.

ثالثًا: ستستمر التطورات التكنولوجية في جعل الطاقة الشمسية أكثر كفاءة وتنافسية من حيث التكلفة. فهناك تطورات مثيرة في مجال الهيدروجين الأخضر والأزرق، وتخزين الطاقة، والمركبات الكهربائية، والبيانات الضخمة/التحليلات، والذكاء الاصطناعي، وما إلى ذلك. ونحن في شركة Yellow Door Energy نقوم دائمًا بتحليل هذه التقنيات الجديدة لتقييم مدى ملاءمتها في مجموعة خدماتنا، مع الأهداف النهائية لتعظيم وفورات الطاقة لعملائنا ومساعدتهم على تحقيق انبعاثات صفرية كمحصلة النهائية.

وأخيرًا، تدرك دول المنطقة أهمية الاستدامة والحفاظ على البيئة للأجيال القادمة. وإن الالتزام باستراتيجية Net Zero (أي انبعاث كربوني صفري) هي مجرد البداية، حيث يعد نشر الطاقة المتجددة جزءًا لا يتجزأ من استراتيجية الاستدامة في كل بلـد، وبالتالي سيتم وضع السياسات الأكثر ملاءمة لتشجيع اعتماد الطاقة المتجددة.

قد يعجبك ايضا